We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good exterior design but terrible rooms and food”
Review of Hotel Castor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castor
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, good exterior design but terrible rooms and food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We didn't like much this hotel with narrow rooms, elevator where one man can hardly stand. Food ok but very simple choice. The rooms are very small and old. There are some new rooms as we discovered but you should have an Italian privilege to stay there as women who hosts the hotel doesn't smile at all only to her Italian fellows. Never recommend this hotel to spend a vacation may be 1 night during business trip..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enikolaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The best part of this hotel is the ultimately friendly and helpful staff. The room was not the biggest one for a family, but most of the time was spent in the slopes so it did not matter that much. Dinner and breakfast was good. The hotel has storage for skis, but if you rent you can store the skis in the rental that is just next to the ski lift. I would come again and book two rooms for our family of four.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angrybird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our group of six adults and five children had a fabulous holiday at the Hotel Castor. Herman and Bea couldn't be more welcoming, and their staff are exceptionally good - nothing is too much trouble. This is a beautiful and very family-friendly place - our kids (6-13) loved the downstairs playroom, the bar/lounge is deservedly popular, and our family rooms were cosy, comfy and impeccably clean.

Herman's expertly-chosen wine cellar is a big plus at dinner time (do ask him to recommend the best wine for your food) and the infamous music night on Tuesday is not to be missed - look out for Chris the barman with the voice of an angel!

We would also have to mention the fabulous Stefania and Luciano on reception: I really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Champoluc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before the Christmas. The hotel stuff is fluent in English and very friendly. They offer a set menu at the restaurant which is pretty nice and varies every day. The room was quite small but very cozy with wood walls, wood floors and wood furniture. We had a room on the last floor facing the piazza and the valley. View was amazing.
This hotel is in the center of the town so you can reach basically every place with a short walk. We did not ski in this trip, however the slope were very close (5 min walk away).
We'll stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Get a room facing the piazza. The view is amazing in the winter. If you are lucky you will see why t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Hotel Castor is an authentic, friendly and traditional family run hotel which is excellent value for money. The hotel is located in the centre of Champoluc a five minute walk from the ski lifts. The rooms are spacious and clean whilst the complimentary breakfast is excellent. The sole drawback is dinner which is slightly disappoitning and more akin to school dinners.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VoyageurIrlandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed for a week in this lovely hotel in Champoluc, a few minutes walk from the slopes. Just enough for our 4 year old to walk each morning. The family who run the hotel are friendly and have the most amazing staff - the maitre' d and waiters/waitresses were all wonderful and so kind to our children they looked forward to seeing them each morning and evening - and missed them if they had a day off! The food was delicious and very fresh, portions on the large side although managed four courses each night :-) Kids ate from the same menu and our fussy eaters ended up enjoying nearly everything on the menu. Our only gripe was the lack of bath for the kids however the shower was fine and we were kindly offered a change of room when one became available a couple of days later. We turned this down as we had unpacked and were pretty settled in our family room. The two childrens beds were in little corners off the main sleeping area which was a good layout and they felt like they had their own room. Bedroom and shower room immaculate and housekeeping excellent. Water was not always hot as I like to shower in but this was probably in high demand times for water. Beds (kingsize) fresh and reasonably comfortable. Decor lovely in rooms and public areas. lots of charm and attention to detail. The kids loved the playroom just below the bar area which meant we could hear them play as we enjoyed our apres ski and newspapers! We had a fantastic week and would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. There are 4* hotels in the area but we are not convinced they would match the Castor for overall holiday experience. We noticed the hotel offered an injured skier some crutches that they had in storage and were very helpful with any requests. The slopes were excellent although I would say pretty challenging for beginners. The views from the hotel and walking to the slopes are breathtaking. Everything is unbelievable value - strikingly good for a ski resort. We booked through ski2 who we would highly recommend, very professional and everything arranged seamlessly for us including bubbly and a hamper with childrens play books and pencils in the minibus transfer to the resort which took about two hours from Malpensa airport. They also arranged equipment hire and lessons, lunch vouchers for the mountain restaurants and creche. We hope Champoluc stays relatively unchanged as it is perfect the way it is - I have heard people talking about this resort being a well kept secret, shhh...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFickleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This family run hotel is about 10 minutes stroll from the ski lifts. The room we had was newly refurbished, spacious and full of pretty Alpine touches with a fabulous view of the mountains. We had a huge comfy bed with great fluffy pillows - unusual in Italy. The food was to a high standard with an emphasis on local cooking style and a hot breakfast was available if desired. The bar was friendly with welcoming sofas and armchairs and seemed to be a bit of a gathering spot for local (non Italien) workers. The staff were smiling and helpful, mostly Italien with some Brits.
Champoluc is charming and quiet with flattering skiing. We have been to the Castor twice and would not stay anywhere else in the village.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvethaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#7 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Champoluc
Hotel de Champoluc
#8 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castor

Property: Hotel Castor
Address: Via Ramey 2, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castor 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Castor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing