We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marta Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had been looking forward to staying at Marta's after reading the amazing reviews. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations for us, but I am not sure that we experienced it at it's best and all other guests there seemed very happy.
The town is beautiful, surrounded by hills in the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Marta's B&B is an impressive building and the shared areas are beautifully decorated. (I didn't see inside any of the other bedrooms.) Marta was very friendly and helpful to us and goes out of her way to make guests feel at home. Breakfast is good with an excellent selection.
Unfortunately our room was right at the top of the house, quite basic and extremely hot with no shutters - just curtains. When we arrived we were shown to our room by Marta's son who told us that the room is hot and his room was across the corridor from us. The area at the top of the house had 4 bedrooms leading off a square hallway and 2 bathrooms to share between the 4 rooms. This was complete shock to me as the website advertises en-suites and I NEVER book a B&B with shared bathrooms. I am extremely uncomfortable with these. The son assured us that the bathroom would be for our use only, but I dislike the lack of privacy in passing through public areas to get to a bathroom. In the bathroom were someone else's toothbrushes, shampoo and wet towels. The bathroom is actually a wet room which is poorly designed and makes the floor soaking wet around the toilet and basin. There is a glass scraper in the room for guests to scrape the floor after use - not much fun. We struggled to sleep because of the stiflingly hot room and the noise from a festival over the road. The house cat liked our room and was in there a lot. We like cats so this wasn't an issue for us. To make matters worse it turned out that there were guests in the room next to ours when we woke in the morning and they were sharing our bathroom. They actually walked in on my son in the toilet. This really ruined our experience of the guesthouse and I wouldn't choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Top room very hot and the house cat dashes in every time you open the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
149
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marino
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent a wonderful day and a restful night at Marta’s Guest House near Lucca. “Guest House” is an appropriate name since I felt like I was a special guest. Marta, the proprietor is a wonderful host who makes you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. She makes herself available to answer all questions in English and other languages and she painstakingly and patiently explains interesting sites to visit in the area and provides detailed information, including how to get there and the best places to park once you get there. Her “house” has a welcoming environment, is well kept, the rooms are comfortable and clean. Complementary wi-fi is available in all the rooms. The breakfast offers a variety of food that is fresh and delicious, some prepared by Marta. Great place that I highly recommend when visiting the Lucca area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barba-Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Marta's villa for 2 nights from 22.08.12. We arrived into Pisa airport, picked up the hire car, set the 'sat nav' using the postcode and then the street name. Found this the easiest. Brought us to the door. 30 minutes drive away on main road to Lucca. In village of Santa Maria de Guidice. turn left of main road, follow road to small roundabout in square, straight over, follow road round 200 yards. Marta guest house on left. (signposted)
Marta welcomed us into her home and showed us to our room. We stayed in a double room with ensuite. ( Ghirlanda di Rose )
The room was beautiful, typical Tuscan decor and absolutely spotlessly clean. That evening we ate in a local restaurant ' La Quercia '. Good service and nice food.
The next two mornings we had an amazing buffet breakfast on the terrace in the garden. The selection available was all home made and included baked breads, jams, cold tuscan hams, cheese, cakes and cereal/yoghurts etc. Fresh coffee and tea, juices were also provided. All in all 10 out of 10 for us.
Over the next 2 days we visited the nearby city of 'Lucca' and the surrounding area. A good idea was hiring bicycles and riding along the top of the ramparts of the walled old town. Beautiful views of the city.
Marta's advice was spot-on. She gave us a local map and provided advice on free parking near the walled city centre. 5 -10 minutes walk away.
On the second night Marta recommended another local restaurant, abit of the beaten track and 10 minutes drive away. However it was well worth it. Fantastic meal. Marta booked us a table there as it was almost full. It was called 'Le Cecca'. Not so pricey and food superb.
Our thanks to Marta, a fabulous host. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just a 10 or 15 minute drive from Lucca, this villa guesthouse is owned and superbly run by Marta. Her convivial personality provides a great touch of friendly humor and her willing assistance makes touring and dining choices easy.

Santa Maria del Giudici is a walkable small village so you can stroll to a market, restaurant, post office and throughout its quaint neighborhood. The B&B's atmosphere is gracious with decor and furnishings both interestingly eclectic and befitting its history. The ambience reflects Marta's worldwide traveling and her sense of fine restoration design. Try to book a bedroom with a balcony to go out there for relaxing and taking in the scenic hilly view. The property outside is a gardener's labor of love producing lovely flowers - and herbs which go into wonderfully savory cooking.

Every morning there is a surprise entree usually egg-based to go with an enticing assortment of pastries, cereals, homemade jams, cheeses and Italian coffee made to deliciously give an energy boost for the day's travels. Treats are available during afternoons as well - to enjoy with a glass of wine on the veranda or patio.

We drove north into the area of the Garfagnana Mountain range and visited the charming town of Barga and took the train to go to the seaside resort of Versilia, then on to beautiful Portovenere along the Ligurian coast - also spent a full day in Lucca touring its historic sites, shops and eateries. The old center's encircling ramparts offer a great way to walk with a scenic city overview. We wish we had more time to revisit Pisa and to go see the famous and opulent villas and gardens in this part of Tuscany. Marta had directed other guests to do so and they came back much appreciating their excursions.

Take her advice as it will save you time, money and aggravation. We were having trouble making reservations ahead for the Borghese Museum in Rome, but all it took was her calling and arranging this without a hitch. She just has a way of amiably communicating. - full of fun, drawing out our smiles and laughter as we talked together. Good thing her English is better than our Italian!

Many thanks, Marta, for sweet memories of our stay with you....

Elaine and Joe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeoncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Marta's villa in 2 bedrooms, 3 nights in bedroom on the backside of the villa with balcony and our last night in a bedroom on the frontside without balcony. Both rooms had a large double bed. We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed the breakfast and the quietness of the ville and the village and strongly appriciated Marta's advises for visiting the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA, US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Marta's in June for about a week at the recommendation of friends. It is in a small village not far from the walled town of Lucca. Marta's is friendly and comfortable. Most mornings we started the day in Marta's garden with a delicious breakfast. We had an American with us who asked for eggs and Marta prepared an egg dish that really delighted.
Our room had a balcony with great views of the area hills. We sat out late afternoons, after a day of touring, enjoying the countryside and local wine before following Marta's recommendations for area restaurants. Marta's tour recommendations and dinner recommendations never disappointed. We had a meal in a country setting in Lucca, our last night there, that ranked amongst the best dinners we have ever eaten. The price was not high for the unique and superbly prepared courses.
What we saw and tasted in Tuscany was so memorable and we have Marta to thank!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

One of the most charming hotels I have ever stayed at - Marta and staff are extremely friendly and will help with anything and everything you need.

Rooms: Spotlessly clean, large, classic furniture, views of Tuscan countryside.

Location: Small village close to Lucca, car is an advantage - hotel has parking.

Breakfast: Served in the shaded garden. Fresh fruit, fresh baked cakes, great selection, great coffee.

Service: Unbelievably good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekahau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Giudice
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#14 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
5.1 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
5.0 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 165 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marta Guest House

Property: Marta Guest House
Address: Via del Quercetto 47, 55100 Santa Maria del Giudice, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca > Santa Maria del Giudice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria del Giudice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marta Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful liberty style villa converted into an elegant Guest House, restored with great care keeping the original style that it was built. The guest house is surrounded by a large garden, centred in the small old village of S. Maria del Giudice, just a few kilometres from Lucca and Pisa. The villa has all the comforts that tourists require with a private car park. All the rooms decorated with hand painted walls and ceilings and furnished in liberty style. They all have en -suite bathrooms, fan, satellite TV, internet. Some rooms have a large balcony furnished where guests can sit and admire the beautiful views. The garden is equipped with a sitting area where guests can relax after a day trip at the sea, the mountains or the nearby cultural cities. Tourists can pass evenings in the company of the owners or friends. Great care is taken by the owner in preparing breakfast with a selection of sweet and savoury dishes typical of the Lucca and Tuscan area. Breakfast is served in an elegant and sunny veranda or also in the garden. The owners are always present to help in anything the guests or give advice on places to visit. They will give guests the opportunity to become familiar with the surrounding area. "Questo e il segreto dell'ospitare. Far sentire i tuoi ospiti benvenuti e a casa propria" B.Hall Many people ask me why I have called the Guest House this name first of all it is my name and secondly but most important is that when the house was being modernized I promised myself that it would be called Marta's Guest House. In 1996 my husband and I with our young son Giorgio who at the time was two years old went on holiday to Indonesia. Strange as it may seem we found ourselves on a small island called Siladen on the Sulawesi Sea. The three of us had arrived there from a small port called Manado, on a small motor boat. Arriving there a charming women greeted us. We were so enthusiastic when we arrived there, seeing three small straw huts, with the beautiful clear calm sea and a coral reef and the fish arriving almost to the shore that we asked if we could stay a few days. The woman was very happy and showed us where we could sleep. Strange as it may seem her name was Marta and her rustic holiday resort was called Marta's Guest House. The small huts were not very comfortable but they had a small balcony with a magnificent view onto the sea. We had no electricity, telephone or running water but it was one of the best holidays we ever had. At night the sea and a small boat in the bay sparkled under the light of the moon...what a beautiful sight.... The bathroom was a small straw hut ...for a shower we had to use a bucket filled from an enormous water tank and throw it over ourselves, it was very hot so everything seemed fun. For our meals we could use Marta's kitchen with its simple old asian style stone coal cooker placed on the floor. I had to prepare baby food that my young son would like. The local women would help me smiling at how I prepared Giorgio's food that was so different from their traditional food. I was so happy and it almost felt as if I was at home. Some girls would bring me bananas, pineapples and biscuits and Marta the owner would prepare us grilled fresh fish with plain rice that even Giorgio could eat. The children from the small local village intrigued at a new child, would come and play with Giorgio. They invited him to come to their small school of only one class, they gave him a present of a hand made wooden boat that we stil family would stop and chat to us with their and our broken English, with hand gestures and affection we all were able to understand and communicate with each other... The departure from that beautiful place was very sad for us and them, all the small village came to the beach to say good bye to us also because we were the only foreigners. The pleasant memories of that visit made us always hope that one day we would return there, but an unhappy surprise awaited us!!! One day while reading some tourist brochures I discovered that Marta's Guest House no longer exists and has been substituted by an enormous modern tourist complex with all the comforts and amenities that a tourist needs. We have travelled to all parts of the world, we usually choose holidays where we stay in small privately owned guest houses, this allows us to meet the local people and have a real taste of living in different parts of the world. We had already decided long before that we would have liked to open our very own guest house, promising ourselves that the simplicity of the warm welcoming that we were given , should be carried on by us and given to our guests. This is why I chose to call our house Marta's Guest House to remember the idyllic trip we spent together all those years ago. Another reason for this name is the consequence of everything I have said beforehand. Our house, which is not a straw hut, in fact some call it a villa which I do not like, I would like it to be a Guest House. So I want my guests to feel at home, feel the warmth, talk and stay with a welcoming family that treat you like an old friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marta Guest House Province Of Lucca/Santa Maria Del Giudice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing