We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure excellence!!”
Review of L'AND Vineyards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'AND Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pure excellence!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent a 4 day weekend at this beautiful resort. Was just breath-taking. We had a sky-view suite, and it was just amazing! The service was simply fantastic and they made everything possible to make our stay the best. Arranged a wine-tour for us on the last minute, printed out everything for us and proposed some great restaurants. Also in-house restaurant was delicious! We will absolutely be back!!! And p.s. probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in!!

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a Sky-View Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    130
    55
    24
    10
See reviews for
78
294
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel! Free wine tasting and tour of the vineyard. _Amazing_ room with the fanciest bathroom I've ever had in a hotel. Our room had a living room, dining room and patio with a large outdoor tub. The bedroom had a very comfy bed with a huge skylight above it to watch the stars at night. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent (with many delicious unexpected courses). Breakfast was a huge buffet with a variety of options. The hotel itself has a very interesting design and houses a winery ans spa, both of which we sampled and found added nicely to the ambiance.

The only downside is both the room and dinner were quite pricy by Portugal standards. Still, a nice treat if you care to splurge. Would definitely come back. :-)

\

Room Tip: Our skylight room was excellent. Not sure what the other rooms look like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we thought the place was great. Our rooms were really well done. The roof retracting was a highlight. Our meal there was amazing as well, with the chef Miguel and director Duarte being great guys. Though not cheap, we thought good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teliguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were treated to a night at L'AND by our children for my husbands 60th birthday. We love Portugal & are frequently here at our apartment in the Algarve.
Unfortunately we had a bit of a sticky start as my husband had booked online via the L'AND's website unbeknown to us & certainly not made clear this directs you to the Small Luxury Hotels booking system! This way means they lose 20% of the value of the booking so were saying we would have to pay 46€ excess! Anyway after some discussion much to our relief this was sorted! So apart from a few very minor room gripes - doors sticking, bulbs missing, no bottle opener, we loved the huge 'apartment' style rooms! Fantastic shower, huge bathroom, comfy beds, Bose sound system, even an iPad to use! Had the most amazing meal in the restaurant, with lovely attentive polite staff. A real treat to stay here & may come back just to enjoy the fantastic meal again in the future - now knowing you don't book online with a gift voucher!!

Room Tip: We had a sky view room by the pool - lovely location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneShropshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just come back from two nights at the L’and Hotel, staying in one of their Sky Suites. I must say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

The setting and lay out of the property is excellent, with ever suite feeling private despite overlooking the pool. One evening we sat on our veranda with a glass of wine and the open fire going which was so lovely.

The staff are very good, but they could do with popping over the poolside a little more often, we sat there all morning and the waiter only appeared once. And the bar is right up inside the main building.

We ate at the restaurant one night, the wine and service was excellent, as was the food although I found my pork dish a little too rich and the it wasn’t the best cut (a little fatty). I would definitely recommend the wine grown and produced at the hotel.

I had few minor issues with the hotel but I must stress these were minor and can easily be addressed. Firstly, the chairs in the (very quiet) dinning room need pads on the bottom, they’re heavy and make a terrible noise on the slate tiles when moved, drawing attention to yourself and disturbing other guests. Secondly many parts of the hotel are already looking a bit tired, they are going to need a keep an eye on this as not to ruin the wonderful ambience the hotel currently has. Finally the pool service needs to improve.

All in all a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: A sky suite is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, so can't comment but made a special trip for the restaurant, which was outstanding. The food worthy of a Michelin star but much nicer due to the lack of 'flunkies' who always come with the star. We could enjoy the food without being interrupted all the time by waiters trying to fill water/wine glasses and asking how everything was.
A restaurant in its own right - excellent - go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

L'and is a beautiful concept and design. The land suites are large, the beds are very comfy and the outdoor fireplaces are a pleasure. Rooms are very poorly lit. Dinners in the restaurant, though expensive, are exceptional. However, the property is not maturely developed, service is poor and maintenance is sorely lacking. The "resort" is located in the middle of nowhere so there is little else to to do, see or eat. With a large dose of TLC, L'and could be superb. As of now, except for the chef, execution is lacking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montemor-o-Novo
19.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
18.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
889 reviews
18.7 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
3.6 mi away
Hotel da Ameira
Hotel da Ameira
#2 of 2 in Montemor-o-Novo
78 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'AND Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'AND Vineyards

Property: L'AND Vineyards
Address: Estrada Nacional 4 | Herdade das Valadas, Montemor-o-Novo 7050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Montemor-o-Novo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'AND Vineyards 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your L'AND Vineyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`And Vineyards Hotel Montemor-o-Novo
L'AND Vineyards Portugal/Montemor-o-Novo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing