We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Sumas

Sumas
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sumas is a small family run restaurant located in the picturesque village of Gorey on the East side of Jersey. Serving an abundance of fresh local fish as well as Meats and vegetarian dishes, Sumas offers casual fine dining in a relaxed environment. With stunning views of the Harbour and a fantastic terrace in the Summer, Sumas has been a favourite with locals and visitors alike since 1997.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I went for dinner here last Saturday night, it was really lovely every thing about the whole place is nice the food was really good the staff chatty and our wine was really good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    84
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply the finest lunch we have found on the island. After sampling several of the Tennerfest menus, this was a masterpiece. Breads were an adventure in themselves & the pork belly, so often disappointing elsewhere, had a wonderful succulence with a satisfying crunch to the skin. As mentioned elsewhere, nice also to find some diverse wines by the glass too. First Class!

Helpful?
Thank Ulrikakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Charming restaurant, excellent food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this at short notice on a Saturday night when the restaurant we had booked unexpectedly had to close. The restaurant coped well with several groups arriving at once, slightly late in the evening and the staff did not seem at all put out by this. The food was all excellent - well designed dishes, prepared with care. A particular stand out was the squid salad. The squid was perfectly cooked and served with delicately pickled carrot and fennel.
The restaurant itself is quite compact and decorated with a tasteful coastal theme. If you get a chance, the balcony has a great view over the bay to the harbour and castle. All in all we enjoyed our unplanned visit and would return if looking for a restaurant in this price range.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moomopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Truly First Class, why no M star ?”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent in every way, the food, service, style, atmosphere, just correct and very welcoming.

very good Sunday lunch with super service from Danny, a young lady to whom nothing was too much trouble. One questions I have is what has this fine restaurant not got a M star ?? It deserves one and is streets ahead of others on the island and elsewhere that boast them.

Will be back for sure !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Midweek food is the best”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to have a meal midweek after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We chose the set menu and we were not disappointed. The starters and main course of fish were wonderful! We enjoyed the food so much, we booked for Friday night also. We arrived only to find that no set menu was available and everything was a lot more expensive. I chose the ribeye steak and my husband chose the fish and pasta dish. My steak was very nervy and the chips that accompanied the steak were hard. We were disappointed and if you are going to Sumas, it's best to go midweek when the set menu is available and much more enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumas also viewed

 

Been to Sumas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing