We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something special...”
Review of Hotel Da Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Da Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“something special...”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We found this hotel by accident at the end of a 10 day trip to Tuscany. Thought we'd just stay a night but enjoyed it so stayed for two. Really comfortable, excellent room with a great view, great friendly staff. Genuine people who care. I'd been mosquito bitten in every hotel we'd stayed in Tuscany. I looked like Frankenstein meets Elephant man (badly bitten on face) This was first hotel who had a Vape magic in the room, worked like a charm, why can't all Italian hotels have these? Truthfully the first decent sleep I'd had in Italy (despite being close to a main road) Comfortable room with all amenities. We stayed extra night here instead of booking a hotel in Pisa itself. Freshly baked warm biscuits was surprise at breakfast. Yummy.
Its situated between Pisa and Lucca so a great base for exploring both. Excellent value for money.
Highly recommended, we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    66
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
92
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our traveling party found this hotel to be surprisingly special. We were trying to visit Lucca but found the hotels closest to to city expensive and/or unavailable. The Da Carlos is 15 minutes out of Lucca so there was not a problem with a car. First, we were struck with the personal feeling of the hotel personnel. When we called for reservations, they didn't even want our credit card information, only a request to call if we were planning on coming after 4 PM so they would continue to hold the room. When we got there, they were quick to try to help in any way they could. It felt like they actually enjoyed conversing with the guests and getting to know them. It felt more like a B&B in attitude than a traditional hotel. The rooms were comfortable and immaculate and we were able to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and the outdoor seating area was very pleasant. This is a wonderful,comfortable economical place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 3 days. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and nice people. A great breakfast in the mornings. You are in between Pisa and Lucca, so it's a good location to visit both cities. lucca is really a nice city. There is also the restaurant which has great food, their specialty is fish. Guarantee you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina tea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

If you are want a hotel with uniformed commisionaires, bell-hops and snooty counter staff, this isn't for you. If you want warmth and friendliness, then it is. Da Carlos is a family-run hotel, a bit worn at the edges, well placed for Pisa and Lucca (a walled town not to be missed - the walls are the thickest I have seen anywhere). We transit at Pisa airport and have stayed here three times and never been disapointed. The fairly gentle walks by the Dante memorial give great views over the sea to the west and over the town to the east and are well worth while. The not so gentle walks give a better view and are well worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We loved it at Hotel Da Carlos. Great prices, great people, and great views. The beds were comfortable the restaurant was great. We got the chance to meet Carlos and he was very kind and welcoming. If you ever get a chance to come to Lucca please stay here. My girlfriend and I truly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarettW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot Berkshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at this excellent hotel. Beautiful views of the Tuscan Hills, it is located a couple of miles outside the not to be missed City of Lucca.

Eduardo and his sister Carlotta are excellent hosts, offering knowledgeable tips on places to go, their best tip being the town of Volterra.

They are both so very helpful and extremely friendly but not " in your face ".

I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Da Carlos.

One day we'll return to Tuscany and when we do, Hotel Da Carlos is where we will definitely stay.

Rod, Ascot, Berkshire, U.K.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rodmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Lovely and very cozy Hotel. Perfect position between Pisa and Lucca ( an adorable city), very quite and peaceful. The bedrooms were very nice, not very big, but very comfortable modern and most of all very clean. We had a great view of the green hills around the hotel. They have a very big parking (free) and centre wireless (free). Inside the hotel there is the restaurant but I understood that hotel and restaurant have two different management, anyway the restaurant was excellent!
The hotel was very very comfortable and mainly welcoming. It's a family hotel and all the people that work there were so nice, willing to help at any time and most of all very very kind. Very nice to hotel to stay both with family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heykid41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Giudice
6.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
4.2 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#16 of 48 in Lucca
628 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Ponte
Il Ponte
#31 of 48 in Lucca
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
915 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#10 of 48 in Lucca
460 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Da Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Carlos

Property: Hotel Da Carlos
Address: Via Nuova Per Pisa 5901, 55100 Santa Maria del Giudice, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca > Santa Maria del Giudice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Giudice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Da Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel da Carlos is situaed on the slopes of the lucchesi hills. It's only a few Km away from Pisa and Lucca. The city is rich of architetural and historical evidence where a passionate tourist will find master pieces of medieval art, renaissance and more. Near the sea and mountains, the hotel is in a strategic position. It is possibile to visit in just a few minutes by car, the most beautiful places in Tuscany: Lucca, Viareggio,Forte dei Marmi,Volterra,Firenze, Siena, Pisa .......and more. Our Hotel is furnished with all the comfort necessary for our tourists to spend a relaxing stay in the beautiful countryside of Lucca. Offers large and comfortable rooms, we will make you feel at home with our family management and friendly atmosphere. A room well furnished and cozy is the best way to start a vacation And have private bathrooms, telephone with a direct line, air conditioning, minibar, free Wi-Fi and television. Our staff is always at your complete disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Da Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Carlos Hotel
Da Carlos Lucca
Hotel Da Carlos Province Of Lucca/Santa Maria Del Giudice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing