We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple accomodation, great skiing”
Review of Le Campagnol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Campagnol
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend at the end of half term week when not much was available. Booked through the (excellent) Ski2. The hotel is clean, well maintained, well run - but with just a little more care and attention it would be a real gem.

For example our room was OK, but felt rather like a broken sauna - unbroken panelling of wood on ceiling, walls and parquet floors where some simple art on the walls, a couple of rugs, some nicer bedding would have made it feel more homely while still being classic Valdostana.

The Italian obsession with bright lighting in public extends to the bar and dining room - again, some softer lighting, a lit fire, a little investment in Alpine gewgaws would have made it so much more welcoming.

Then, after dinner, a group of Dutch guests (normally so socially adept) insisted on turning on the TV in the bar, which was right behind our chairs, so we felt compelled to leave.

Staff are excellent; Dani the proprietoress is friendly and on top of the running of the hotel; food is plentiful and carefully made, if obviously created to a pretty tight budget.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Crest lift, and (roughly) 15 minutes from the Frechey funicular. Great if you leave your skis at a ski shop near the lift base, but a problem if you want to switch between lifts.

The village is pretty, with some good food shops and a couple of good restaurants.

Room Tip: There's no lift - so bear in mind if high floors present a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T5isHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Le Campagnol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at this friendly family hotel for 7 days. We were 5 families, in total 24 people and we were well taken care of. The personnel was extremly friendly. The rooms were simple but clean and fairly large. The only thing that was sometimes an issue was the lack of hot water when showering (probably due to that our large group all showered at the same time). Breakfast was great and the dinners were WONDERFUL; salad, soup or pasta, main course and always a very tasty dessert. The hotel was located close to the Frachey train, and there was a shuttle service to the train.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank barbarabattolla1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maurizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: secondo piano con balcone
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Francesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Champoluc
Hotel de Champoluc
#13 of 17 in Champoluc
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#7 of 17 in Champoluc
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna Maria
Hotel Villa Anna Maria
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Campagnol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Campagnol

Address: Strada Regionale 45 1, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Campagnol 2*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing