We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of L'AND Vineyards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'AND Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at L’AND Vineyards this August for 4 days and had a wonderful time in this resort.
The sky view suite is beautiful and romantic. The bed and pillows are fantastic, one of the best we stayed.
The staff is very friendly and always available to help in any situation.
The restaurant is absolutely amazing, great food and 5* chef. The chef joined us for coffee after we sent congratulations to the kitchen.
The spa is great, me and my husband made a massage in our sky suite that we adored.
We also had the opportunity to meet the residential sales manager, a very nice and professional lady that showed us all the resort. The villas are very high standard and modern architecture and absolutely gorgeous!
Some details need to be improved and we had the opportunity to speak with our guest attendant about that: no phone list available (they explained that it is in the directory, but the directory was hard to find, it was inside the wood box, and also available in the ipad), car park is not cover, but they also explained that during the winter they will construct a kind of protection in the car park. The internet is kind of slow in the swimming pool, so we had some problems to their ipad in this area.
We made a wine tasting course and visit the vineyards with the oenologist.
Great place to relax and we do recommend it because it is a great concept and it brings enriched experiences.

Room Tip: Book the sky view suite and speak with the guest attendant on the arrival for personalized activitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 475 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

Just recently returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel with my wife and two kids. I must say that my expectations were high after visiting the hotel website. Loved the concept, the architecture, the location, and the restaurant. But, for now it is not a 5 star hotel and for sure does not worth the price charged. First of all, the service is not very professional. Staff was nice, but I think they need to improve a lot in terms of what a client expects from a small luxury hotel.
The architecture is wonderful, and the suites are very spacious and also with a very nice decor. The restaurant was great, and I must compliment the chef, the only one deriving the 5 stars. The staff at the restaurant were also very friendly and helpful, at dinner and at breakfast. The yoga teacher , Jorge, is ver nice and friendly.
We book a suite with Jacuzzi, but it was not working. They didn't charged it, but it is not a nice situation.
The suite has a living room and two bedrooms, but only one tv. That is poor.
The hotel is very poor in amenities and activities. The bar is also very poor.
Now the worst part. First day we arrived, we noted that there was an awful smell coming from the bathrooms. We try to contact the reception, but there was no phone list... I had to walk to the reception to warn them about the smell. They sent the some one to resolve the issue. They did, but next day in the morning the smell was back. I told them again about the smell, and asked them to resolve the situation properly, because I had t children in the bedroom - 4 year boy and 5 month baby. They sent the mantainance guy again, and he apologize and tried to fix it. But in a couple of hours the smell was there again. We had to keep the bathroom doors always closed, because the smell was really to bad. I complain again and again, and they again apologize but not fix the problem. What do I expect in a hotel of this level is a room changing, immediately. And if they don't have any room available, they should d every effort to resolve that unpleasant situation. I did not noticed that. This was very bad, specially when there are children involved.
At check out, not a word about the situation, and not even an an apologize. I sure mentioned it again, but they just said that they did not knew how to solve it. I did not wanted a discount, I wanted them to fix the damn problem, but I think at check out it was the least they should do. Now after reading some more reviews and noticed there were already complaints about the smell in the bathrooms, so that was not a new situation for them, which makes even more disappointed.
This hotel has a lot of potential, the idea is great, the place is very nice, but still a lot improve in service, and a l more in the way they deal with problems and guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BrunoBrandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tpgarcia, General Manager at L'AND Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear Sir ,

On behalf of L´And Vineyards I would like to appologize for the incovenience caused and thank you for your constructive comments.
The hotel has open a few months ago and we are improving details which are now appearing trough the clients feedback and mainly our aim is to provide an excellent service for that reason as we are training our staff to know how to work in a 5 star property as most of our staff as never work in luxury hotels.
The problems mentioned as the bad smell in the room very rarely appear, unfortunately it did happen during your stay but we have now resolve the situation.

We truly appreciate you honest feedback,

With Kind Regards

Tania Polido Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I fell in love with the hotel when I first read about it, following the link from the Small Luxury Hotels. The design and the concept of the hotel is wonderful. However, with the kind of price that we're paying (considering the hotel prices in Portugal), they need to pay much more attention to details. When we arrived, the receptionist took us to our room, and kindly showed us the facilities. The doormat was unclean, the floor was not very clean, the betsheets were not well ironed, and the floor of the shower room was still wet (which never happens in these kinds of hotels). She said "you can use this plunge pool" pointing at the private pool that I was looking forward to - which was dirty with sand/dirt and small branches. I was surprised that she said this as if the pool was "ready to use", whereas she clearly saw the state in which it was, when she opened the window and showed it to us. Anyway, we had to call them later to ask if they could clean it, and she reluctantly said, "It is actually difficult to clean that pool, but we will do it" - two young ladies showed up to clean it, but clearly they did not have the right materials to do it.

It was a hot day, the pool (which looked amazing!) was crowded and there were no deck chairs available (no staff nearby to consult). We went to the indoor swimming pool, and were looking for towels for over 10 minutes. There was no staff, no phone to call the reception. Actually there were no towels inside but they were available in a basket near the outside pool. Anyway, later on we got a chair at the outdoor pool, but noone was cleaning up the glasses from previous clients, and we did not see anyone attending the two pools during the two hours we spent there.

They have nice ideas everywhere - the skyview window, the iPad, the iPod deck, star-inspired letter set, and a huge and modern bathtub (however, it takes forever - I kid you not!- to fill up and to evacuate water). The restaurant has a nice view of the lake and the faraway castle, and serves very nice food. The restaurant staff are very nice and helpful, ready to give plenty of recommendations. Breakfast is also good, with lots of quality ingredients. The common bathrooms did not have working lights.

Overall, the hotel has lots of potential to become a cozy and wonderful hotel, but needs improvement to the service and details. We somehow felt that it was managed by investors without experience in the hotel/service business. Even when we checked in, there were two men (looking like owners/investors/managers) near the receptionist, and although there were no other clients or anyone they had to take care of, they did not even greet us. All in all, we felt that they need help from professionals who knows what "good service" is like, as it is not the facilities that are lacking but they just need to improve some details as well as the attention to clients.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Romeromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tpgarcia, General Manager at L'AND Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

On behalf of L' And Vineyards we would like to thank you for your comments, it is essential at this the beginning stage to know which points are still not as we wish.
Regarding the service we are investing in giving training to local people so it is our biggest challenge to make them feel that working in a luxury hotel is about providing a unique experience to our guests.
Everyday thanks to our clients feedback we are making significant progress and delivering the service our client expects, so we truly apreciate your comments.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked a two bedroom suite with jacuzzi (40 euros extra per day) at the hotel site after seeing good news about the place.
When we arrive there was no working jacuzzi (there was the place for it, very small, but with the pipes showing)
Before our arrival the hotel send us a email with several questions ( our names, reason for traveling, if we are commemorating any event), they also send a list of spa treatments. We answered every item, informing them that two of us will pass the birthday during our stay.
It seems that they didn't read it. They didn't inform us that that the spa wasn't open, that there was no working jacuzzi.
Also the tenis court isn't ready (no adequate floor, no marks)
They offer us a room far from the central building, with some windows without curtains, and a very bad smell coming from the bathroom. Some of the power socket didn't work. So we went to the reception twice to complain (personally, because there was no telephone list). After that, they offer us another suite only available on the next day.
At bedside they let some chocolates when came to open the bed, and inform about the moon that night and the weather of the they after (we loved the attention).
Next day, our new suite had 3 bedrooms (there was no other of two bedrooms), had all the curtains and no bad smell, it was away from the reception, but we wanted to rest and it was ok. But, the phone wasn't connected, there was a 3 mt table with no chairs and almost of the suites next to our are empty (no furniture, nothing...), we were complete isolated.
The birthdays passed and not even a birthday card we received...
Internet wifi free didn't work properly, the iPad was ok, but can't be used...
Most of the days our room was cleaned after 19h, and they simple didn't leave the sweets at night as usual.
During our stay ( ten days) they never clean the foor, sometimes they forget to replace the toylet paper and one time they even left the garbage inside the room.
Yes, there are many things we did like, such as the friendly staff, the kind girl at the breakfast, the ambiance, the concept of the hotel, the architecture, the wonderful view from the pool, the gardens, the vineyards. The breakfast was good but the kitchen service must be better.
Very good bed, very good quality of sleep, very quiet.
The indoor pool was't heated. The sauna was fine.
The outside pool is very good with a wonderful view, but too crowded at high season. Here the service didn't work. After some time it began to accumulate dishes, glasses...that no one took away...
The problem seems to be the lack of working people as they went to a high season for the first time (they forget to predict that)
At checkout they maintain the suite price with the jacuzzi... One more complain, and they fix it (that cannot happen in any hotel!)
We really don't understand why they did open in such conditions.
In Montemor you have a small choice of restaurants, but if you go to Evora you will find very good cuisine.
Finally, the hotel doesn't offer many activities at the moment.
The hotel is lovely, has great potential, but needs to evolve to get to the point we all want.
So, for now, we only recommend this place for a weekend, for a couple.
We want to return, when the news from the reviews tell that everything is working.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PortoLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great Project but not yet totally finished!
There are some details that need a more accurate attention,but overall it´s a nice place for a weekend.
Great food at dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stay here 2 nights with my wife and i found the property in very good shape (is bright new) and the service is also quite amazing.
As a new property there are some issues to address but my global perspective is very good and i hope the manager keep the good working and good atmosphere in this project.
The wine purpose of this project is unique in Portugal and also in Europe and i think should be amazing to stay were during vindimas.
The swimming pol is very nice and the pool service very efective. I had dinner once and the service and food is very good but the wine list should be more extensive, even to should all the potential of Alentejo Wines. Remeber that Evora is 20 minutes away and you should visit if you can
I certainly will came here again to get away from Lisboa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel is gorgeous, and comfortable. The bed is the best we've ever slept in! If you're unable to stay here, you should plan a day trip to their Vineyard and incrediable restaurant with an outstanding view. The negatives are the limited amount of things to do at the hotel, and unknown to us they were in a "soft opening" so it wasn't exactly up and running.

I booked our two day stay through the Small Leading Hotels website, and it appeared they were fully up to speed. But we got there on a cold drizzly day to find the spa was not open yet, and the indoor pool overlooking the vineyard still wasn't heated. The hotel is just under 30 minutes from Evora, and so if you so we were kind of bored. I personally think the main hotel room needs a pool table or just something to do. If they don't offer some outside activities the outdoor pool will easily become crowded too. For me a five star hotel must offer things to keep you at the hotel. Like if for example, you rented a porshe from somebody you'd expect the radio to work. You just expect all the amenities when you book something so beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RachelLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montemor-o-Novo
19.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
18.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
996 reviews
18.7 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
3.6 mi away
Hotel da Ameira
Hotel da Ameira
#2 of 2 in Montemor-o-Novo
100 reviews
18.7 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'AND Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'AND Vineyards

Address: Estrada Nacional 4 | Herdade das Valadas, Montemor-o-Novo 7050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Montemor-o-Novo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Price Range: $205 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'AND Vineyards 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'AND Vineyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`And Vineyards Hotel Montemor-o-Novo
L'AND Vineyards Portugal/Montemor-o-Novo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing