We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undeniably beautiful, but is this enough?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breithorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breithorn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Undeniably beautiful, but is this enough?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

I concur with other reviewers - a beautiful building, very alpine, wood everywhere. Initially my comment was "style over substance". I just felt something was missing, as if the hotel was resting on the laurels of it's beautiful architecture.

We were greeted by the hotel manager upon arrival, after that he failed to acknowledge us. The "bar" is set up in the lounge, i.e., bottles are bought out and put away after a certain amount of time. I attempted to get a couple of glasses of wine at about 9.30 one evening, and had to wait about 10/15mins until the bar tender could be located. During breakfast one morning (early) the cereal bowls at the buffett were empty - we were told they had run out! (Note, there's a supermarket just up the hill). We had booked a "superior" room, but given the age of the hotel, it was a tiny room, with shower over bath, double bed and hardly space to store your clothes and empty suitcase.

So I think it is over-rated, even though it is a gorgeous building.

Oh and it is just a short 7min walk uphill to the main lift for ski-ing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    32
    8
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We spent five nights at the Breithorn after moving from the Hotel La Rouja for two nights. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a wood motif. There are several types of rooms. We had a double superior with a small sitting room. It had plenty of storage for our ski clothes and other belongings. The shower was large and the bathroom had everything you would need. There was a safe but it didn't work. The TV had a several stations in English and free wireless internet. The signal for the wireless internet worked sporadically in our room but worked fine in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and the room had a balcony with two windows with a partial view of the mountains.
We opted for b&b and enjoyed breakfast. They cooked us eggs each morning and had the usual choices of croissant, breads, yogurt and cereal in a buffet setting.
Every day when we returned from skiing they had cookies and cakes set out on the bar which was a nice touch. In the early evening they had free hors d'oeuvres and when we returned from dinner they had all kinds of after dinner drinks available. It was nice sitting near the fireplace enjoying the food and drinks after a great day of skiing.
There was a sauna and Jacuzzi downstairs next to the restaurant. The hotel was less than a ten minute walk to the gondola. The hotel offered a free ski guide one day and some other day and evening activities including snow shoe walks and tours of the local area.
They also had a brasserie where we had fondue one night. The fondue was excellent but the owner is quite fond of Bruce Springsteen so that was the only music they played all night. It was playing constantly, even apres ski.
The skiing was excellent as we had at least two feet of snow while we were there and the area had plenty of skiing for a week.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

Have just return from a week’s skiing in Chapoluc staying at the Breithorn ‘Best Hotel in Town’. This hotel is great – front he moment you walk through the door you know you are going to be well looked after. Staff are very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We booked into a classic room (the cheapest they do) and were very impressed, well equipped looked like it had been recently refurbished and a comfy big bed, good bathroom and powerful shower. Lobby had an open fire and bar service, not the cheapest beer in town but served with delicious nibbles. The hotel has ski and boot storage right under the main lift so you don’t need to cart ski stuff up the road. Very central position although Champoluc isn’t very big anyway. We went B&B as wanted to try the local restaurants – breakfast was great! Skiing was very good and I would recommend to anyone who’d listen. Will definitely return one day I hope.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

While Champoluc is not the most beautiful of european alpine resorts, its skiing is simply wonderful, its setting is stunning and it can boast a world class hotel like the Breithorn.

The hotel itself is one of the oldest structures in the village and has perfectly retained its alpine ambience with charming wood & stone interiors.

The service was impeccable- the staff, such as Fulvia, Katia and Alex went out of their way to help out with all requests.

Our room, a prestige suite, was clean, spacious and well maintained, with plenty of room for storage of clothes, bags, etc. We particularly enjoyed the evening turn down where we were always supplied with fresh towels, local biscuits and even a weather forecast for the following day!

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and we enjoyed the late service time (up to 10:30 am)

Our only negative note was the New Years Dinner- the service was amazing but the food disappointing...

All in all this was an almost perfect stay- my wife and I are experienced and fussy travelers and to have found a hotel that we are actually planning to return to soon says a lot about the Breithorn.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Liked — Just about everything
  • Disliked — The New Years Dinner & the smoky smell in our room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

When we were planning our trip to Italy, we asked a friend who had lived in Milan if he had a recommendation for a place to stay in The Alps...he suggested Champoluc, but not a specific hotel. We found The Breithorn on a Google search and were very impressed with their website. When booking our stay the empolyees, especially Fulvia, were very responsive and helpful. We love quaint little hotels with lots of character and The Breithorn delivered! The rooms were very inviting and I loved the bathroom so much that I took pictures and may replicate the decor at home! We had our two older girls with us and were given an oversize room that had plenty of space for all of us. I really can't say enough about the service here, everyone exceeded our expectations. When staying here, you need to eat at the hotel restaurant "The Brasserie" (make a reservation at least the morning of) and have the cheese and meat fondues ("raclette" and "bourgonion" (sp?))...it was the highlight of our visit. Champoluc is definitely off the beaten path if you're American (which we love), so don't expect most people in town to speak a lot of English, but it was a beautiful little town and well worth the small effort to get there. I'd love to go back to The Breithorn during ski season as Monte Rosa seemed like a nice place to ski.

  • Liked — The beautiful decor and spacious room
  • Disliked — No high speed internet connection, just dial-up
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KMarie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

We have stayed at the Breithorn now on two occasions and each visit has been fantastic. The hotel and staff are first rate and the rooms are very comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. The service and food in the restaurant is excellent and you are spoilt for choice from the locally sourced menu. Champoluc is a great place to ski although I am trying to keep this resort quiet so that the world as his dog doesn't spoil it for me! I have been lucky enough to experience some great hotels and countries and this one is bang on at the top!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lord-Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#8 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Rocher
Le Rocher
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breithorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breithorn Hotel

Property: Breithorn Hotel
Address: Via Ramey 27, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champoluc
#3 Luxury Hotel in Champoluc
Hotel Class:4 star — Breithorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Breithorn Hotel Champoluc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing