We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guesthouse where you feel like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 10 Stemnitsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was the nicest place in all of Greece where we have stayed! The owner, Nena, is very friendly and helpful. She can give you all kinds of advise of things to do in the area, but also for the rest of the Peleponese. We had wonderful talks with her about life in Greece and all kind of other subjects. Furthermore she makes the best breakfasts! Every day something different: fresh bread, pasteries, fresh fruit, homemade marmelades etc.. We found the location of the guesthouse wonderful, just above the village of Stemitsa (about a 10 minutes walk (downhill but fairly easy) to the central square) with a beautiful view and in a very quiet surrounding. Most of the rooms have their own terrace and there also is a shared one with a hammock to relax in! From the living/breakfast room you also have beautiful views and we spend also quite some time there. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone who loves to stay in the mountains, wants to do some hikes, wants to stay in a quite surrounding and to feel very welcome and well treated. Nena, keep on doing things as you are doing them now, it's the best!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stemnitsa is a very good base both for hiking & driving & Mpelliko is an ideal B&B. Well situated, beautifully renovated, furnished with good taste. Nena is an excellent, intelligent & very thoughtful host, who embodies Greek hospitality, taking care of her guests' personal needs & desires. In addition, she serves the best breakfast all around, personally made from local products.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This place is worth making a trip to visit on its own! My wife and I stayed at the Mpelleiko one night during a 13-day trip through the Peloponnese; I wish we had stayed more than one night! The house itself is a family home that was recently rebuilt to create five guest rooms with private bathrooms. Unlike many renovations, the owner kept a traditional style that feels more like a home than a hotel.

Nena, the owner/operator, made us feel instantly like we were visiting a close friend. She seemed to be everywhere we went in the town of Stemnitsa, usually doing something to help us, or any other travelers who needed assistance. When I got our car stuck trying to turn around on a narrow mountain road, a crisis was averted with a phone call to Nena. She woke up a family friend who had a truck (it was a Sunday and we were far from any "roadside assistance") and came to our rescue!

Be sure to email Nena (the "email hotel" link) to inquire about your trip - she is very helpful and can give you better information than you can get from booking.com about availability, etc.

Room Tip: The room directly under the kitchen will be noisy in the morning if you are a late sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stemnitsa is a pretty village tucked away in a niche of mountains close to the Louisous Gorge. The Mpelleiko Traditional House is an ideal place to choose as a base if you want to hike around the Gorge or otherwise enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Our hostess Nena paid great attention to detail and took care of us with home-made produce (walnut and clove jam, wild asparagus omelette, minted cheese parcels etc) and excellent advice for exploring the area.

She made sure that we wouldn't have difficulty navigating the small town - either by car or on foot - and made us feel welcome and rested after slogging it out during our explorations.

The accommodation is sensitively prepared with cedar furniture and thre earthy wood scents migle with the jasmine, rose and lavendar growing outside.

A lovely environment set by a lovely host in a charming part of the world. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordChilterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a fabulous guest house. Nena provided fantastically for our whole family from granny all the way down to the two year old - via three other children! She coped with a ceoliac brother and three vegetarians and still made fabulous breakfasts and gave us wonderful advise on local walks and the best routes to other further away sites. the guest house is beautiful and as for the views....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucysf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a wonderful and really warm place for travelers who love nature, mountains and small traditional greek villages!
The house is really traditional, fully renovated with traditional and renewed furniture! The view to the village and mountains is beautiful and the breakfast made by the friendliest owner ever (Nena) is unforgettable...home-made marmelades with fresh fruits, greek honey, home-made pies and bread...not to mention the traditional pastries...By the time you get there, there is this great feeling of relaxation and warmth...
Unfortunately, I stayed only 2 nights with my friends (we had three wonderful rooms with spacious toilets fully equipped), but I'll be back soon! I loved this experience so much that's why I recommend it!
Thank you Nena!

p.s. the only thing you must be aware of is that you have to book early because it has only 5 rooms, (if you want to stay with friends it's the best experience to book the whole place!)

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful, but I love the room called The principal room (to kyrios katoi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoleHelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The owner seems to be not mentally ok. She asked us to wait in the neighboring village by mistake. So we wasted time till sunset, and then had to drive the narrow mountain road in absolute blackness. My wife was frightened to death. The hotel appeared to be not village style but really old village house, with really old furniture. The room had hard smell of smoke from fire place. In the bathroom there was scorpion on the wall. The whole the vacation was spoiled at once. While reserving we saw only 1 room was free, actually the hotel was empty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrey212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stemnitsa
14.9 mi away
Villa Vager
Villa Vager
#1 of 3 in Levidi
325 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nefeles Luxury Residences and Lounge
2.3 mi away
Elaion
Elaion
#2 of 2 in Elliniko
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
En Dimitsani
En Dimitsani
#1 of 18 in Dimitsana
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsarbou Guesthouse
Tsarbou Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Stemnitsa
54 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nerida Boutique Hotel
Nerida Boutique Hotel
#3 of 18 in Dimitsana
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse

Address: Stemnitsa, Stemnitsa 22024, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Stemnitsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stemnitsa
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional houses in the area of Stemnitsa, Mpelleiko as well, have got two floors, the ground floor called katoi and the first floor called anoi. On the ground floor there are two rooms, the principal room, to kyrios katoi, and the room of the donkey, to katoi tou gaidarou, which resulted from an extension of the building in the beginning of the 18th century. On the first floor there is the drawing room, i sala, the winter room, to himoniatiko, the chamber, i kamari , and the summer room, o ontas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing