We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect escape”
Review of Le Rocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Rocher
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We had our fifth stay at this hotel this February. Le Rocher is a relaxed, quiet hotel with lovely owners Giulio and Lotta. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower rooms are sparklingly clean! The staff are pleasant and quiet and thorough.
Dinner is great with a buffet of starters followed by two courses ordered in the morning at breakfast. The buffet means that hungry kids can graze from their arrival. Really lovely wine list too. Pudding is something gorgeous like a tiramisu or nuts and fruit and cheese. The restau was particularly good during our visit and there was a really nice St Valentine's dinner with wonderful flowers and decorations. Staff are really fab about food probs as I have to avoid some food groups and this can be a pain.
Although dinner is included, you can arrange to go elsewhere if you give advance notice.
There is a bar with woodburning stove, perfect for relaxing. There is a nearby tv where you can play dvds and various games and packs of cards. I have watched my sons sitting playing cards with friends met over dinner.
The hotel attracts really nice guests, Italians and Swedes to mirror the owners nationalities but is also used by companies like ski 2 and one of my favourite things about staying there is that I have met really nice and interesting people.
You can get a lift to the slopes but there is a short but scenic walk through the woods past some wonderful wood carvings.
G&L make the stay very simple and can arrange pick up from the airport, ski hire and advise about ski passes. They are so lovely and make you feel very welcome. There is a spa but I'm not a spa person so not a clue!
I love the skiing, the views and the mountainside restaus. I love that people in the village always remember you too.
Very laid back and charming, I love it and so do my kids and my husband.

Room Tip: great for an independent ski trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Many things seemed to have changed when I compare with a review from 2009! The rooms have hairdryers, no lack of towels, we got new soaps etc. A very nice spa with 2 sorts of sauna, a bubble pool and comfortable chairs where you could relax. Every dinner started with a delicious buffet with antipasti and then there were several choices for first and second courses. The only complaints were that the beds are a little bit hard and you have to be aware that the hotel is located outside Champoluc but it is only about a 10 minutes walk to town. The advantage is that it is very quiet in the night. The staff drives you every morning to the ski lift and when you call in the afternoon they turned up after a few minutes to pick you up and drive you back to the hotel! A very nice bar with an open fire at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pulmonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The first impressions were really good. Hotel looks really good and new, rooms are quite small (italian standard I think) but very clean and each room as their own balcony, the spa with hamam and jaccuzzi is really nice and the owner was nice. There is a free garage for parking. The location is beautiful with a nice view but a bit more off than you get the impression of from the website. It is located outside Champoluc (it takes 10-20 minutes to walk into Champoluc either through a walkway through the forrest, which took longer due to the amount of wet snow there, or along a dark road). We had a rental car but sometimes wanted to enjoy good wine so did not take the car. There is a shuttle bus one hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon to the ski lifts, which we did not use.

However, soon the lack of many small things (each one of them could have been acceptable if it had been the only flaw) made our stay a less good one. Most of these things should be possible to fix quite easily, so this hotel definitely has potential: There is no real hairdryer even to borrow (only the worst possible kind they have in some hotels, which takes an hour for you hair to dry), there was no iron or ironing board to borrow, we did not receive any more soap or schampoo after the first day when it was finished (we stayed for more than a week), there were almost never any towels in the spa (when asked for some, we were told to get our towels from the room...), towels did not dry in our room due to some problems with heating in our bathroom, you could not get anything at all (no sandwiches, snacks) to eat after you got back from skiing, you were not allowed to choose a table in the restaurant for breakfast even though most of the tables were free, and there were no chairs on the room balcony to enjoy the afternoon sun and the nice view. It is also very noisy: The wooden floors in the corridors are really nice, but without some kind of mats, we heard every single person in our corridor and above us going to and from their rooms (we are not early birds and are not the first ones in the slopes in the mornings...) We also heard chairs being moved from the restaurant two floors below us. The service we received was really bad. You get the impression that some of the employees really did not want to do what they were there for (but rather go skiing themselves.) You felt you were bothering them by asking for something. On our last day, we slept in and arrived at breakfast at 09.40 am (breakfast is supposed to be served until 10 am) and found that the breakfast buffet had been completely removed and when we asked, the waiter asked us what time it was. When we told him he got some of the food for us but was apparently annoyed.

We also tried out the hotel restaurant one night, and event though the price was ok, we were not very impressed. There are several resataurants in the area that can offer considerably better food, service and ambience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesco_1987_Ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank massimiliano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Rouja
Hotel La Rouja
#14 of 17 in Champoluc
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rocher

Address: Loc. Villy 10, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rocher 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel accogliente appena fuori da Champoluc, sulla strada per Frachey, con bellissimo giardino, camere accoglienti, Spa funzionale e ottimo ristorante ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing