We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the Dolomites”
Review of Hotel Gran Ciasa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Ciasa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp - Belgium
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“In the heart of the Dolomites”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Colfosco is a great location to ski around the Dolomites . The Sella Ronda is well marked and has fantastic lmong slopes and spectacular views. Staying in this hotel is a bonus with great food and hospitality. Wellness area oké.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    80
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
155
180
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This family ran and size hotel in Colfosco is all right. Our room was large and clean with a refurbished bathroom.
Access to the slopes is just okay, as you need to cross and walk on the main road.
The quality and variety of the meals was very disappointing and involved way too many German dishes.
The spa and swimming pool area is nice with a very good masseuse. However, German fashion is to attend a spa totally naked. I’m afraid it’s not to our liking to be surrounded by middle age naked men and women with no discretion at all
Overall okay, but if we go back to Alta Badia, we will stay in Corvara as there are much more things to do and easier access to the slopes. Going back to Colfosco at the end of the day requires a lot of queuing at the chair lift because it is on the Sella Ronda path.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lidayL0ver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, can't believe this hotel is only 4 stars - good for us though. If the secret gets out about this place .... Firstly our room was more like an apartment in terms of space, lounge area, bed, plus a kitchen/desk area ample storage, massive bathroom with beautiful limewashed timber beams and flooring. The room was well heated, and the beds so comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the alps right from our balcony. The meals were fantastic - breakfast usual European meats/cheeses/pastries but more varied than I have experienced before. The highlight though is the evening meal where you not only get a buffet but your choice from usually 3 entree's and 3 mains - all with regional influences and presented like at a 5 star restaurant. The next highlight is the staff - as a minority English speaking customer - the staff went out of their way to help, advise and show genuine interest in you. I didn't use the variety of sauna experiences offered, but did use the pool and it was great to come off the slopes to. The super premier special just blew us away in terms of value for money compared to Australian ski fields. We are planning our trip back for next year now!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rooms are of a very, very high standard & quality, i.e. decorated in a mix of alpine and modern design, well equipped. Very spacious. Friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner with a wide range of choice, although dinner appeared to be more inspired by international than by Italian cuisine. Rather informal dinner atmosphere which is welcomed by families. Good value for money. The official *** rating is perhaps suitable for the restaurant, but rooms (and swimming pool) need to be upgraded to 4*! Hotel is worth being recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff ,Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Colfosco is part of the Sella Ronda, over the Paso Gardena from Selva/Val Gardena and as one of the villages of Alta Badia is smaller and prettier than the Gardena side. The Gran Ciasa is a 3 star superior and our Comfort room was large and superb. As we were 3 adults, our daughter was able to use the settee in the lounge area, as a large pull-out bed, which could be a quite separate area for sleeping by means of sliding doors. The bathroom was enormous with large bath/shower, a separate shower cubicle, wash handbasin, bidet and toilet all top of the range, Villeroy and Boch. We loved the Spa/wellness centre, with swimming pool and different saunas/steam rooms/showers. We enjoyed the herbal teas provided and my daughter rated her one hour massage the best ever. All the meals are very good with a great choice and a buffet of Ladin specialities provided after an aperitif and amuse bouche on one night. All the drinks are very reasonably priced. A great value hotel with friendly, efficient staff. We stayed for a walking week at the end of the summer season, but plan to come back to this hotel in the skiing season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaiReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at Gran Ciasa for one week in march, and loved the place. Had a very nice comfort room with balcony and view over the village and the slopes. Good positioned with short walk to slope. Really good pool and sauna area. Very kind and helpful staff, in the reception as well as in the restaurant, which also served really good dinner.
Absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAugustsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Family run hotel. Nicely decorated refurbished rooms, friendly staff, good food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfosco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#2 of 18 in La Villa
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mezdi
Hotel Mezdi
#3 of 13 in Colfosco
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cappella
Hotel Cappella
#4 of 13 in Colfosco
202 reviews
3.8 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ciasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ciasa

Property: Hotel Gran Ciasa
Address: Strada Sora' 15 | I-39033, 39033 Colfosco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Colfosco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Ciasa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gran Ciasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing