We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting but a lot that needs improving”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing setting but a lot that needs improving”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The setting of this hotel and golf course is spectacular. It is part of an old monastery which they converted into conference and banqueting rooms, some of which are amazing.

The hotel itself is new and well laid out. The service is good, lots of smiles and helpful staff.
They organized our complex business conference of 200 people quite well.
About the hotel: Being a Ritz-Carlton they got a lot of things right, BUT they also got a lot of things wrong that personally really annoyed me, especially for the money paid.

1. There is a nice Nespresso machine in the room with a full display of different capsules. That brought a smile to my face thinking I could have a fist cup of coffee before heading off to breakfast. I thought this was a really nice step up from the usual "Kettle and Nescafe instant sachets", and was ready to give Ritz-Carlton a thumbs up for that nice touch. HOWEVER they do not openly tell you that what used to be a complimentary offering (free) now comes with a hefty charge of 2 euros per capsule. So your traditional free coffee/tea making facilities have been upgraded but now come at your cost. The worst thing is they hide the price list (literally impossible to find!) so you would have no clue. Luckily I was told about this by a colleague, so didn't make the mistake but I personally find this unacceptable, I actually felt quite insulted and cheated.
2. The room although great is missing some basics you would expect in any hotel, especial one that specifically caters for weddings and events: A full length mirror! Very annoying, yet many places to put one (or 3 even!). Also, the desk area, where you would expect to have to plug in a computer does not have a spare plug space, so to charge your laptop. you have to unplug a lamp and still can't charge your phone. I had to unplug something from my bedside table to charge my phone and it was not easy to do or reach. That would easily result in forgetting your charger there as the plug was hidden behind the headboard.
Another thing was the insulation of the balcony doors. It was very windy there and one night I heard a strange noise in my room, it sounded like someone was snoring very loudly. I investigated and found out that it was the gap between the 2 sliding doors making that vibration sound and lost a night's sleep. My solution was to jam a magazine between the doors to open the gap and reduce the vibration. It worked but the room had a draft.
3. Concierge service: Great service from the reception team, however as soon as you ask them to do something out of the ordinary they really start to struggle and you realize they don't have any real processes in place to transmit information from 1 concierge to the next or from 1 shift leader to the next. I asked for flowers to be delivered to the event organisers who were based at reception a lot and specifically told them to hide the flowers until they deliver them to our main event at 3 pm, only to find them openly displayed on the reception desk all afternoon with their names on them, which totally spoiled the surprise, yet this was mentioned to them on 3 separate occasions. They also lost some the hand written cards (which I had to do again), and one of which ended up on the floor in the driveway of the hotel for some reason.

So conclusions: For being a Ritz-Carlton, yes they get things right on the surface but some of their practices and attention to detail are really questionable. To me everything looks shiny on the surface, but behind the scenes things aren't quite as they seem.
They need to pay more attention to those all important details and focus more on the customer rather than rely on the way things look or the beauty of the setting or how they can make an extra buck. I certainly wouldn't trust them to host my wedding there if they can't get simple things right. Especially for the price! So I have to say I was disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    205
    75
    20
    7
See reviews for
282
501
17
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
223 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice property the room are spacious and very comfortable
Excellent breakfast, and the few restaurant we tasted during our stay were nice.
Service is outstanding.
The region offer a lot of activities.
Golf was not in the best shape during our stay

Room Tip: Recommend to ask near the lift and nice view otherwise you are on for a long long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful park only 20 minutes from the airport. It is a perfect place for a long weekend with great facilities and an enthusiastic staff that make you feel welcome from beginning till end.
For golfers the 2 courses are good challenge with wonderful views. The food is excellent in all the restaurants and the chef's table at Arola is a culinary delight.
The hotel staff was by far the best hotel staff we have found in Europe and for anyone interested in finding out more about Portugal they will provide you all the answers with great detail.
This was our second stay and we will make it a regular visit. A long weekend here is a real holiday. Thanks again Penha Longa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The rooms are quite good, and the service from the check-in was excellent!!
Foods are good even at the bar. Japanese restaurant isn't really authentic, but what can you expect in Sintra. Westernized asian foods tends to be sweeter with less spice!! However, foods were enjoyable.
The golf course was great even better than more famous? Oitavos? Enjoyed golfing here more with a better golf package deal. We even played golf when there was severe draught!! Now, the condition is great!! Many challenging holes with nice scenery!!
Will definitely go back for a vacation.

Room Tip: Spacious and clean room. Views don't really mean much here since the building itself is not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irxraydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful secluded and wooded location, 10 minutes to Sintra and 15 to Cascais. It is only 20-30 minutes to Lisbon and great beaches are within reach in 15-20 minutes. We are living in Portugal for the year, not far from the hotel, and have eaten there a few times. But this was our first stay for my wife's birthday. We are extremely happy with everything here. FIrst and foremost, the staff is incredibly courteous and helpful. Each and every one. I emailed the day before arrival inquiring about flowers. They responded quickly and the flowers delivered to the room on her birthday were much nicer than I expected for the price and they also included an awesome cake and a gift of a nice Portuguese tile. Our daughter from the U.S. called the hotel unbeknownst to us and worked with them to deliver chocolate dipped strawberries and a great picture of our kids printed on a keepsake print to our dinner table and she said they were amazing to work with.
Our room is stunning (we have a corner suite) with great views. The property is situated in beautiful greenery at the foot of the Sintra mountains surrounded by the golf course. A 16th century Monastery is still used on the property. Great place to walk or hike. The Six Senses Spa is first class and we had great treatments for two days. Fully equipped gym too.
We have eaten at all the restaurants and they are wonderful. The Japanese place called Midori is the closest thing we have to high end Japanese back in LA. Very classy. The Italian restaurant is also very good and the chef came out to check on us and ask for feedback in a very nice way. They really care and are trying for perfection constantly. They are damn close! All of the extra touches are here, from water and snacks at the front door to apples in the lobby and so on.
Overall, we have been incredibly and pleasantly surprised by everything and everyone here. Not every RItz Carlton is high end, but this one can rival the highest end of any hotel group. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Monastery and Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mem3184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in January with a 1 yr old. It is a lovely hotel in a stunning location. The golf was good for 1 day but it rained very heavily the next so we were stuck inside for a day. The staff were exceptionally good. They went out of there way to make it comfortable for us, especially for our 1 year old who loved the play area and had her first swimming experience here. The only complaint if any was that the food was nice but nothing to remember. I will definitely go here again and would certainly recommended it for others despite the steep price. I have stayed at more expensive and far worse places. There weren't too many other guests so maybe we got better than normal service and don't know if it would be same if it was busy but it certainly was great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. Upon arrival, the welcome was warm. The people in the hotel do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Very friendly and polite!
Th hotel is huge, but it is spread over a big area so it is not a colossal building. The hotel has a conference center placed kn a monastery, really beautiful!

The meeting rooms are good, only a little cold in winter, so they placed little heaters in the rooms, which was fine. The atmosphere was beautiful, so this was a big compensation.

Hotel room was big, clean and comfortable. Nice shower!

Breakfast was plentiful, healthy and fresh. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
13.1 mi away
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2710-314, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. A graceful palazzo-style estate set amongst the spectacular rolling hills, lush gardens, and clear lakes of the southern Sintra mountains.The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms Five exceptional dining facilities Two world-class, championship golf courses A state-of-the-art 1,500 square meter spa Numerous indoor and outdoor recreational amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing