We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio Lagartos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Don Felipe (the owner) is very friendly yet professional. Place is clean and good value for money. We asked for room change when arrived and request was accomodated. We got help to arrange for laguna boat trip, as well as other small things. Best fish filet i had in two weeks touring in yukatan.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Emi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is in the right place if you are visiting the Rio Lagartos reserve. It is clean, simple, just what you need to spend a night. The owners are very nice people and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The restaurant is not very good, but there are good alternatives on the same block.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhatigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel was really great, clean, beds comfortable. It was just what we wanted after those long hours on the beds. The location was excellent, and food delicious. I really can't say anything negative, and you have to consider. I was even surprised, as they were fine with our late check out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleopatra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Don't know how we could have topped this choice for our two night stay in Rio Lagartos. The off-street parking made us feel our rental car was safer and the view from our third floor balcony was beautiful. I got shots of Frigate birds flying right by our balcony in the evening. Sunset view from the roof is spectacular. You can even see Flamingos in the morning from the roof with binoculars. Felipe and his wife were excellent hosts and made us feel at home with special treats both days. (I am still looking for the chocolate and cinnamon covered ground pepita candy Felipe shared with us! Looked all over Merida, they were sooo good!) Felipe provided us with everything we needed from duct tape to a bottle of wine for our balcony bird watching. Another plus was that we found the bird watching guide we read about (Diego Nunez) right next door at his restaurant, El Torreja. Couldn't have been easier to line up a bird watching trip. Love this hotel! The absolute only negative was the loud rooster starting up around 3:30 am, but hey this is Mexico and we love being immersed in the whole ambiance. Beautiful place and we would totally stay here again. Seeing 1000's of Flamingos was like a dream come true.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGirl059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel before our day trip to see the flamingos in October 2012.

The front desk staff was very helpful on our arrival; they had our informations on hand and our room was already prepared. We were very pleased with the room : clean, spacious with a nice balcony to enjoy the view of the lagoon. However, we could have used a more comfortable bed.

The staff recommended us a guide for the flamingos tour (Albert) and we had a wonderful time.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the last floor and we had a very nice view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Positives:
Nice room, very clean, everything working, plenty of hot water, good A/C, off-street parking. Well-maintained, trash-free grounds. Our original room's water heater wasn't working so the manager immediately upgraded us at no charge. Unfortunately there wasn't anyone available to help us transfer our baggage up the stairs but that was a very minor detail.

Negatives (related to the hotel):
1. The restaurant was not open for dinner for some reason. Low season, perhaps?
2. The hotel is located directly across the street from a lagoon (?) with a disgustingly polluted shoreline. Dozens of fishing vessels were moored about what might otherwise be a nice promenade. Trash, dead fish, and brush crowded the shore and greeted us with the incredible stench of rotting garbage, decaying marine life, etc. It was horrible. Sadly enough, it wouldn't take much to clean it up - perhaps one full weekend's work by a few dozen townspeople or business owners. One evening we observed a shrimper and his wife sorting the days catch at about 9 pm on a filthy sidewalk which totally quashed any desire we might have had to eat locally-caught seafood. As nice as the hotel was we won't return simply because of it's location in close proximity to what I can only describe as a cesspool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhrixusPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A stay in the Hotel Villa de Pescadores beautifully complements the enriching and visually-dazzling experience of Yucatan's Rio Lagartos Biosphere Reserve. The warm, family-style welcome, clean and comfortable accommodation, and delicious menu of just-caught fish make this family-owned hotel a delightful base for exploring Rio Lagartos' natural wonders. Mr. Felipe Gonzales and his lovely wife Elena are splendid hosts - affectionate and caring, attentive, always eager and willing to help. I wholeheartedly recommend this genuine hospitality experience.
Hana Ayala (Irvine, California)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Hana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Lagartos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tabasco Rio
Hotel Tabasco Rio
#3 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Perico Marinero
El Perico Marinero
#2 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
79 reviews
0 mi away
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
#1 of 6 in Rio Lagartos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Ponto
Hotel Punta Ponto
#4 of 6 in Rio Lagartos
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada y Restaurante Macumba
Posada y Restaurante Macumba
#2 of 6 in Rio Lagartos
14 reviews
0 mi away
Mercy Inns
Mercy Inns
#2 of 6 in Rio Lagartos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de Pescadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Pescadores

Address: Calle 14 x Av. Malecon, Rio Lagartos, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Rio Lagartos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio Lagartos
Price Range: $47 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de Pescadores 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Villa de Pescadores Hotel all our rooms have the same services: furnished front balcony terrace overlooking the sea, private bathroom w/hot-cold water, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, mosquito netting. Standard rooms have either 2 full size or 1 full + 1 individual beds. Superior rooms are on the top floor and have 1 king size bed.The hotel has a restaurant -for guests only- overlooking the sea, that serves outstanding "catch of the day" fish specialties, seafood & vegetarian dishes, and one of the best tasting coffee's you will find in Mexico. Upon request from our guests, the restaurant may open before dawn to provide coffee and coast to the early rising birding enthusiasts. Villa de Pescadores provides with no additional charge private parking and WiFi Internet access in the restaurant area. The hotel can arrange for its guests guided boat tours to visit the Ria Lagartos Biosphere Reserve, boat trips to enjoy the sunset from the Ria, guided bird watching excursions and sport fishing trips for fly or bottom fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa de Pescadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa De Pescadores Rio Lagartos, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing