We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Low Graythwaite Hall Country House
Nearby Hotels
$165
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$231
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$172
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$158
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$228
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
175
13
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow graythwaite halldairy cottageroaring firequiet sidelake districtfamily birthday celebrationimmaculate gardensmasons armsgood selection of winesdouble aspectbeautiful propertymemorable weekendcomfortable sofassitting rooman excellent hosthome comfortslong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 191 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Grizedale bedroom. The room is a good size as is the very pleasant bathroom. Both rooms have window seats that look onto the garden. The garden with the wonderful topiary is very pleasant with plenty of seats. The house is very interesting and comfortable, especially the lounge. Attention to detail is good and Amanda and David are very welcoming. Breakfast is fine and the dining room looks out onto the garden. Dinner was unfortunately not available during our stay, but some other guests told us they had a very good meal. You can walk to the lake from the house and also to Sawrey ( we did get slightly lost but that was our fault ). Location is very peaceful, but obviously you need to drive to get to a pub. We did not visit the pool which is in the adjacent Graythwaite estate. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We took a group of work colleagues up to the Lake District for a team bonding weekend and after reading various reviews and having had personal recommendations we decided to stay at Low Graythwaite Hall and took over the entire Hall for two nights.

We were certainly not disappointed; Amanda, David and Samantha could not of done any more for us. On arrival Amanda greeted us with jugs of Pimms in the grounds which are just idealic and a perfect setting for a summers evening.

The hospitality was second to none and nothing was too much trouble; with Amanda always on hand to suggest things to do and places to go.

We dined at the Hall on both evenings, enjoyed breakfast and even had a spontaneous afternoon tea; the food was absolutely superb.

Each bedroom ouses class and the detail and care that has gone into making each room individual shone through.

I cannot recommend this venue enough and I will definitely be making a trip back in the not so distant future.

Charlotte

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We planned a family get together for three generations of the family and took all the rooms at Low Graythwaite. We were treated to a rare experience of comfort and hospitality. The meals were of a standard seldom experienced outside the 'poshest' restaurants and delivered with an informality that fit the occasion but in such elegant surroundings and with a style that could satisfy the most demanding gathering.
Amanda was the perfect hostess and created an easy atmosphere that delighted and included everyone from the youngest toddler to the oldest Grandpa. I feel that we were very fortunate to find such a wonderful venue for our celebration, and look forward to making a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancasterFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

With three generations of one family, ranging from Granny to a toddler, the Hall offered everything we ever imagined a true family holiday could be. 5 beautifully appointed bedrooms, spacious dining and living rooms and such an informal ambiance for us all to catch up and have some fun. The food was excellent. Amanda treated us each night to her wonderful home cooking. Good, wholesome, locally produced food which the kids (and parents) really appreciated. Afternoon tea on the lawn was the highlight of our return to the Hall each day. 15 minutes of relaxing time for the adults while the 6 children played hide & seek through the garden. It sounds idyllic and it was idyllic! We would all love to return and experience the warmth and hospitality Amanda & David offered throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different but all are furnished and appointed to a very high standard
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8M_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took over the house for my daughters wedding at Cartmel Priory, and had our 'Drinks Reception' in the beautiful garden. Amanda ensured we had a carefree and memorable weekend, a delicious meal on the Friday evening and fantastic canapés on Saturday afternoon. We would certainly recommend this as a wedding venue, or a wonderful retreat for a quiet weekend. Amanda and her husband are the perfect hosts.
Neil and Jenny Ferrier

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews