We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attention: lonly planet price is not correct”
Review of Breithorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breithorn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2009

the lonly planet (german version 2009) writes a wrong price,
in reality we paid 95€ each person and night
thats too much
the house is historic and nice but thats not enough at all
- the stay left a very bad taste!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank caminofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Breithorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in planning our daily hiking trips and recommended excellent restaurants. All rooms are nicely decorated/designed in a "wooden, chalet style" kind of way. Very cosy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I must say, the reason I have given the Breithorn only 1 star is due to the extremely bad taste that the experience has left us with. The hotel in itself is lovely, very elegant. Food good. Attention to detail. etc etc. No complaints there.

We stayed in a deluxe room (very small with no real 'deluxe' features - would have hated to see the classic rooms). The main problem with the hotel is the fact that the walls are paper thin with absolutely no sound proofing at all. You can hear people in the corridor talking and walking by, you can also hear the other residents quite clearly. This in itself was not a problem for us, as we can get over a bit of noise.

The problem is this: first night, 10pm, we received a telephone call from reception to tell us to keep the noise down. As we were only talking at a normal level we thought this must have been a mistake. However, the gentleman next door had made a complaint about us. My first thought was that both our door and the next door along were directly in front of the corridor and the lift so the next door neighbour had been mistaken, hearing the people outside not us. Anyhow, we stopped talking and put our lights out to sleep.

The next night we were called again to tell us to keep the noise down. We explained that we weren't making any noise, just merely speaking to each other!

In the morning when we awoke, we were called again by the reception to tell us that the manager wanted to speak to us. When we arrived at reception, a very stern man came out of his office and asked us to follow him. We were lead into another room and proceeded to scold us for making noise. He was extremely rude and deeply offended us - treating and speaking to us like children (we are both 36 years old). I have never been spoken to so disrespectfully. We were in complete disbelief!

We were informed that the guest next door, an Italian man who was paying 5000 euros, had threatened that he would not pay for his holiday if the manager did not do something about the noise. Not occurring to the manager that the guest was trying to get away with a free holiday, or that the fault actually lied within the fact that the walls were extremely thin, we were ultimately blamed for doing something that we did not do. We were not even asked about what we felt about the situation. Had the manager had any sort of management skills then he could have handled the situation very differently.

Being spoken to in this way completely shocked and intimidated me; tearful and somewhat angry, we left the hotel for the day. I was so upset by the experience and could not believe that someone had just spoken to me in this way. Being a beginner skier this completely knocked my confidence and I was too shaky to attempt to ski. This incident ruined my last day of skiing as, by the time I felt ok again, the snow was not good enough to ski on.

Similarly, our last night was terrible. Having to get up very early in the morning, we decided to stay in and get an early night. However, we had to spend the whole time walking on egg shells and wispering to each other. We rented a DVD and had it on so low that it was only just bearable, afraid that we would be complained about again.

During the whole of the DVD we could hear the next door neighbours over it, who were talking - not shouting or making unnecessary noise - but talking (as you expect that you can do normally when you go away). We asked the reception to come and listen so that they could see that the noise we had made was not unnecessary, which they did. They apologised and said they would tell the manager. Nothing happened. We were not apologised to, we checked out advising that we would be making a formal complaint about our treatment.

The Breithorn ruined half of our holiday, tainted the whole trip, and certainly left a bad taste. We may not have been paying 5000 euros for the weekend, but we did still pay a lot of money and should have been treated in the same way as any other guest. We now feel that we should have spent the money going elsewhere.

If you want to have any sort conversation (and certainly any fun!) whilst on holiday, then I suggest that you don't stay here. Not unless you wish to be spoken to as a child and belittled.

Once again, lovely hotel, but this is a fundamental flaw.

We will cetainaly not be staying again.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank lilmissmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I concur with other reviewers - a beautiful building, very alpine, wood everywhere. Initially my comment was "style over substance". I just felt something was missing, as if the hotel was resting on the laurels of it's beautiful architecture.

We were greeted by the hotel manager upon arrival, after that he failed to acknowledge us. The "bar" is set up in the lounge, i.e., bottles are bought out and put away after a certain amount of time. I attempted to get a couple of glasses of wine at about 9.30 one evening, and had to wait about 10/15mins until the bar tender could be located. During breakfast one morning (early) the cereal bowls at the buffett were empty - we were told they had run out! (Note, there's a supermarket just up the hill). We had booked a "superior" room, but given the age of the hotel, it was a tiny room, with shower over bath, double bed and hardly space to store your clothes and empty suitcase.

So I think it is over-rated, even though it is a gorgeous building.

Oh and it is just a short 7min walk uphill to the main lift for ski-ing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We spent five nights at the Breithorn after moving from the Hotel La Rouja for two nights. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a wood motif. There are several types of rooms. We had a double superior with a small sitting room. It had plenty of storage for our ski clothes and other belongings. The shower was large and the bathroom had everything you would need. There was a safe but it didn't work. The TV had a several stations in English and free wireless internet. The signal for the wireless internet worked sporadically in our room but worked fine in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and the room had a balcony with two windows with a partial view of the mountains.
We opted for b&b and enjoyed breakfast. They cooked us eggs each morning and had the usual choices of croissant, breads, yogurt and cereal in a buffet setting.
Every day when we returned from skiing they had cookies and cakes set out on the bar which was a nice touch. In the early evening they had free hors d'oeuvres and when we returned from dinner they had all kinds of after dinner drinks available. It was nice sitting near the fireplace enjoying the food and drinks after a great day of skiing.
There was a sauna and Jacuzzi downstairs next to the restaurant. The hotel was less than a ten minute walk to the gondola. The hotel offered a free ski guide one day and some other day and evening activities including snow shoe walks and tours of the local area.
They also had a brasserie where we had fondue one night. The fondue was excellent but the owner is quite fond of Bruce Springsteen so that was the only music they played all night. It was playing constantly, even apres ski.
The skiing was excellent as we had at least two feet of snow while we were there and the area had plenty of skiing for a week.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Have just return from a week’s skiing in Chapoluc staying at the Breithorn ‘Best Hotel in Town’. This hotel is great – front he moment you walk through the door you know you are going to be well looked after. Staff are very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We booked into a classic room (the cheapest they do) and were very impressed, well equipped looked like it had been recently refurbished and a comfy big bed, good bathroom and powerful shower. Lobby had an open fire and bar service, not the cheapest beer in town but served with delicious nibbles. The hotel has ski and boot storage right under the main lift so you don’t need to cart ski stuff up the road. Very central position although Champoluc isn’t very big anyway. We went B&B as wanted to try the local restaurants – breakfast was great! Skiing was very good and I would recommend to anyone who’d listen. Will definitely return one day I hope.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

While Champoluc is not the most beautiful of european alpine resorts, its skiing is simply wonderful, its setting is stunning and it can boast a world class hotel like the Breithorn.

The hotel itself is one of the oldest structures in the village and has perfectly retained its alpine ambience with charming wood & stone interiors.

The service was impeccable- the staff, such as Fulvia, Katia and Alex went out of their way to help out with all requests.

Our room, a prestige suite, was clean, spacious and well maintained, with plenty of room for storage of clothes, bags, etc. We particularly enjoyed the evening turn down where we were always supplied with fresh towels, local biscuits and even a weather forecast for the following day!

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and we enjoyed the late service time (up to 10:30 am)

Our only negative note was the New Years Dinner- the service was amazing but the food disappointing...

All in all this was an almost perfect stay- my wife and I are experienced and fussy travelers and to have found a hotel that we are actually planning to return to soon says a lot about the Breithorn.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GlobalJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Champoluc
Hotel de Champoluc
#13 of 17 in Champoluc
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#7 of 17 in Champoluc
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breithorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breithorn Hotel

Address: Via Ramey 27, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champoluc
#3 Luxury Hotel in Champoluc
Hotel Class:4 star — Breithorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Breithorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breithorn Hotel Champoluc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing