We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb property complimented with Warm 5 star Hospitality”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb property complimented with Warm 5 star Hospitality”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Penha Longa resort is beautifully located just minutes from Lisbon and a quaint fishing village, Cascais. The property is surounded by a Championship golf course with spectacular rolling hills and lush gardens. The hotel lives up to its expectations of the Ritz Carlton brand name. The staff is eager to please, happy to have you and willing to assist in any way possible.
The architecture is memorable and unique and perfect for a great get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. It is close enough to all major attractions and far enough away from city life and traffic. The staff was genuinely nice and impressive. We were pleasantly surprised by how well the resort was maintained and by how hospitable the staff are.
A definite must try if you are looking for relaxation and history amidst beautiful rolling hills complimented by 5 star hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Dianne W,

It was with great pleasure that we´ve received your review!

On behalf of all the Ladies & Gentlemen at Penha Longa we thank you and hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    212
    80
    21
    8
See reviews for
298
523
19
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel from 9-20 June. From the moment we arrived, the experience was excellent. The staff are as friendly and efficient as any you will find in any hotel in the World. The hotel is in a beautiful location, and the room was large, well appointed and with a balcony overlooking the gold course. The five restaurants gave us plenty of choice and without exception the quality of the food and service was of the highest quality. Its difficult to pick out a particular member of staff for particular praise, but special mention to Bruno, the Restaurants Head Chef. For my wife's birthday, he laid on a special 10 course dinner in the Chef's Table. A wonderful special evening. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly; probably the best overall experience we have had in any hotel in the World. Thank you.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the top floor over looking the gold course (e.g. 464)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Pubic Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Lawrence93,

In the name of all our Ladies & Gentlemen and more specially from our colleagues enhanced in your review, we would truly like to thank you for the time taking in writing this review.

It is truly amazing to see that our work and pleasure on welcoming our guests is well reflected on their experiences over their stay.

Best regards,

Rita Moniz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Enjoyed the spa and the well appointed gym and had a very helpful golf lesson. Really chilled out experience. Try the gins in the cocktail bar they have over 70! Breakfasts are of the highest standard that you expect in a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not too far away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swcdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear swcdawes,

It was with great pleasure that we´ve received your review!
On behalf of all the Ladies & Gentlemen at Penha Longa we thank you and hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Warm Regards,

Rita Moniz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was with Jimmyjazz again on the same company bash, but saw things from a slightly different perspective.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere unless you have a car or don't care where it is. It is in the national forest built on previous monastic grounds. The hotel is modern and pleasing to the eye, moreso from the inside. The inside is perpetually peaceful, and I never had much idea of how many other people were there. It may even have been full. I did not get chance to use the leisure facilities as I was working flat out most of the time. However if you want spa, golf, swimming, it is all there.
To use it as a conference base for a meeting in Lisbon was a perverse idea. Despite reassurances that it would take 20 minutes to get to the conference center in Lisbon, I never achieved it in less than 40 minutes. To get back was a bit of a gamblers chance, as many taxi drivers in Lisbon pretended not to know where it was so they did not get stuck 25km out of town with no hope of a return fare. Two of my drivers got lost, and the third had to be bribed with an over-the-meter price so he could get back.
However once you are there it is great. The rooms are big and very comfortable. I would not know what kind of room to recommend, as I did not spend much time looking out of the window. I looked over some parkland. It was a bit of a hike to my room from reception, but most people there are young and fit.
The food was excellent and creative. The only comment was that it was sometimes not very hot when it should have been. Service was a bit slack around the edges, but no one is in a hurry.
The breakfast is wonderful having both champagne and smoked salmon (the litmus test). Interestingly it also served matzoh, which is very unusual. As usual buffet food was luke warm but was of excellent quality. The variety of choices was amazing.
There is basically nowhere near to go on foot to eat out: it takes about 10-15 minutes just to walk to the entrance to the grounds. So people eat in the hotel. The hotel food is a little on the pricey side if you are paying, and the choices are fairly limited. Having said that I enjoyed every meal for its quality and presentation.
By the end, I had been lulled into such as state of in-hotel relaxation that I did not want to leave, but there again, it is nothing to do with reality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgoldman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Picture postcard perfect

Resort has all that you need to be comfortable and the fastest room service I've come across anywhere in the world

Closest city is a few minutes by taxi, full of tourists and eateries, pronounced caskai.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lullamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear lullamon,

Greetings from sunny Penha Longa!

It was with great pleasure that we´ve received your review!

On behalf of all the Ladies & Gentlemen at Penha Longa we thank you and hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Warm Regards,

Rita Moniz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of the place!! I was there on the company tab but if I had been spending my own money I just can't see how I would have been disappointed. Yes, the prices are high, but the quality of everything is superb. Service, food, staff.....everything!!!! It's a bit windy out on the golf course but book an early tee time (before the wind gets up) and you will be fine

Room Tip: Get a room looking out onto the golf course. The views are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64JimmyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear 64JimmyJazz,

Greetings from sunny Penha Longa!

It was with great pleasure that we´ve received your review!

On behalf of all the Ladies & Gentlemen at Penha Longa we thank you and hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Warm Regards,

Rita Moniz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed on points. Fantastic room and patio. The gardens outside your patio are beautiful. Very comfortable gym. A lush setting just outside Lisbon. Concierge is very helpful. The close-by small town of Sintra with its Moorish castle and Royal Palace is something you should spend time at. Much more comfortable than bustling Lisbon. We would go up to Sintra for breakfast and coffee with the locals. The Penha Longa Hotel itself is extremely expensive, but we enjoyed it so much when we arrived in Lisbon, we stayed again 3 weeks later before we flew out. Make sure you have a GPS. The hotel is secluded and pretty difficult to find the first time. very easy access once you find it. Security entrance, very safe feeling.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level with an outdoor patio opening into the garden. Very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenhaLonga, Public Relations Coordinator at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Jim Y,

It was with great pleasure that we´ve received your review!
On behalf of all the Ladies & Gentlemen at Penha Longa we thank you and hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Warm Regards,

Rita Moniz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
5.2 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
239 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2710-314, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. A graceful palazzo-style estate set amongst the spectacular rolling hills, lush gardens, and clear lakes of the southern Sintra mountains.The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms Five exceptional dining facilities Two world-class, championship golf courses A state-of-the-art 1,500 square meter spa Numerous indoor and outdoor recreational amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing