We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Champoluc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Champoluc
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've just returned from our 2nd visit to Champoluc - this first was for Christmas 2011. Stayed at this hotel both times. The hotel sits right at the bottom of the piste, a short walk across and you're in the boot room. Main gondola beeps in the morning so you can hear it from your balcony - couldnt be any closer!! The rooms are a good size, plenty of wardrobe space/drawers, tv with satellite channels, balcony and decent bathroom - with a bath!! Great to have a soak after a hard day skiing. The food is excellent, various hot options for breakfast along with the usual continental buffet. Evening meal consists of a cold buffet table, at least 3 different pasta dishes and various main courses - meat, fish and veggie options. Plenty of gorgeous deserts and cheese if you ask nicely! The bar area is nice in the evening, but there are also a couple of good local bars very close by - one across the road, and Autelier Gourmand just a bit further along. Both are very good for apres drinks and get quite lively! The hotel staff are great; they work very hard in the restaurant, then cleaning the rooms, clearing snow from the front, all very cheerful and always say hello. If you want anything just ask! The boot/ski locker room is downstairs with heated boot racks. The locker room can only be accessed with a swipe card so only hotel guests can get in there. Really can't fault the hotel or the staff or the food or anything!! And as for the skiing around Monte Rosa area - wow!! As the previous reviewer said, we've been totally spoilt now by empty well groomed pistes, great food on the mountain, and the wonderful italian people!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front look over the gondola, whereas rooms at the back get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    66
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks ski-ing in Champoluc, staying at the Hoel de Champoluc.
I have never said this before, but I can find NO fault anywhere!
The hotel was superb - well furnished, spacious rooms, excellent food! & great atmosphere! Also overlooking the gondola station, so effectively ski-in. SO convenient, & quiet!
The resort - BRILLIANT! Effectively no queues all week. Loads of great pistes & mountain restaurants at fair prices.
There is NOTHING I can say against this resort & hotel, other than now we have been REALLY spoilt & don't know where the hell to go next!
BUT DON'T TELL ANYONE!

Room Tip: All seem good - we had 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graham y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely hotel with nice rooms, very clean, plenty of wardrobe space and surface area for all those bits and pieces! A bit ski worn but no more than expected.
Ensuite with bath and shower over with plenty of towels and good lighting over mirror. Hairdryer weak, but I knew this from a previous review, and took my own.
Comfortable public bar/ lounge area with ample seating.I enjoyed the food, a lot of variety and nice house wine. All the staff were friendly and efficient.
Hotel central for exploring the village. Secure ski storage and warm boots in the basement and close to the lift/ piste. Well organised Crystal holiday, hope we can go again!

Room Tip: We were situated looking out the back of the hotel which was quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pip97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for a week 13th January on a Crystal package deal.
Perfect location, right next to main lift station.
Rooms are big, well equipped and very clean. Beds are comfy. Warm room, but not too hot.
Food is 4 course buffet style, with plenty of choice, desserts let it down a little, but I'm nitpicking.
Ski room is safe and secure with boot driers.
Staff are really friendly as is the Hotel Dog.

Couple of downsides:
Beer in the Bar is overpriced especially compared to local bars, 7 Euros a pint compared to 4.50 - 5 elsewhere is too much, hence I only ever ordered 1 pint in the hotel.
Lounge is a bit on the chilly side. Log fire was only lit once even though it was -15c outside for most of the week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brett1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the de Champoluc, the welcome from the owners was very warm once again. The rooms are reasonably spacious, clean and well maintained by housekeeping. The public rooms well looked after too and provide a lovely environment to meet fellow skiers. The staff are attentive but not in your face. The food is good and plentiful. The rooms can look a little 'tired' but that's being a bit picky. The location right across from the gondola station couldn't be bettered. The skiing and the village are superb. It was described in the Guardian a few years back as 'The best kept secret' I'd happily keep it that way.

Room Tip: Don't be too late for dinner, it's a buffet and the good stuff goes fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very welcoming owners and staff with efficient check in. Room spacious, clean and comfortable with nice bed linen, soft white towels and toiletries replenished when necessary! Excellent choice of food at both breakfast and dinner with used dishes being removed deftly and unobtrusively by the wonderful staff. We would have preferred an earlier evening meal (7.30pm) but fortunately there is a very good take out pizza shop next to the hotel which fills the gap until dinner time. Proximity to piste couldn't be better as, snow permitting, it is possible to ski to door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellers2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my third time to Champoluc & second visit to the De Champoluc. Thankfully little has changed and memories of the hotel were well founded. This is not a plush all singing all dancing establishment with overstated furnishings and decore, but an extremely comfortable, well run mountain hotel with traditional character and better than average 3 star service and food.
The hosts are welcoming, friendly and speak excellent english. The waiting, bar and maid staff are all very helpful and polite and the bedrooms are of good size and always clean. Decor is plain and simple and thankfully not `overwarm` as many alpine bedrooms tend to be. Hot water is in plenty and for those who need entertainment flat screen tv`s with sky are in the room. We were 3 adults in the room and still had plenty of space.
The public areas are comfortable with sauna/steam rooms, table tennis & football downstairs along with good boot/ski room. The lounge is of good size but cosy, and the bar service is good and efficient. The dining area is well lit with tables well laid out. I am presuming that if you do not want to socialize at breakfast and dinner you could ask to be sat alone as there are tables for only 2 people. Food at breakfast & dinner is buffet style which I personally prefer. Choices at breakfast always have 3 hot options along with an array of breads, cereals, preserves, yogurts, cake, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, juices and a fairly efficient toaster. My only complaint in this whole report is that the hotel has gone down the slippery slope of putting 2 automatic dispensing coffee machines into the mix instead of the waiting staff bringing you a wonderful personal pot of tea or coffee ( and yes, the coffee is aweful but they do have twinings breakfast tea bags which was a blessing ). I am going to forgive this new practice as long as it stops here and now !!! P.S. there is a good coffee machine in the bar area where the barman serves a variety of delicious coffees.
Dinner is extensive with a mass of choice. Soup and a large choice of anti-pasta salads start off your meal followed by a hot pasta dish along with 3 other hot options which usually include a meat and fish option along with a potato dish and vegetables. Finally the sweet table is laid out with multiple choices to suit most needs. And, to top it all, you are given a free quarter litre of wine to go with your meal ( if you don`t drink red you can exchange for white ) which is most agreeable unless you`re a wine snob ! I personally think it`s the best choice/quality in the alps for what you are paying. P.S. Don`t be too late for dinner as everyone is starving and eager to find what`s on offer. No ticking your preferences at breakfast here !!!
Add to this, the hotel has the best position in the village overlooking the piste and the start of the gondola,you are next to the few apres ski bars, and you are partaking in `millionaires` skiing with masses of totally empty slopes (except on weekends), no queues, and great mountain huts, then it`s no wonder that after 40+ years of skiing I am trying to decide if there is a point in going anywhere else next year !!!
Please keep this to yourself, I don`t want the herds of skiers who go to overcrowded French/Austrian resorts to know about it !!
P.P.S. Not ideal for beginners but the ones that pick it up quickly can ski all areas within 2-3 days with someone experienced with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#8 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
#2 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castor
Hotel Castor
#5 of 17 in Champoluc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#6 of 17 in Champoluc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Champoluc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Champoluc

Property: Hotel de Champoluc
Address: Via Ramey 65, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Champoluc 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de Champoluc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing