We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Il Bistrot Trattoria Tipica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Incredible antipasti with many vegetables and superb fresh flavors. Hand made pasta were all amazing as well and superb service. Stopped for lunch and was a perfect.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2016

It does all the typical dishes of Calabria. The service is warm and friendly. We ate a lot and the prices was very fair.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tobiah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

This is a tiny gem that the local people know about and fill up constantly! When we're in town visiting family every summer, we go two or three times because there's so much amazing food that we need to go back to try more of it!

However large or small your group is, she can easily accommodate it. We've been there with 4 people and with 20.

Patrizia is wonderful and her mother is in the kitchen making all the food for the evening. If you ask for appetizers, be prepared for an avalanche of local food - incredible polpette (meatballs), sliced meats, cheeses, stuffed vegetables, zucchini cakes, wild capers, pickled zucca (pumpkin) and more. Here's a tip - NEVER fill up on bread! Some nights, we couldn't get past the vast array of delicious appetizers.

If you can manage it though, have the amazing handmade pasta dishes. They come in large dishes to share, so don't order one per person or you'll end up with way too much food.

This place is an institution. It's been in Cantinella for so long and you really must try it, if you're anywhere near there.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaraScottt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

A small, hidden gem that serves authentic popular Calabrese fare. Quite out of the way, but if you find yourself close, try to make it. Many of the plates would be the same you would eat if you were invited to a family dinner or (like me) grew up with a Calabrese mother. The antipasto of the house is sufficient for a meal and consists of many different starters, including potatoes and peppers cooked in olive oil, potato croquettes, amazing caper flowers, homemade charcuterie and cheeses, and on and on. If tempted (or still hungry), try the homemade fusilli wth zucchini flowers and sausage. The local wine is fine, but I suggest you try a bottle of Calabrese finer wine. I didn't make it to the meats and other dishes, but my cousins and friends told me they were equally genuine and hearty. Expect to pay about 20 euros per person for lots of good food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank PatrizioDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bistrot Trattoria Tipica also viewed

Corigliano Calabro, Corigliano-Rossano
Corigliano Calabro, Corigliano-Rossano
 
Corigliano Calabro, Corigliano-Rossano
Corigliano Calabro, Corigliano-Rossano
 
Corigliano Calabro, Corigliano-Rossano
Rossano, Corigliano-Rossano
 

Been to Il Bistrot Trattoria Tipica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing