We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Chill Out!”
Review of Le Rocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Rocher
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed this March 2014 in the Le Rocher for a weeks skiing . I cannot recommend it enough for a totally relaxing experience with superb food and great hosts and staff who were all so friendly and where nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic 'wellness' centre with sauna, stream room and jacuzzi to eae away the sore muscles!

Champoluc is a great place to ski if you want quiet pistes and great, good value, coffee stops at half the price of French resorts!

We cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCornthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. Wonderful welcome from Guilio and Lotta and all of the staff. Arrived in perfect time to have delicious and relaxing dinner in the lovely dining room. Bar is convivial and friendly with lots of corners for chats, games of cards and a bigger space for important football screening!

We stayed in one of the suites this time; It was really comfortable and spacious with beautiful views. As ever, it was very clean and well cared for. Big TV with Sky in main room and DVD player in second room.

Food really good, big table with lots of interesting starters then primi piatti and secondi piatti that you choose at breakfast. Everything was really delicious! A beautiful cake or other dolce laid out every day or fresh fruit, delicious cheeses, nuts, fruit pickles to nibble before retiring to the bar. We had the added bonus of the annual San Valentino Dinner with not only a spectacular dinner but even more flowers and extra present!
Breakfast is a spread of croissants, rolls, cereals, eggs, cheese, ham fruit juices and also hot bacon, sausage, scrambled egg.

You get so well looked after here. ALL of the staff are lovely and Fulvia is so excellent at making sure that no details are over looked. It also seems to attract really nice guests. She organised transport to and from Milan!

I love it and have returned on many occasions. The skiing is great, miles of quiet slopes and wonderful views.

Room Tip: The suite is lovely and quiet with glorious views. It was bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a long weekend here just before Christmas. The service was warm and friendly. The room was small with a loft area that had a single bed which was perfect for our daughter to sleep in. There was free wifi which we made good use of in the evenings while we sat in front of the fireplace and had a pre dinner drink. The hotel was also super quick to respond when I got in touch with them after we returned home as I thought I had lost the charger for my headphones. Would definitely go stay there again. The location was perfect, just a little ways out of town, it was still walking distance. On the Sunday afternoon, my daughter and I enjoyed a day I will remember for a long time, we decided to call it quits skiing at around 2pm and then walked back from the ski slopes at Frachey to La Rocher through the forest and alongside the river, the scenery was just spectacular and we had a ball making snow angels, throwing snowballs and as we trekked through the snow back to our hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsKat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at new years'eve. Hotel is very good looking, new, cosy, in quiet location. Outside of Champoluc, distance to city almost 1 km, but we liked that because Champoluc was too busy and noisy in this time period (there are really big traffic jams in the morning and in the evening, specially over the weekend, as this place attracts many people from Milan and Turin who come just for one day). Hotel service (checking, cleaning, shuttle service) was excellent. This hotel has a little, but very good spa area, just right size for this type of hotel, Food could be better and you can for sure get a nicer dinner outside the hotel, in restaurants.
What we didn't like at this hotel was:
- cold inside the rooms (radiators cold for most of the day and night, temperature in the room dropped below 20C many times, you can't dry your stuff which got wet during skiing)
- hairdryer is useless (no power, just does not do the job)
- noisy rooms during the day if you stay in rooms above restaurant (you can here chairs moving...a lot).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabriel_k99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of days and got a very good rate before ski season started in earnest. Our room was a decent size, spotlessly clean, with a good bathroom. Beds were good and room very well heated.
Service was excellent with prompt check in. Breakfast was good (typical continental fare so don't expect eggs bacon). Great croissants, coffee a bit sludgy but does the job in the morning.
Hotel is located about a ten minute walk from town centre. I walked back in my ski boots from ski lift no problem but they do offer drop-off and pick-up morning and evening.
Building is in the local grey stone and timber, located in a scenic setting. Warm and inviting relaxation areas, slightly spoilt by piped rap music. More discrete music would better suit the place IMHO.
Spa, steam room and sauna were all very clean and welcome after a day skiing.
Due to lots of timber construction noise can carry. This is typical of the alpine areas and wasn't a problem when we were there as they were not busy and our fellow guests were well behaved but it might be a problem should there be rowdy people near you.
Champoluc and the Monterosa are amazing and the skiing was out of this world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juddernaut68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed there for six days beginning of February and enjoyed every minute!

This hotell has the most friendly and service minded owners and staff you can think of. Their attitude made us feel welcome already from the first minute we entered the hotell.

The skiing was fantastic, good and well-kept pists, well functioning lifts and luckely perfect snow. At the end of the week the sun was there for us as well.

Although the hotell is not placed in the village or close to the ski lifts, this was not a problem. The owners and staff was ready to give you a ride to either of the two main lifts and got you back when the day was over. In case you wanted to visite Champoluc, a short stroll of 5-10 minutes through a beautiful forrest with lights and wooden sculptures took you there.
BTW We had lunch one day at the really fine restaurant Osteria Balivo, do that if you visite here!

We had chosen half board and did not regret this. Generous breakfast, far away from the continental ones. Dinner gave you the typical Italian setup with anti pasti, primo and secondi piatti, cheese and dolce. Multiple choices for first and second courses. All very well cooked and served. Oh, the wine list was generous as wellyed with the Aosta valley ones and enjoyed this.
Yes, one more thing - Le Rocher is known in the are for the good deserts :-).

Every evening we used the spa which was included in the price. Turkish and Swedish saunas, Italian bubble bath and a good relax area. Woao! It was also a nice place to meet an talk to fellow guests.

If anything, the weekest part probably are the rooms. They are maybe not the biggest, the beds are somewhat hard and you can hear noice though the walls and from the corridor. It is however kept very tidy every day, doing the beds etc. Towels, soap etc was replace at least ones or when needed.

So - All-in-all - If visiting Champoluc - Stay at Le Rocher!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just came back from a long weekend in Champoluc with my colleagues. We stayer 4 nights at Le Rocher and it was excellent. We arrived 10 pm and some of us were hungry and there were sandwiches and fruits in our room. Very nice! The room and the bathroom was clean also there were bath robes and slippers. The breakfast had nice selections of breads, yogurts, fruits, corn freaks, ham, cheese and boiled egg. I especially liked their croissant. They had normal croissant and also chocolate croissant. The dinner is very nice too. At the breakfast, you can make a selection for the first and second course. There are three dishes to choose from. The dishes were tasty and we were very full every evening. The dinner starts with a very nice buffet of antipasti. I think there were about 20 different kinds of antipasti on the buffet table. The staff at the reception and at the restaurant were very kind and attentive. The hotel is located not so far away from the slope but the hotel provides a lift close to the gondola station. We usually went by a hotel mini bus in the morning and walked back after skiing. There is a nice walking path in the woods from the gondola station/town to the hotel and it takes just 10-15 minutes to walk. The spa at the basement is very nice too. It's not so big but there are steam sauna, sauna, jacuzzi and aroma shower. You can go down with the bath robe that is provided at the room. If I have a chance to go back to Champoluc, I will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, good to avoid a room by the elevator. I stayed at the room 105 and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyPinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rouja
Hotel La Rouja
#14 of 17 in Champoluc
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rocher

Address: Loc. Villy 10, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rocher 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel accogliente appena fuori da Champoluc, sulla strada per Frachey, con bellissimo giardino, camere accoglienti, Spa funzionale e ottimo ristorante ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing