We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retreat for cold winter days”
Review of Papiliorama

Papiliorama
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Kerzers
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oberdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Retreat for cold winter days”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Papiliorama has, since a couple of years, two other halls beside the one with the butterflies. The butterflies alone are worth a visit, but I like "Junge Trek" even better. There are some iguanas climbing around in the trees of this hall, toucans, egrets, hokkos and other birds as well as tayras, peccaries and coatis. Since the opening of the "Jungle Trek" hall the vegetation in there has become a veritable jungle. The third hall, Nocturama, offers a trail through a tropical forest at night. Interesting, but not so much to my taste as the other two halls.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    125
    23
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Butterfly kisses”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon walking into the butterfly house we were surrounded by butterflies of every description. I really think one of them kissed me, actually it just needed a place to land. It was fascinating looking for all the different butterflies and the beautiful flowering plants. The nocturnal house was very interesting but the bats were a bit scary. Children seemed to be enjoying everything. There is a nice gift shop and a snack bar with a limited selection. It's bit off the beaten track but worth the trip. Today in the field next to the parking lot the farmers were harvesting asparagus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fascinating and fun for young and old!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A large facility and a great idea on a rainy day, especially! Both the butterfly house and the nocturnal house were fascinating. If you are very afraid of bats, don't do the nocturnum. BUT, if you want to learn just what deft flyers bats are, this is fascinating!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariPottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You crossed the border!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The moment you step into the building, you are in another world! Especially in winter, the atmosphere in here immediately transfers you to the tropics. The plants and the animals let you forget that there is snow just a few meters away. I never realized that there were this many different types and sizes of butterflies (seems to be a misnomer for many of them) on our earth. All the different shapes, sizes and colors amazed me. You almost hate to step back out into the real, cold world! I'll be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank sundance_wyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Butterflies!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is an interesting experience. There are a lot of butterflies but it is a bit tricky to spot them. We did manage to make a few good pictures though.

The location of the Papilliorama is a bit uncomfortable (there is nothing else of interest in the area), however you can get there easily enough using the Swiss railway.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papiliorama also viewed

Fribourg, Canton of Fribourg
Murten, Canton of Fribourg
 
Fribourg, Canton of Fribourg
 

Been to Papiliorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing