We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We couldn ' t have felt more content and happy after our stay. From the first moment until departure everything was 100 %.
The staff was fantastic, especially Nadja and Rodrigo - you were amazing. Top service, warm hearts among the staff. Arola Restaurant -wow ! Ambiance, food and service at the top.
We liked everything at PL. Rooms are beautiful, gooood breakfast, gorgeous surroundings and as mentioned before - great staff members.
We know we will try to be back as soon as we can.
Thank you all so much !
Ulf and Carl from Sweden

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

This resort is top notch, no surprise as it is a Ritz Carlton property. The Six Senses spa is nice - I just experienced a wonder oriental massage and the stretching and hot towels included were a real treat, especially after a flight to Portugal from the states.

I also played tennis, as I do every time I stay, and the courts are a short walk from the hotel. It is a large property and there is plenty of beautiful walking. I recommend the spa treatments and the tennis/squash facility.

Room Tip: I am on business so I was able to get a good rate as I stayed an extra night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, and the views from the balconies in the rooms are stunning. The bathroom is large and well appointed, as is the room, BUT. . . .

Several problems emerged during the week. First of all, the hotel is a long way from any towns or villages, so once you are there, you are pretty much a captive audience. Not that that is a problem if services are adequate, but that was not always the case. There are three restaurants (and a bar) in the hotel, but certain ones close on certain nights. On Monday night, for example, there was only one restaurant open. You must have a reservation for a restaurant or you may not be accommodated. We arrived on a Saturday with an 8-year-old and tried to get dinner at the Italian restaurant at the first opening time (7:30), only to be told that we didn't have a reservation and could not get in until 9:00. Our youngster would be asleep long before 9:00 pm., so that wouldn't work. They finally let us in the restaurant and we had eaten and left long before the table was needed for a previously-made reservation. In fact, there were several empty tables when we arrived and when we left.

We ate in the Japanese restaurant one night (with a reservation), and the food was outstanding. The 8-year-old ordered the child's three-course taster meal but was not fond of the raw fish or the noodle dish (very strong flavors for a child). The tempura was fantastic, though! Service was leisurely (not necessarily slow), but the child could not stay awake long enough to have dessert, so he and his mother missed that course.

The bar offered a selection of burgers, salads, and sandwiches, so that was where we ended up for lunch pretty much every day. On the night we went to the Japanese restaurant, we stopped in at the bar a half-hour early to have a pre-dinner cocktail. The service was so slow that we had to search out someone to ask that an order be taken from us. The girl that they sent to get our order did not write anything down and seemed to have difficulty understanding English. The drinks arrived just as we had to leave to go to the restaurant (30 minutes after going into the bar), only to find that four of the five drinks were wrong. My husband complained to a manager, and over the course of the next two days, we had apologies from three different f&b managers for that experience.

We selected this location because it seemed to offer a vacation for each of us: golf for the grandparents, spa for the parents, and kids' club for the child, with three different categories of activities for children of different ages, all the way through teens. The website promised activities that ranged from horseback riding to cooking with the chef to doing arts and crafts, even golf and tennis for youngsters. We asked at checkin if we needed to book the kids club, but we were told that they weren't that busy, so it would be fine to drop in at 10 am. When we did, we found a room geared for two-to-five year olds, where we waited for the activities director. When no one had arrived by 10:30, we went in search of a manager. Then we were told that they wouldn't be having kids' club if fewer than four children had booked, so there was nothing on the agenda for the 8-year-old. They offered the "games room," which consisted of table games (ping-pong, billiards, table football) or video games. We didn't bring the boy from grey, cold England to warm, sunny Portugal to have him spend time indoors on video games! He was hugely disappointed that there was nothing for his holiday, so the hotel hurriedly made arrangements for someone to come in the next day and have activities with him. That day was definitely a good one, but it was only one of the four days that he had expected to get--not much of a holiday for him.

The golf course was beautiful, but following some heavy rains, it was extremely wet and muddy. The grass was long and the ball would splat in the mud, never to be seen again. The pro shop booked us for 18 holes by putting us off on the Monastery course for the first nine and then playing the front nine of the Atlantic course as our back nine. The only problem was that the Atlantic course plays farther and farther away from the clubhouse, and there is virtually no way to stop at 9 and make your way back in. We tried, but we ended up driving the golf cart for about four miles to get back, and even then we had to stop to ask directions from some people living near the course.

We played the Atlantic course the next day, but because it was so busy, we were paired with another two-ball. That course played really long (because of the wet and crowded conditions), and we were ready to quit after playing for more than four hours and still a long way from Hole 18 (but again, can't do so). For the next two days, we requested that we play only the Monastery course. First of all, I think it is prettier and more interesting, and second, it comes back to the clubhouse after 9 so you can either stop or go in for a bathroom/snack break or whatever. The course was virtually deserted every day, so it was like playing millionaire's golf! I would definitely do that again.

The hotel is working on upgrading some of the facilities, so there were construction workers and equipment dotted around the place, marring the beauty of some of the areas. They are certainly trying to make this a real Ritz-Carlton experience, but for right now, it just misses the mark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuffolkAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Penha Longa Resort was a great place to stay. They have a great bar area and good restaurant too. It is truely a family friendly place, we went with a 7 year old and an 11 month old and experienced no issues at all.

They have many many things to do for the kids and adults.

The staff are the just very very friendly and really put exceptional efforts to help and answer queries.

The location of the hotel is ideally placed to visit all the attractions in Sintra like the national palace of Sintra (world heritage site); Pena Castle, Muro Castle. All locations offer great cafes during the day. In the evenings it is better to drive to Cascais which is a short drive away and offers many many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room which was facing the swimming pool with a back ground of the golf course greens - amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwana_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

i have been there for business and i was amazed by the property as well as the staff.
unfortunately too less people around but more space for me.
spa is superb even though a bit too expensive for me
would love to go again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Roberin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were here for business meetings with a little leisure thrown in. From the moment you arrive, the staff are extremely attentive and helpful, at a level that is hard to find in any hotel. The rooms were excellent and the beds very comfortable. We ate in the Japanese restaurant and the Italian restaurant which I hope I can review separately. Breakfast was comprehensive and more than sufficient. We golfed and the course was not in good condition. The weather had been poor for some time before we arrived and the fairways were very boggy and bare in areas. We had good sunny weather during our stay which helped to dry out the course but it was still in poor condition. It's a pity because the layout is very good and a lot of the holes force you to think about how best to play it. You can't blame the resort for the weather - I'm sure that the course would be in great condition at a different time.
I used the gym which had more than enough equipment. I took a mountain bike out for a ride round the estate and the bike could have been better. The indoor pool was too hot for my liking and the outdoor pool too cold at this time of year!
The bar has a very large range of brands of spirits and again has excellent service.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arqueros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for one week in March. The property is beautiful and the monastery on the property is a must see. This is a 5 star resort and I expected many things and I know why it is. Service was excellent everywhere but the bar service was slow a few nights but as we were (120) people perhaps that is why. Premium rooms along the golf wing overlooked the course and pool - lovely view and for March the course was in great shape. The buffet breakfast including bloody marys and champagne had everything anyway could want for 38euro per person. We were looking forward to a hottub after a day of hiking only to find the tub only a few degrees warmer than the indoor pool. We were told Portugal has a law it can only be 35 degrees, so we settled for a very hot and comfortable bath complete with book holding tray.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room however the evalators are at each end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownie6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
3.9 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
4 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2714-511, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range: $144 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal as a guest of Penha Longa Resort. Our resort in Linho, Portugal traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. Penha Longa Reosort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms, eight exceptional dining facilities, 27-hole Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr. , a luxurious Spa with its own private gardens, pools & jacuzzi, Wellness Centre, 24-hour gym, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis and squash courts, horse riding, children’s playground, mini golf and Kids Club. We offer everything you need to ensure a relaxing, luxurious and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing