We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Goffs Oak, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having been delayed at London Heathrow for over six hours we were in a pretty bad mood when we arrived at this wonderful hotel. The staff went over and above the benchmark for courtesy, friendlness and service.
Our room (339) faced the mountains, had a very large and comfortable bed. Turn down in the evening was a pleasure and clean sheets every morning.
For special service I must mention Ricardo a waiter in the golf club, who organised his own car to ferry us back up the hill to the hotel since my wife had high heels on.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: All the rooms face either the golf course or the mountains. It's a low rise hotel, therefore it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    203
    74
    20
    7
See reviews for
275
492
16
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. After travelling over 30 years now, i must say, this is the hotel with the best staff I have ever experienced. Their friendliness is overwelming and could not be better.

Thank you guys !!!

Delicious breakfast. Breathtaking view from the pool aera. Well equpped gym, with up to date machines.

Expensive Internet.

Pricing... well maybe they should think whether EUR 9,-- for a beer in the bar is not a bit too much...

We had the bad luck that just in front of our room there was staying a (obviousely well paying) group of party people who dicided to party from 1 am to 3 am. So sleeping during three nights was somehow difficult. However when I complained I got a lot of comprehension and a warm handshake....and nice promises for next time stay... well I will see whether it is just words or ?

Anyway, it is a really great hotel and most probably I will be back next spring...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tata, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went to Penha Longa for a large scale offsite meeting. All facilities and service was hillarious. The food was extremly good. Rooms were lovely offering a great place for both relaxing and work. However the Spa could have been more cosy....it was quite simple lacking the athmosphere of the the hotel. Running around the golf court is a lovely experince.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csenge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travelled here with a large business group for an offsite meeting and the service was outstanding. Every request no matter how large or small was met with extreme haste and professionalism. The hotel was clean, nicely updated but had lots of personality and old world charm. The programs run by the hotel were varied and all very high quality. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great service, excellent room, amazing breakfast and six senses spa... to die for! a real 5 star hotel.
Lovely details all the time, the views from the rooms are simply amazing. One of the best hotel staff we have ever met.We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: executive suites won´t disappoint you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charoferrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Level Contributor
130 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rested in the hotel at the end of September. All just great! Luxury, beauty, wonderful nature!
In our case, there was one, but ...... Perhaps due to the date of our visit. Of lived 10 days, two days were quiet and sunny, our hotel is located in a wind rose, cost us just to go through the gate and drive at a few hundred meters, as we were in the heat and sun, as soon as we returned to the hotel, it is the strongest wind, I was wrapped in a light jacket, it was very disappointing that before reaching Cascais see people full of beaches, even though that is the end of September, and returned to the hotel hiding from the wind. But again, I do not know how in the other months. Pool we got to take advantage of two days, when the sun was our territory and it was quiet.
From Portugal, an excellent experience. The hotel is very luxurious, have been together with my wife, so strongly drawn to the conditions for children. The staff is very friendly.
Go ride a horse. Bought a full dress, it stands there kopeyki.Ochen have traveled to Portugal itself leaving after breakfast and returning in the evening, so that the rest were very pleased. And it's small, but we did not stop much.
Far away from the ocean, just by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed myself. The staff were fantastic, especially the front desk staff and bellboys/doormen.

The place is not huge which was just right for me. I liked the fact that it was on the smaller, comfy side. Also, as a runner, I really ejoyed running around the golf course in the morning and around in the nearby hills/forest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
988 reviews
5.2 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
189 reviews
13.9 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2710-314, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. A graceful palazzo-style estate set amongst the spectacular rolling hills, lush gardens, and clear lakes of the southern Sintra mountains.The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms Five exceptional dining facilities Two world-class, championship golf courses A state-of-the-art 1,500 square meter spa Numerous indoor and outdoor recreational amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing