We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Punta Ponto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Ponto
Ranked #3 of 5 Rio Lagartos B&B and Inns
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Proprietor very friendly and helpful. Had a room overlooking the sea, large and very clean, the American breakfast was great. Why more people don't visit this area, it has so much more than the Cancun/Tulum coast has to offer unless you just want to be in a hotel which could be anywhere else in the World. Excellent place to walk,fish,bird watch and visit the nearby villages, also the salt works.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the sea if possible, lovely breeze and don't need air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jvmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
32
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Large, comfortable, spotless rooms with air conditioning and television.
Enjoy the beautiful view of the lagoon while relaxing.
Roger and his staff went out of their way to make my stay unforgettable.
When I return to Rio Lagartos, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capicons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had booked by phone and a muchacho met us at the bus stop to guide us to the hotel, even though it was just up the end of the road and turn right! The host, Senor Roger, was a welcoming and relaxed man. As very light sleepers we had one small issue with aircon noise and he readily went around other rooms to find us a very quiet one, excellent!. Great view from the balcony as we ate breakfast (with binoculars). I would definately stay here again for the standard, cleanliness and value. A tip for birders, further along the road to the right (towards chel-ha bar) is a great place to watch roosting birds come in for the night.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Three of us rented a room for two nights in November. We checked rates and this was the best and we got a continental breakfast. We were birding and got breakfast at 6am. Very helpful staff, clean rooms, air conditioned and we bargained for a reduced rate because of the second night. Highly recommend this place. We had a veranda overlooking the water too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

I stayed in this hotel in december of 2008. The room was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the lagoon, flamingos were flying overhead at sunset. The bed was comfortable the room clean and the owners delightful. Breakfast was included and very good

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philkilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio Lagartos hotels
0.1 mi away
El Perico Marinero
El Perico Marinero
#2 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
#1 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tabasco Rio
Hotel Tabasco Rio
#3 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercy Inns
Mercy Inns
#1 of 5 in Rio Lagartos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Rio Lagartos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Ponto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Ponto

Property: Hotel Punta Ponto
Address: Ave Malecon No. 140, Rio Lagartos 97720-98, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Rio Lagartos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Lagartos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Ponto, waterfront view, a/c, 2 double beds in each room, parking area, clean and private bathroom, continental breakfast. We are located in the biophera reserve Ria Lagartos. 2-1/2 hours from Cancun, airport. 2 hours from Merida, Yucatan Airport. Flamingos, flyfish, ecotours available in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Ponto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Ponto Rio Lagartos, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing