We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in november 2011. We were upgraded to the Paul & Virginie Suite with private pool!! Just amazing. You definitely need a car for trips in this part of Mauritius. Rooms: luxerious, but one point of comment: there was no toilet paper holder in our bath room. Food: most of the times very good. Cocktails: overpriced. The location in the valley is quite impressive. After a renovation of a few months there are now extra sea facing and garden lodges available. High service. We were lucky to be invited on the opening party for the new built eco-lodges during our stay. Even the prime minister was present for this openig.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 771 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

Lakaz Chamarel is one of those examples where are nice location and nice rooms are not everything because at the end it is the people who make the difference. The whole atomsphere at the Lakaz can be described as depressing. The nice and friendly service we have experienced in South Africa was hard to find here, especially when French is not your native language. Staffs have done their job because the had to not because they wanted to. The general manager was running around as he would be the big boss creating a atosphere which is everything but comfortable. So overall rather disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk_MUC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Just got back from Mauritius and 3 nights at Lakaz, which was the right amount of time for us. The setting is spectacular, the bungalows are set amongst beautiful grounds, ours was overlooking the pond and had a private pool & terrace. It was so quiet & private (apart from our first night, when the frogs decided to have a very loud night-long concerto! not a problem, it was actually quite funny). The only downside for us were the mosquitoes, we didnt really see them or hear them but they were definitely around given the number of bites every day, despite using repellent (+ coil in the room and mosquitoe net round the bed), maybe we were unlucky, the other guests didnt seem to mind... the staff were great and gave us some cream & anti-histamine tablets which really helped. The service in general was brilliant and we really enjoyed the food, dinners were particularly good and the setting was very romantic & cosy, lots of lanterns, cushions, reminded me of Morocco. We hired a taxi for a few hours of sightseeing and otherwise stayed at Lakaz to relax. If you want to go hiking in the National park, make sure you have warm clothing and some waterproof, weather is very different here to the coast and the forest is very dense. We were pleased to have seen this side of the island.
Just a few notes; only toiletries were shower gel and soap, it'd be nice to have a little booklet of what's available in terms of activities, places of interests rather than having to go & ask all the time, (although the staff were very pleased to talk you through things... )

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed for four nights, which was about the right amount of time. We stayed in one of the rooms with a swimming pool and gorgeous outdoor shower and it was absolutely the most amazing experience. It was so unlike the rest of Mauritius, absolute care and pampering and it felt like there was no one else there.

It is an absolute hidden gem and definitely deserves all the rave reviews it has been given. It is the perfect place for a very romantic and private getaway.

Go & go soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisydoodle017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is the perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries. The place is just beatuiful situated in a small valley away from any street or crowds, the rooms are great (with outdoor showers!) and the service is just perfect. They take care of just everything for you. You can rent bikes to cycle the surrounding area, have a scooter or rental car organised for you to discover the island, go on a hike or just enjoy the view on your terrasse or take a dip in the pool. And if this is not enough, the food they serve for dinner is great.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Lakaz Chamarel is truly the most beautiful place in the world - the location is peaceful, the service is excellent and the bungolows are just marvelous - I loved the outdoor showers! You can rent bikes - they will also organize a scooter or car for you - go for a hike or just be lazy at one of the pools.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank 2002_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Perhaps a bit perverse to stay in a hotel away from the beach but didn't regret it at all. The hotel is high in the jungle and completely relaxing. There's a good library and a good chef so what else do you need (except mosquito coils and an umbrella). All the rooms are individually design and detatched from the restaurant. Nothing better than sitting in a leather armchair on a private verandah watching the sun go doen and the fruit bats coming out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanCPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamarel
5.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,087 reviews
33.9 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,893 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
34.4 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,470 reviews
30.3 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Address: Piton Canot, Chamarel, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Chamarel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Price Range: $227 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge is a small "boutique lodge"! Unique and refined in the heart of a splendid tropical garden of twelve hectares, surrounded by the mountains of Chamarel, Lakaz Chamarel is a pearl among the top hotels of the destination which guarantees exclusivity and serenity to nature and green tourism lovers in a warmth and harmonious decor, with a refined local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakaz Chamarel Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing