We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company European Conference”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Company European Conference”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Was here on a 3 day Conference with European colleagues. Totally Beautiful resort and outdoor pool area. The gardens and buildings are both lovely and pittoresque . My large room with a View of the hils was extremely comfortable with luscious spacy beds and all necesseties.
The bellboys were not only polite and helpful but charming and positive ~ likewise the guy in the main bar.
Friendly staff ~ Beautiful location ~ great breakfast buffet.
Only 1 drawback ~ the dinners . Guess because we were a very large Group ...!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    218
    81
    24
    8
See reviews for
311
530
20
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

After 6 years, we returned to this beautiful resort for another short break. It’s nested in the middle of a National Park, surrounded by a flourish forest and a golf course, close to the romantic Sintra and just 20 minutes away from Lisbon. The hotel is currently under renovations outdoors, but already renovated inside.
We were recognized as returned and loyal guests, and the service was personalized and top-notch, from the check-in to the check-out. Great improvement since our previous experience at this resort. It was the best service we ever had at a Ritz-Carlton worldwide.
The room was newly renovated, soberly decorated and comfortable. Still the same two minor flaws: the bathroom had dim illumination and there isn´t complimentary coffee available.
We spent most of our time at the pool. Great views overlooking the golf course and National Park. It was a nice place to chill-out, but on one day there was some construction noise from two cranes nearby the pool.
We had full American buffet breakfast everyday. It was just a good buffet, with little assortment of items (no pancakes, no waffles, no French toasts, no berries), although with champagne and vodka included.
Overall, we had a great Ritz-Carlton experience and we couldn’t recommend it more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgeeantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from our third stay at this hotel. Without exception, the staff are fantastic. Nothing is to much trouble. The hotel is very clean and food outstanding. The outdoor restaurant for lunch is a lovely location, overlooking the pool. The Italian restaurant is very good for dinner with a wide menu choice. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless and it is clear the team have pride in working for the hotel. Do take advantage of the re modelled pool and additional sun deck. If you can, ask for a room overlooking the pool or golf course, it is well worth it. Even though at the time of our stay there was a large conference taking place, this did not impact on us at all. The pool area was a little busy, due to the conference, but everyone managed to get a sun bed and umbrella. An outstanding and 1st class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3BTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Utah
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with great service and wonderful food, but it is very much by itself. It is an effort to go anywhere else. The pool area is nice but small so there isn't a lot to do onsite. We were there for a business conference and our group tends to select secluded locations so we are more likely to stick around. As a hotel it was excellent but its location makes it less desirable for someone wanting to see or do anything.

Room Tip: We had a premium room which was very spacious and had a nive balcony and view of the pool and golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulebwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am so impressed with this hotel, the interior design is beautiful with fresh flowers & art everywhere. The staff was over the top helpful & friendly. They have a gym, spa, hair salon, retail, & indoor pool in one area. As well as a gorgeous golf course & outdoor infinity pool. You could spend a whole day just walking the grounds. I don't have children but I was very impressed with how child friendly this place was too. An incredible conference & wedding site. I cannot say enough great things about this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana k J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week's conference and everything was as you might expect for such a high end hotel. Facilities very good - my room was spacious and everything generally of good quality, and conference facilities were good. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. I'm not sure I'd go here for a romantic getaway holiday - it's a very large place and seemed to have end to end conferences and groups staying so couples were definitely a minority when I was there. However as a conference location it was very good.

As ever, I'd really like to allocate this a midway rating ..... between 4 and 5.... but as I can't I'm settling on 4 (very good) as I had some minor issues. The shower in my room was designed with a door that didn't close at the bottom properly.... leading to a puddle of water on the bathroom floor every time i used it. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but no milk. And as the place is so big it was quite a hike to my room, which being in a corner of the building never seemed to get direct sun onto it's balcony.

So a few minor gripes but generally a hotel that lived up to expectations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Temple1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This may be the best resort we have ever stayed at. The facilities are modern and luxurious. Set among the rolling hills of Sintra and close to so many World Heritage Sights. Day trips to all the castles, walled villages and even Lisbon are so easy. Then come home and use the gym, swim, play tennis or golf. Did I mention the Fabulous food?
Louis at the front desk anticipated our needs before we did. He was so friendly as well as professional - finding us guides, drivers and tickets to the sights. The price of the resort is probably the best bargain in Europe. Dreaming of the day we can return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
768 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2714-511, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms, eight exceptional dining facilities, 27-hole Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr. , a luxurious Spa with its own private gardens, pools & jacuzzi, Wellness Centre, 24-hour gym, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis and squash courts, horse riding, children’s playground, mini golf and Kids Club. Penha Longa Resort offers everything you need to ensure a relaxing, luxurious and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing