We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing 2 nights at Low Graythwaite Hall. The whole experience lived up to our expectations and more. Amanda and David made us most welcome and their hospitality was faultless. We were snowed in on the second day so spent a lovely day relaxing in front of a roaring fire. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautiful room-Tethera, comfy beds and a big sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
74
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool England
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at Low Graythwaite Hall the second weekend in Jan with 6 other friends. We had such a great time and Amanda is a great host that we are going back this month with my wife's parents and sister for a few days! Enough said

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited Low Graythwaite Hall before Christmas and had the most relaxing night there, we felt like new people when we left. The sitting room had such a lovely feel to it with an impressive fireplace that warmed us up almost immediately when we arrived, helped by a cup of tea and piece of cake from Amanda. We have stayed in a lot of bigger hotels in the lake district which were not a patch on Low Graythwaite Hall. Amanda made us feel incredibly well looked after, including catering for my lactose intolerance at dinner. The food was excellent and fantastic value. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxfield7130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We rated Low Graythwaite Hall very highly indeed. In every respect, our stay met the criteria for "excellent" and Amanda was most hospitable and professional. The dinner we had was delicious, perfectly cooked and presented.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent weekend for the Dorcey wedding. Food was brilliant, staff were friendly, grounds were lovely and gardens were amazing.

Only problem was the room was a little cold but with a heater in the room this was quickly resolved.

I will be visiting back again in the spring with my dog and I will always recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice retreat in the Lakes, away from the hustle and bustle of Ambleside / Windermere but still within reasonable proximity.

We were absolutely delighted with our stay here. A lot of other comments make reference to Amanda and David's hospitality and we can only endorse that further - they both strike the perfect balance between making you feel at home, but not over imposing.

Highlights were - quality of rooms (plenty of space, amazing comfy bed, nice views over the gardens), guest room with lovely warm log fire (supplemented by Amanda's tea and cake!) and the lovely stroll down to the shore of Lake Windermere.

We will be returning!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwpollard100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a super stay in this beautiful home created by generous and stylish people! Very large room with deliciously comfy beds. Super breakfast, not at all fatty, courtesy of the hens by the pretty lake and formidable, listed topiary. Magnificent fireside to lounge by. Slightly iffy hot water in the morning but this in no way detracted from the success of our stay. We''ll be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori-mirasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graythwaite
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall

Property: Low Graythwaite Hall
Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 15th century hall, set in its own grounds, in the centre of the lake district near Hawkshead. Also self catering holiday cottage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing