We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Namtso, must see if you visit Lhasa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Namtso

Lake Namtso
Book In Advance
More Info
$320.00*
and up
2-Day Small-Group Lake Namtso Experience from Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This holy body of water, located 15,475 feet above sea level and covering more than 730 square miles, is the highest saltwater lake in the world.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lake Namtso, must see if you visit Lhasa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's a beautiful lake more than looking like a mirror. Lake itself and the surrounding such as snow mountain range, blue sky and sandy beach etc are so attractive and wonderful to take photos.
Hate the crowds and the rude maner of the horse riding business group who spoit the quiet and beautity of nature. Avoid the horse riding
Beware of the charges although they are standard now. They charged RMB20 from the starting of path down to the beach edge with a small sign and total distance is less than 100m distance. My walking time about 10 min. Then other RMB10 from the beach edge onto the beach. So they charged RMB30 from my friend and she didnot know that it was an other charge to be on the beach just 5 m from the sign for photos.
Prepare long travel hours to there from Lhasa city, about 9 hours for to and return, but worth to spend a day.
Not recommend to stay there because the condition of accomodation and restaurant was not so satifactory and over-charged.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank noelleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    34
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sacred and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's a pool of reflection. Reflection of the sky, of the light and of oneself.

Staying overnight is the best thing to do as we can avoid the crowds of tourists from Lhasa staying for few hours and enjoy the breathless sunset. We stayed in the temporary accomodation, which provides comforatble beds for RMB180. (another choice would be RMB120) No bathroom facilities. There is a public temp toliet, but I dare not step inside.
It's quite cold at night, better to bring your warm clothes.

You can enjoy millions of stars when you brush your teeth in the open air. I even see the galaxy clearly!

Climb up the little hill for the sunrise the next morning. What a wonderful world.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Namtso Lake, a charming beauty in Lhasa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

It is extremely beautiful and seems to connect with the blue sky. It is best to stay there for at least one day and one night as both its sunrise and sunset are very charming.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SindyL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I want to live there or visit there 4 times in a year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The scenery must be very different in seasons but i am sure it must be wonderful.

we took the photos with yak and the lake. it is huge and quite. you can not believe it is just a lake . it could be a sea.

the lake is very clear and blue and the sky is very blue. everything seems holy there/

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank serene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hard to discribe with words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

so beautiful wonderful,
unforgetable to me.

though it is very far away from Lhasa but it is really very worthy to vsiit. and i suggest you stay there one night coz you will enjoy the spectacular sunrise and sunset scenery.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sa0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Namtso also viewed

 
Burang County, Tibet
 

Been to Lake Namtso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing