We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey Island Sanya”

Nanwan Monkey Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Monkey Island Sanya”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

They say that there are over a thousand monkeys on this island which is reached by a chair lift - the best part of the visit! It's an open gondola so even when it's hot and humid (as it was when we visited) the air cools you off and the views are great.
On entry there's a little pool with trees and monkeys which climb the trees and jump in for fun! They are free and enjoying life.
But others are not so fortunate. There are various 'shows' around the site featuring monkeys which are definitely not free and certainly not happy. Chained and solitary, these animals exist to please tourists. I don't know what the answer is but if you care about animals, I wouldn't visit or if you do visit, steer clear of the shows and behind the stages...
This coloured our view of what might have been a pleasant day out. We may have visited at the wrong time of day as, apart from the initial group of 'divers', we saw few free animals - maybe they were having a nap!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    18
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“rise of the island of the monkeys”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

great experience getting to the island in the gondola take in the scenery of the fishing village. on arrival we immediate met with wild and curious monkeys, our young travelling companions enjoyed most of the shows.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aspironz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This place is so adorable!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have to say this is our favorite spot of Sanya!
All the monkeys were happy to be there (except those ones who has to perform for people on the stage i guess) and they are free to walk around and do things.

You can spent 10RMB to get photos taking with your own camera with monkey or feed them. They are so cute and won't attack you like those ones when we went to Bali. They will grab the food from your hand, but it is not like those mean ones to just "grab".

The lift to the island is also awesome! We loved it all!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Monkey Business”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Chinese tourist "natural parks" are usually a combination of park, circus, and zoo. This was mostly circus even though the area was quite interesting. Some of the monkeys perform in a circus show and much of the site is kitsch. But the monkeys are fine and don't seem to mind the other apes watching them.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LRARtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inhumane and Crowded”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I feel sorry that we paid money, and by doing so supported the way monkeys were treated in various parts of the park. We were expecting to see a reserve where all monkeys were free and roaming at their own will. They did have that for some monkeys, though others were on chains and being whipped in shows.

One comedic (but sad) show featured a trainer with 5 monkeys on chains whipping them for cues to do various acts. Some of the acts were to make the monkeys look like they were mad at or fighting the trainer, which often looked to real to be an act.

Another show had a larger audience with animals doing larger circus acts in a old setting. And as a small pony was trying to walk on an elevated tight rope 6 feet tall, it well to the ground and was whipped to attempt it again.

The trip started out with a massive line towards the cable car to the island with 5 people wide all shoving elbows to get ahead. I had to guard my wife for 30 minutes from being crushed. Sadly we had to wait the same tedious line on the way off the island (without the crushing). The line waiting made this a waste of a whole day, when we only expected a 2 hour side trip.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank KSDolfanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanwan Monkey Island also viewed

 

Been to Nanwan Monkey Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing