We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top spot”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I spent five days at this remarkable resort with excellent restaurants and facilities for being active. The rooms were great - quiet and with a good size bed for my 204 cm. Particularly the Italian restaurant was top class and the spa was pure bliss. I will return with the family soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    205
    75
    20
    7
See reviews for
282
501
17
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel to be simply fabulous. The grounds are lush and forested. The spa is well run and the team is friendly, caring and experienced. We've been to many spas and this is one of the best. The staff is responsive and caring. Yes we were there off season but we moved into our room at ten am....early. The atmosphere in the restaurants is attentive, food is good to very good. And the location can't be best. We are experienced travelers and we love the area... And the hotel. We will go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MEJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is now a Ritz Carlton property .Hotel gave us very warm welcome .property is too good more than our expectation. staff is too courteous & cooperative . Spa area is good & relaxing. Breakfast had good variety. Had real good time here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Since this is now a Ritz Carlton property we expected Ritz service, but that was far from the case. The entire property is fabulous. The surrounding are lush and green, but it has it's own climate and is frequently hit by strong winds. My family arrived tired after a long overnight overseas flight. Although there were definitely rooms available, the staff left our family waiting until the late afternoon check-in time. It was torturous 6 hours! The front desk staff are all seem to come from the same mold, all practically robotic. When staying here you must understand that the only purpose these black suited very young adult robots is to sell spa services and in-house restaurants to the hotel guests. The concierge know nothing about the area or Sintra, so thank goodness for the Internet. The housekeeping seems to be very short staffed. They should have at least double that # of housekeepers working for the large # of rooms. I believe this was the reason for the poor housekeeping service at the Penha Longa. When problems are brought to front desk they send you 3 mini pastries as an apology but the problems continue. A visit to the spa was also dissapointing. The woman working in the spa was snooty and the services we had included in our rate were not available. The game room was a complete mess at all times with paddles, Cd's and computer controllers missing and/or in disrepair. I rate this hotel 3 stars because the property itself is a 5 but the service is a 1, so it is an average. There are a few great restuarants just a few minutes down the road from the hotel. They are a fraction of the price of the hotel restaurants and the food is much better. Management needs to get in there, fix all the service problems and turn this into a real 5 star property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x-well-traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've married at Penha Longa Resort in 2010. This year I decided to surprise my husband and go back on our anniversary, but at the and the big surprise was from the Hotel to us!!!
First a big Thank You to Inês Oliveira which organized everything!!!! Thank you to the Guest Relations, specially Sasha and Marisa which organized our room and I have to tell you it was absolutely awesome and made us feel so special. At our arrival every thing was great, we were received by Constança and a very nice boy, which I'm so sorry I don't remember the name that give us a cup of tea give us congratulations for our anniversary and were very very pleasant to us. After that we had our dinner at Midori and every people (again) were also very nice and every one that came to our table give us congratulations for our anniversary. At Midori a special thank you to Telma and Joana which were the persons how received us at the restaurant. The service is very very good, the quality of the products and specially the fish is one of the best. Definitely one of the best Japanese restaurants in Portugal.
On the second day the hotel have organized to us a big surprise and we had no idea. Just let me explain a bit of the story so you can understand how professional the hotel team is. When we got married we took some beautiful pictures at penha longa golf that the persons from the hotel have seen. When we arrived we had on our room an offer from the hotel to do a buggy trip on the second day throw the hotel property. First we had breakfast which is very very very good and after that we went to the reception to do the trip and there was Jorge (concierge) waiting for us for the trip. The property is absolutely beautiful, and again we took a lot of beautiful pictures, but almost at the end of the trip we went to the place where we took the pictures at our wedding day and Jorge stop the buggy and told us there was time to surprise us. We went walking to the golf and there was Maria with 2 glaces of champagne and one of our wedding picture in a beautiful frame. The moment was very special and mean a lot to us. Thank you also to Francisco and Ana from the golf and Arola team which helped to organize the surprise. also a Thank you for the candies you give to our kids (yes, at our room we have 2 bags of candies with our kids name's nad let me tell you they love it). Thank you for everyone that made my day and stay at penha longa be more special than it would normally be.
If you want a romantic stay don't think twice and book!
See you next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catarina_Per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Director of Public Relations at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words! We hope to welcome you again at Penha Longa Resort for "another wonderfull stay"!

All the best for this 2014.!

Warm Regards,

Ladies & Gentlemen of Penha Longa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the resort for 10 days. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the smiling doorman and two equally happy young ladies with tea and warm towels in reception, we were impressed. The service, food, facilities, day spa and golf were fantastic. We've stayed in a lot of hotels but none match this one. Every morning we looked forward to the delicious breakfast. After the first day our coffee and juice preferences were anticipated and the manager Acacio and his staff were fantastic. He gave us great recommendations for activities beyond the hotel too. On Saturday evening we were invited to drinks where Maria chatted with us for half an hour. She followed up all our questions and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was great. Stephanie made restaurant bookings and gave us lots of local knowledge and Izz, who works in the Arola restaurant was gorgeous. I had a facial and massage and it was the best ever! The restaurants were consistently good in terms of quality and service and Midori, one of the first Japanese restaurants in Potugal was divine. Of course it's low season, so most of the time the hotel wasn't overly busy, however they had a few days when they were full and the service and attention to detail didn't waver. Portugal is a beautiful place, Sintra is divine and Penha Longa would have to be one of the best hotels in the world.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Director Public Relations at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you so much for your feedback and gentle words over some of our staff. We´ve appreciated so much your stay at our property and the inspiration it gave you to your next book! I hope we can see you and Alice Miranda at Penha Longa again.

Happy Christmas and a wonderfull 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Not here for leisure so cannot comment on golf courses. Beautiful hotel, clean, spacious, super rooms, amazingly comfortable beds, full marble bathrooms, great food both in the hotel and at the other hotel restaurants, super breakfast buffet. Lovely grounds to the hotel. Will hopefully be back for a private leisure visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Manager at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We also hope to see you back soon at Penha Longa Resort.

Warm Regards,

Vanessa Tomé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
13.1 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2710-314, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. A graceful palazzo-style estate set amongst the spectacular rolling hills, lush gardens, and clear lakes of the southern Sintra mountains.The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms Five exceptional dining facilities Two world-class, championship golf courses A state-of-the-art 1,500 square meter spa Numerous indoor and outdoor recreational amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing