We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Vieille Cheminee
Ranked #1 of 2 Chamarel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nestled in the mountains near Chamarel, La Vieille Cheminee offered a wonderful retreat for a few days. We stayed in the La Remise cottage, accommodating 2 to 3 people, but was most spacious. Rustic, well equipped and decorated to suit the environment, the cottage was very comfortable and homely. We had a fireplace on the terrace that we had opportunity to light both evenings in the chilly mountain air. It was rejuvenating to stay in, read, hear the crackle of the fire and sip red wine. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Place-a-Manger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

I visited here for the horse riding as a reasonably experienced rider. We went out on a 2 hours hack through the sub tropical landscape. In every way this was a great experience I would very much recommend it to experienced and beginner riders for the following reasons:
The horses are well looked after, the tack is in good condition. I would say the horses are a really good balance between lively, obedient and sure footed. They clearly enjoyed the run as much as the riders and did not spook at anything in spite of “exciting” terrain at times. It was one of the best rides I’d been on and I can say that having rode in many counties all over the world.
What made it extra special was that the lead rider, Christelle, is an expert in the flora and fauna and she was explaining all about the native plants. I smelt the leaves of fragrant plants, picked and ate the fruit from the trees and learnt so many interesting facts along the way. I am not normally that interested in botany but this was a brilliant added dimension to a brilliant ride. All the people there are very friendly and I am sure you will have a positive experience should you go. I’d go again for sure.

Room Tip: did not stay in the accommodation so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights, though based on the quality of service nearly left after (or during) the 1st. It wasn't that the service was bad, it was just missing. We were clearly the only guests and, in the middle of the 1st night, when the power went out and stayed out, it seemed we were the only people on the estate (or planet?). The lack of power meant stifling heat, lots of mossies, and a sudden fear of the dark!

The morning brought no explanation, no apologies - absolutely no people.
When we wandered down to the stables and met the stablehands it was clear they'd no idea the power had gone out as they don't stay on site. The manager who checked us in also hadn't stayed on site (and hadn't left a contact number for emergencies - entirely possible in a remote plantation), so I think we were indeed the only people there!

The location itself is lovely and the horse riding available was 1st rate (which is why we stayed on). The guide was wonderful and we had a great 3 hr trip through rainforest and pineapple fields. The individual cottage was also wonderful, though the kitchen could have done with a better clean and some candles.. The outdoor living area was absolutely charming (made good use of our own mosquito coils to sit out here), and the dip pool at the top of the hill is absolutely spectacular (all the more so for having it to ourselves).

When we left, an estate worker had to go to some effort and time to track down the manager who then struggled to cope with our paying by credit card (though agreed in advance) - no printer cartridge or pen had them promising to send the receipt in the post, which (no surprise) never arrived.

To us this place had amazing potential - wonderful setting and facility that could do with a shake up (sadly we also had quite a bit of confusion trying to book the place by email). The owner was building a house on the estate at the time (she was on site at least for part of our stay - saw her showing the building site on our last day), so perhaps the distraction was why service was so absent.

We so wanted to love this place and to recommend it accordingly - for eg. the hilltop overlooking the lush hills with its wonderful plunge pool and catering facilities, would make a wonderful setting for a romantic wedding - but the service would need some sorting (and we're pretty self-reliant types).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CornishCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VR83240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pierpolantoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceane_Cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamarel
5.2 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,084 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
4.5 mi away
Komaneka Villas
Komaneka Villas
#5 of 5 in Riviere Noire
9 reviews
27.6 mi away
Voile Bleue
Voile Bleue
#1 of 3 in Pointe Aux Piments
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Cheminee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Cheminee

Address: Route principale, Chamarel, Mauritius 99999
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Chamarel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chamarel
Price Range: $110 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vieille Cheminee 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the south west mountains of Chamarel, we offer overnight stays in fully equipped charming cottages. Guided horse rides and walks are proposed. Meals are on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Vieille Cheminee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Cheminee Chamarel, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing