We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Intercontinental Flyer
San Francisco, California

Very nice and friendly host

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 1, 2016
Marta really went all the way to make our stay pleasurable. She is fun to talk to, her breakfast is legendary and she even provided towels and a blanket for our trip to the beach. My kids loved her cats. Moreover, she had very relevant suggestions for parking and food in Pisa, Lucca and her neighborhood. The old house is well kept, surrounded by a small garden and the room with direct access to the terrace was beautiful. The wifi was not so good, though, this seems to be a problem of the Italian Telecom in the area.
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: In colder season, try to get a room with access to the terrace
Trip type: Traveled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$146
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $82
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$99
  • Agoda.com
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • eDreams
    $99
0.4 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Bar/Lounge
villa del Papa
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $176
0.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$89
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Vio.com
    $89
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$119
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $119
  • eDreams
    $119
  • Vio.com
    $119
0.9 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$405
$227
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $405
  • Expedia.com
    $370
  • Hotels.com
    $370
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$113
$107
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $107
  • Priceline
    $113
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$98
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $98
1.5 miles from Marta Guest House
Free parking
Booking.com
$89
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Maria del Giudice
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
279
28
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
279
28
7
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 317 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Marta owns and runs a remarkable guest house. She and her staff are friendly, helpful and fun! The house is beautiful, and if you are into "quirky" there is lots here to keep you happy, like the collection of hats in the entrance hall and the amazing painted walls (eg swallows flying up the stairs). The ceilings, floors and light fittings throughout the house are all amazing. All the rooms are spotlessly clean, all individually decorated by hand. And the breakfasts are excellent. In summer these are taken in the lovely garden but when mornings get a little chilly, in the lovely dining room.

Room tip: The best rooms have huge balconies with loungers, table & chairs, and sun shade. The garden is free for anyone to use at any time tho'.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

By the time we had picked up our hire cars in Pisa and travelled to the guest house, it was almost midnight, but Marta was on hand to greet us and show us to our rooms. She even produced an impromptu birthday cake for my brother. This was typical of her kindness and enjoyment of running a guest house where customers soon become friends.

The rooms are large with high ceilings and comfortable beds. The best rooms also have a wide, sunny balcony. Breakfasts are a real speciality of the guest house and great care goes into producing different but equally tasty offerings each day. Marta is also very happy to offer suggestions and advice about excursions to see the sights of the region.

We spent a very enjoyable five days in Tuscany and will long remember the warmth of the hospitality we received.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Scott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

I simply confirm all the previous excellent reviews.
Breakfast is very special, some may love it, some may prefer simply good jam, good butter, and good bread (weak point). In our couple, one loved it, the other not.
I only regret that the house is in the village, with noisy neighbours, but it is not Marta's fault.
Thanks a lot Marta and Giorgio.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melchizedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

I had read reviews of Marta's guesthouse and thought it couldn't be as perfect but it was. Marta is a warm, welcoming host and I seriously felt like I was staying in a friend's home. I was alone and Marta took care of me as if I was her only guest. I was given access to her kitchen to heat milk since I wasn't feeling well and she made sure I was comfortable all the time. Her beautiful breakfast is such a treat.

The villa itself is clean and welcoming. My room was fairly large with an ensuite. Though it is August I actually closed the windows at night since it got chilly.

Marta helped out with planning my trips and even gave me bus tickets to go to Lucca the first time and Pisa the next since I was without a car. On Sunday and the civic holiday there was no bus service and Marta's boyfriend dropped me to the train station on Sunday and I got a ride with one of her guests today.

I would highly recommend this home as a place to visit and make a base in Tuscany especially if driving a car. Since I had to use buses it was a bit inconvenient to use the local bus as they come only once in a while. However, the experience of staying with Marta would outweigh all the inconveniences.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank seema60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We had a perfect stay with Marta in her BnB. The breakfasts were amazing and alot of time and prep went into them. Marta was a wonderful hostess and helped make our stay fun for a 60th bday weekend. We surely made a new friend!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Joni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews