We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great bird watching trip!

If you’re a birder, ask for Captain Carlos! We took personal 3 hour sunset mangrove tour with... read more

Reviewed April 5, 2020
rach12383
,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Outstanding!!!

We spent four unforgettable hours birding and wildlife watching with Rio Lagartos Adventures. Our... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2020
AuroraAlaska
,
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Read all 616 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Rio Lagartos
from $111.80
More Info
from $103.90
More Info
from $129.35
More Info
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
501
75
18
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
501
75
18
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud bath diego nunez boat trip bird species maya restaurant flamingo tour different species bird watching great birds unforgettable experience eco tour great guide flora and fauna other companies visited rio knowledgeable guide salt flats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 616 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We arranged a bird watching tour with Diego's crew online. We simply emailed when we would be there and received a message back from Diego confirming our reservation. We showed up early and they were ready for us. Instead of putting multiple people on one boat, we had our own boat and guide. We saw other tour companies with boats weighted down with 6-8 people.

Our guide, Jose, was terrific. Fluent in English, very knowledgable of the area and someone who truly respected this special nature preserve. Jose new all the spots to see some terrific wildlife. Because it was just my husband and me on the boat with Jose, we were able to navigate into some special places to get a closer view and photographs of amazing wildlife.

We spent three hours at Rio Lagartos. It cost us $75 and was well worth it. We finished up at the restaurant onsite and the food was good and prices very reasonable. We would definitely go back and head out with Jose again!

2  Thank hkd-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

it's very easy to go to yucatan peninsula and miss a visit to rio lagartos out of various reasons: it's not advertised, it's remote, there are bad connections to this place. but this is also why it is so well preserved. the village itself is charming, but not very specials. unemployment is a common issue as you can see little bars filled with middle aged mexicans in the middle of the day.
we went to the pier and met mr. ismael navarro. he took us for 600 pesos to a superb 3 hours trip with his boat to various places in the lagoon nearby. he told us stories about maya pens and poisons, then he made a demonstration with a cormoran eating fish. he knew a spot where a wild crocodile comes and had some fish prepared for him. the crocodile was quite fierce, but we could touch his tail. then we say a major flamingo colony with surrealist birds literally walking on water. we swam in salty mineral water that keeps you at the surface and you feel like you fly, and then we covered ourselves with white mud. we ended up washing ourselves in an artificial cenote nearby.

go to rio lagartos! it is really out of this world!

2  Thank amungiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to see the flamingos in Rio Largartos. So we drove to this sleep costal town and thought we could just see the Flamingos from the town. The town member pointed out Eco tours we made arrangements to have a captain take us out to see the birds. We had to get the rental car back so they agreed to meet us early the next morning (6:30am) we watched the sunrise as we drove out to the flamingos. We were able to see many different kinds of birds. After floating in to the middle of the Flamingos we went to a saltwater estuary were we were able to float in the warm salty water. When we were done, we received a Mayan mud bath. It was a morning neither of us will ever forget.

The guide assisted us in getting a room that had a baloney facing the docks, at Annette posada, she rented the room to us for 300 pesos about $25. It was the most comfortable bed we slept in all week.

Be careful all the restaurants close down at 7:30pm. We were escorted around town by one of the locals who pointed out a small stand selling panochas. They were very good and we both ate for less then $5 USD.

It was an amazing little town where you’re welcomed into the small town life and the people are eager to open their life to you. I was impressed by the crabs that run in the streets, as I had never seen that before.

1  Thank missbliss78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I highly recomend this nature tour which is located about three hours outside of Cancun Mexico, at the northern tip of the Yucatan peninsula. It consists of a boat ride in a salt water estuary among the mangroves,no rough water, only the very seriously afflicted would get seasick. We saw not only flamingos but numerous species of birds fish and 2 crocodiles Ismael was my guide, he was not only a skilled and safe boatman but very knowledgeable of the local flora and fauna, as well as a very nice man. The trip was 600 pesos and worth every penny. Ismael also recommended a local hotel, punta ponto, which was clean comfortable and affordable, with a balcony view of the lagoon.

3  Thank philkilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews