We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful house and village wonderful hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 10 Stemnitsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful house and village wonderful hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the principle room and donkey room as 4 kids and two adults with toddler.
The house is traditional style and beautiful and warm. The balcony and patios are lovely with pants flowers and views. Breakfast is all fresh and homemade by nena and she is a charming and gracious hostess who is very helpful to us.


It was a wonderful stay which we will repeat

Room Tip: the principle room is larger and balcony has lovely view and patio is nice but all rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisahpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We are very late with this review, what with getting married and having a baby! We actually staued in 2009? We at stayed here while driving round Greece and the Peloponnese, had booked it online and didn't know what to expect. Nena was great at giving us directions in the phone and when we arrived we didn't want to leave! In fact when we moved on with our trip we decided we weren't happy and missed Mama Nena so much we drove to stay with her again from Pylos on the mainland! Crazy but well worth it. When we were there, a writer was composing a novel, and forecast the whole Greek financial collapse. We drank wine in our room, chatted over beers with others, sipped liqueurs made by Nena's own mother. Breakfast is indeed a treat, we had a Greek omelette, with extensive yoghurts, preserves and bread beforehand. Breakfast is not fast, so if you are in a rush, tell Nena! Otherwise, sit bak, slow down and enjoy the parade of treats. We were there out of tourist season so quite a lot of the village was closed, but even so, ate very well in the village restaurant. Our room was the donkey barn I believe, and was so romantic. We could have stayed forever and felt like we had found a real treasure, especially Nena and her mother, such amazing women. We really feel like we left some of our heart in Mpelleiko, and can't wait to go back again with our daughter. Nena is a marvel and deserves every success with this truly unique house. A treasure.

Room Tip: Ask Nena which room she recommends. But they are all lovely so you can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214KateL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Makri, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

we have been at mpellaiiko in november. dimitris and nena's mother (nena unforunately was sick and we didn't met her) came to square of the village to pick so that we find the guest house easily.

mpellaiko is a small guest house and it really feels like you are living with relatives! dimitris and nena's mother were very polite and willing to give us information and ideas what to do during our stay.

The guest house has few rooms. The rooms are decorated traditiolally and the fireplace creates a very warm atmosphere! each room has its own veranda and the view is great!

but above all, I have to mention the breakfast! everything is made by nena and her mother! you are also free during the day to go the kitchen and take whatever you want.

the only problem -and you have to be prepared for that- is the noise. As i said, Mpellaiiko is a traditional house turned into a guest house. The floor is maid from wood, so you hear noises from the other rooms. The philosophy of the owners was not to change the house, so that the guests feel like home!

I totally recomend it and i definitely will go again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KATERINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The house is situated above the town, with wonderful views of the town and the valley below. The house is an old stone house, newly renovated, with lovely garden areas. The room big and bed comfortable. Nena cooked us a wonderful breakfast with a wild asparagus omlette, youghurt to die for and fruit. Very yummy. She helped us plan our walk to Louisas gorge. Walked down to the town for dinner. Just out of season so not a lot on the menu, but very pleasant having dinner in the town square. Recommend you try the place.

Room Tip: Room at the front has great views at night and in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigAl1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Mpelleiko.
Thank you Nena for your kindness,warm welcome ,professionalism and for being so inspirational.We hope to return .
Best Wishes
Margarita and Thodoros,
Kavala

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margvalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a place one might want to keep secret, saving it for one self and good friends. But then Nena would not be able to keep up the good work. Many thanks to you, Nena! All the good things in the earlier reviews are true and need no more description. The drawbacks are insignificant except for people with severe walking problems or very small tolerance for noise from neighboring rooms. Very reasonable prices for extraordinary services.

Room Tip: In the "donkey stable" you may hear some noise from the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dag V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Mpelliko is an ideal B&B. Views from the kitchen, room and garden are spectacular. Nena is an excellent host, taking care of her guest's personnal needs and desires. She serves the best breakfast all around with local products (homemade bread and marmelades, honey...). Rooms are wonderful with spacious toilets), very clean and confortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGA1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stemnitsa
14.9 mi away
Villa Vager
Villa Vager
#1 of 4 in Levidi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
16.7 mi away
Palatino Hotel and Apartments
3.5 mi away
Amanites Guesthouse
Amanites Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Dimitsana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Stemnitsa
Guesthouse Stemnitsa
#3 of 10 in Stemnitsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.6 mi away
En Dimitsani Guesthouse
En Dimitsani Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Dimitsana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsarbou Guesthouse
Tsarbou Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Stemnitsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse

Property: Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse
Address: Stemnitsa, Stemnitsa 22024, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Stemnitsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stemnitsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional houses in the area of Stemnitsa, Mpelleiko as well, have got two floors, the ground floor called katoi and the first floor called anoi. On the ground floor there are two rooms, the principal room, to kyrios katoi, and the room of the donkey, to katoi tou gaidarou, which resulted from an extension of the building in the beginning of the 18th century. On the first floor there is the drawing room, i sala, the winter room, to himoniatiko, the chamber, i kamari , and the summer room, o ontas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing