We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tsarbou Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsarbou Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Stemnitsa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Its so picturesque, both outside and inside. The location is great, just a minute from the centre of the village. The rooms are very comfortable, with beautiful views of the mountains and a fireplace. The bed was very comfy!!
The owner, Christina, was really friendly and hospitable, and gave us great tips about places to visit, which we follwed and saw some spectacular sights.
Definitely recommend it, summer or winter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Tsarbou Guesthouse and I cannot praise it enough. Christina, our hostess, was a delight; she treated you as friends rather than customers. Her knowledge of the area was very helpful ensuring we got the best of things to do in the short time we were there.
The room was spacious, very clean, with a large comfortable bed ensuring you of a good nights sleep. Our room also had a veranda giving you views of mountains in the distance and the old architecture of the buildings nearby.

Stemnitsa is a fascinating mountain village, very picturesque and a ideal location for visiting the Philosophos and Prodromou monasteries both located in the Lousios Gorge.
The village only had the one restaurant open in the evening, this was the Stemnitsa-tavern, so we ate here all three nights; our first meal was a bit disappointing but the following two nights we had the lamb with lemon sauce – wow, this was delicious, probably the best cooked lamb we’ve had during our many visits to Greece.

I’m sure we will return to the Tsarbou Guesthouse one day as I can not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Room three had a nice veranda. But I'm sure any room will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Tsarbou Guesthouse. Warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean. The guesthouse is in the middle of the town and close to all amenities. Christina was the perfect host making us feel that we had come home for a visit. Her extensive knowledge of the area and recommendations made our walks in the mountains so much more interesting and enjoyable. We are looking forward to returning (with more of our family) next ime.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyanneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this charming guesthouse over a long weekend. It was totally booked and the only room we found available was the very small room on the second floor. Christina (the owner) warned us that this is a very small room and she normally does not suggest it for a couple, but we said it's ok and we booked it.
Arriving in Stemnitsa was easy and we were really impressed by the beauty of the village and the region in general. We found the gueshouse easily. It is a renovated house built in the 1800s, looking old on the outside and modern inside. Christina welcomed us and showed us the room. It was very small indeed, but it provided all we needed for a comfortable sleep and shower, we didn't plan to stay much in the room anyway. Best thing about the room was the quietness and the comfortable matress. The shower was fine too.
Another great feature was that there was no time limit for the breakfast. She told us we could have it anytime, which is great when you are on holidays and dont want to stand up early, just to catch the breakfast. It consisted of fresh eggs from the village, aromatic mountain tea, toasted bread, walnuts with honey, cereal, jams, butter, cheese, ham, cake and more.
The highlight of the guesthouse though was Christina, who treated us like friends. She recommended us great hiking paths near Lousios river, offered us warm tsipouro with honey by the fireplace and suggested a very good taverna at Elliniko village where she treated us wild asparagus omelette (delicious!).
We will be definitely recommending Tsarbou Guesthouse to everyone visiting Stemnitsa and its beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed at the really small room on the second floor, but we knew it as the owner had warned us. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Tsarbou Guesthouse was the first place I stayed in Greece, and it set my whole trip off on a warm and happy note. The village of Stemnitsa is tiny, historical and full of traditional charm, and Tsarbou Guesthouse is a sanctuary of modern comforts right in the middle of everything. Christina is a generous and welcoming hostess, and went out of her way to make us feel at home. We had a delicious breakfast by the fireplace on our first morning, and spent the day exploring the coffeeshops and nearby countryside - don't miss the Panourmou Monastery. It was such a pleasure to return in the evening to relax by the fireplace. The rooms and beds are very comfortable, and Christina knows the town like the back of her hand. We felt comfortable and looked after at every stage of our journey.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have their own fireplaces, but the downstairs rooms are quiet and very private. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roslyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Tsarbou Guesthouse. Christina, the owner, has spared no expense in converting her grandfather's historic barn into an upscale guesthouse. Our lovely room had a balcony and a fireplace. Pros: Extremely clean, upscale rooms; nice bathrooms; quiet location (we slept very well); wonderful hospitality; delicious morning coffee on the terrace; great food nearby in a taverna on the square; very few tourists (they tend to stay in Dmitsana, up the road a few kilometers); interesting historic locations nearby. Cons: none!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayJay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stemnitsa
0.2 mi away
Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Stemnitsa
Guesthouse Stemnitsa
#3 of 10 in Stemnitsa
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
En Dimitsani
En Dimitsani
#1 of 18 in Dimitsana
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gartagani Guest House
Gartagani Guest House
#5 of 10 in Stemnitsa
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trikolonion Country
Trikolonion Country
#6 of 10 in Stemnitsa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archontiko tis Zois
Archontiko tis Zois
#7 of 10 in Stemnitsa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsarbou Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsarbou Guesthouse

Address: Stemnitsa, Stemnitsa 22024, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Stemnitsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stemnitsa
Price Range: $75 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tsarbou Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing