We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Gran Ciasa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Ciasa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in Colfosco for the Maratona dles Dolomites and stayed a few days either side of the event. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful throughout our stay. The room itself (superior deluxe) was spacious and well appointed with a good balance of furniture for the space available leaving it not too crowded but with plenty of seating. The food was excellent throughout, the menu varied day to day offering a choice of options without becoming repetitive. The selection for breakfast was excellent. They accommodated our early morning checkout (0530 hours) without batting an eyelid and laid on a breakfast spread for us. When we return to the area I hope they have vacancies!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    80
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
155
180
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for the last week of the ski season and consequently the hotel was anything but full - great for us, perhaps less good for them! Rooms are very clean and relatively spacious with large bathrooms, wide and comfortable beds and great views.

Staff are very pleasant, friendly and want to help. As German speakers with a smattering of Italian, we had no problems in communicating and enjoyed daily banter with the serving staff in three languages - their english probably was a little better than our italian. Incidentally, the local language is Ladin, which apparently is vulgar latin and has more commonality with spanish than italian. It is somewhat impenetrable and is spoken only in the immediate locale - I think in 7 valleys.

We too were the only English at the hotel - the majority were either German or Austrian. I think there was also a Slovakian and some Italians.

Given you are in South Tyrol, which has belonged to both Italian and German speaking countries, the regional food has a strong Austrian/German influence to it - there is a comment in a previous review about the reviewer being disappointed it was not more Italian. From a personal perspective we enjoyed what the hotel provided - four courses in the evening: a serve yourself salad, a starter, main course and sweet and/or cheese and cake. Quality was very good (no duds over our stay), it looked lovely, was inventive and covered fish, meat and game spectrum. Diners have a choice of two starters, three mains, including a vegetarian option.

The hotel has a wellness centre with a smallish but lovely swimming pool, and for adults a suite of various types of saunas, steam baths, crystal rooms … and yes, it's a naked one, but after a first visit not much of an issue. We didn't buy any treatments or massages - couldn't really justify spending 70 Euros for a full body one, but having reread the reviews here, may have missed out on the experience.

Colfosco is a small town consisting mainly of hotels, a few shops and bars and apartments. It seems to live purely for the skiing, which is virtually doorstep to the hotel and is connected to the 200km of the Dolomiti Superski area, which also includes the Sella Ronda and the Great War routes, as well as the Hidden Valley and access to Cinque Torre. Apart from skiing in the winter and I assume, cycling, walking, riding etc.., in the summer, there is little else to do. Corvara, a couple of kms away has a little more.

However, what won us over was both the snow - 150cm in the valley and almost 300cm higher up, the fact that there were lots of little huette by the lifts, serving on the whole great food amid some of the most stunning scenery I've seen for quite a while. It also helped that there were very few people on the pistes - in many cases were had both lifts and pistes to ourselves.

We will probably return for the skiing and perhaps even for a summer holiday and would be happy to use the Gran Ciasa again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesalles sur Oron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the hotel last September. The service was very good and the people running the place were were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was awesome, never had a breakfast like in this hotel and the dinner was great as well. I'm sure we will go back to this hotel in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klinkhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Colfosco is one of the best areas that we've been to ski, enhanced by the tremendous conditions of snow by night & sun by day. Also the views were to die for!! There were 6 people in our group, some skiers, some not. It is good for walkers & non skiers. We were the only English in this hotel, however the staff, Paula & her husband, the owners, were very friendly, helpful & accommodating, & spoke very good English. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them, the waiter services (especially Manuel) did whatever we requested without any question. The hotel was ideally situated for slopes, ski hire shops (incidentally they allowed us to leave our ski's & poles daily). Great.... very secure heated boot room.The wellness centre was more applicable to a four star hotel than a 3 star, ( the massages were to die for!!) We had a comfort room, which lived up to it's name, very clean, large & modern, with very comfortable beds & pillows, they supplied robes & slippers for the wellness centre. We do intend to return here next year. Thank you everyone for making this a great holiday. "The Watts group"

Room Tip: There were 6 of us, 1 couple had a standard room, one a comfort room, & 1 a suite. The standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotsitwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp - Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Colfosco is a great location to ski around the Dolomites . The Sella Ronda is well marked and has fantastic lmong slopes and spectacular views. Staying in this hotel is a bonus with great food and hospitality. Wellness area oké.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This family ran and size hotel in Colfosco is all right. Our room was large and clean with a refurbished bathroom.
Access to the slopes is just okay, as you need to cross and walk on the main road.
The quality and variety of the meals was very disappointing and involved way too many German dishes.
The spa and swimming pool area is nice with a very good masseuse. However, German fashion is to attend a spa totally naked. I’m afraid it’s not to our liking to be surrounded by middle age naked men and women with no discretion at all
Overall okay, but if we go back to Alta Badia, we will stay in Corvara as there are much more things to do and easier access to the slopes. Going back to Colfosco at the end of the day requires a lot of queuing at the chair lift because it is on the Sella Ronda path.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lidayL0ver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, can't believe this hotel is only 4 stars - good for us though. If the secret gets out about this place .... Firstly our room was more like an apartment in terms of space, lounge area, bed, plus a kitchen/desk area ample storage, massive bathroom with beautiful limewashed timber beams and flooring. The room was well heated, and the beds so comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the alps right from our balcony. The meals were fantastic - breakfast usual European meats/cheeses/pastries but more varied than I have experienced before. The highlight though is the evening meal where you not only get a buffet but your choice from usually 3 entree's and 3 mains - all with regional influences and presented like at a 5 star restaurant. The next highlight is the staff - as a minority English speaking customer - the staff went out of their way to help, advise and show genuine interest in you. I didn't use the variety of sauna experiences offered, but did use the pool and it was great to come off the slopes to. The super premier special just blew us away in terms of value for money compared to Australian ski fields. We are planning our trip back for next year now!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfosco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#3 of 13 in Colfosco
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#2 of 18 in La Villa
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mezdi
Hotel Mezdi
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cappella
Hotel Cappella
#4 of 13 in Colfosco
202 reviews
3.8 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ciasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ciasa

Property: Hotel Gran Ciasa
Address: Strada Sora' 15 | I-39033, 39033 Colfosco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Colfosco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Ciasa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gran Ciasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing