We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Breithorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breithorn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We came all the way from Hong Kong to Champoluc because some British
friends told us how good was the nicest Hotel of the Village, Breithorn
Hotel.
It was not nice, was great: beautiful old building perfectly restored, warm
and competent hospitality, professional and kind staff, excellent Italian
food.
The hotel is close to the sloops (5 minutes walking) and the hotel takes
care of the skis and boots.
A positive experience which we will repeat

Shalin Wong
Hong Kong

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalinwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    32
    8
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My children and I stayed there for 1 week at the end of the ski season (beginning of April 2012). The hotel is beautiful but like the previous review, I found that the staff was very cold, polite but with no heart at all! Lack of warmth in the service for the price you pay. We felt also that staff could not wait to close the hotel for the end of season.
We liked our family room although quite small for 4 persons.
No WI FI in the room, why?
No room for children to gather and play after skiing or in the evening.
The food was nice but nothing special and VERY salty... we had to ask all the time to avoid the salt wherever they could.
We would like to come back to Champoluc because it is a great small family friendly resort but we will try another hotel, more children friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Del71London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed at the Breithorn four nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel was very confortable, even staying at the smallest room. Bed linen and pillows were top; room was spotless and extremely well made up everyday. Staff was very nice and helpfull; decoration was nice and cosy. There are a few issues that could be improved: music was always present and not to our taste; wifi system confusing (we were constantly login in) and only in the lobby; restaurant so-so; overall we had a very nice experience and hope to go back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbadinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I went to Champoluc to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary and decided to stay at the Breithorn Hotel. The room was very traditional and cozy with a nice view of the mountains and we enjoyed the afternoon tea along with the other guests in the lobby every afternoon. We hade the complemantary meal package which we enjoyed but perhaps would not have chosen if we would go there again. However we had the opportunity to have our complementary dinner one night at the "sister hotel" the Mascognaz, a very charming farm which has been turned to a fabulous hotel, located a fifteen minute snowmobile ride up the mountain. That place is indeed worth a visit. The skiing in Champoluc is great and we enjoyed the long runs down to Alagna for example.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel by "accident" ??? We had booked Hotelleriere de Mascognaz online and were very excited to stay there. We drove to the address they gave us and ended up at Breighthorn very confused. They informed us the Macognaz was closed for the season/renovations so we were moved without our knowledge to their sister hotel. We were pretty annoyed that they didnt inform us of this during booking but think they were in need of guests so kept us in the dark till we were there. At first we were upset but the front desk girl had amazing customer service skills and fixed it. She let us tour a few different rooms and gave us a choice. We ended up with a beautiful room with two balconies and great views! We were there for our honeymoon so she also surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room later. The hotel is very beautiful and in a great location. Room was very large. We ended up being very happy with it. Loved the down comforters, robes, slippers! Very cozy place! We didnt experience any noise problems but there also werent very many other guests this time of year.

The only complaint we have is the food. It was soooooo salty we couldnt eat most of it. The guests sitting near us had the same problem. It was more of a French cuisine than Italian, which was fine. Some of the food would have been good if it had been edible. Each bite tasted like a mouthful of salt. Such a shame because its such a beautiful restuarant. I would suggest B&B over halfboard and eating somewhere else if you are given the choice. We had lunch at Osteria il Balivo the next day and it was spectacular!

If we go back we will try once again to stay at Macognaz but if not possible would stay again at the Breighthorn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinoalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West mersea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

A great hotel close to the ski slopes.
Room was very comfortable with balcony so we were able to grab some sunshine at the end of the day.
We were half board and found the evening meals substantial but uninspired - stodgy, lacking seasoning with few vegetables and bowls of limp salad which were recycled every day.
There was plenty to chose from at breakfast but the pots of coffee were luke warm and the lack of a lid did not help matters.
The Jacuzzi was not very warm and always full of kids. Adults pay the full price and should be given priority. Thankfully we had a bath and were able to soak our aches away after a hard day's skiing.
We loved the character of the hotel but would recommend bed and breakfast rather than half board. Go to a local bar for apperitifs you'll get more interesting local foods as appetisers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisallan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Very pleasant 4-star hotel at reasonable prices. The rooms are small and characterful, as observed by previous correspondents but not as noisy as others have claimed. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is good with adequate choice in the daily menu. There is an option to eat in the brasserie next door or take a trip on a skidoo up the mountain to try a fondue or raclette. The small sauna and jacuzzi are just the thing after a day's skiing. The hotel offers a facility to deposit skis and boots in the ski shop next to the lift, which is about 300m from the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerhound9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#5 of 17 in Champoluc
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rouja
Hotel La Rouja
#16 of 17 in Champoluc
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breithorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breithorn Hotel

Property: Breithorn Hotel
Address: Via Ramey 27, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champoluc
#3 Luxury Hotel in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breithorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Breithorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breithorn Hotel Champoluc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing