We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not want to leave!”
Review of Solitudes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kagawong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitudes B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Kagawong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We did not want to leave!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Solitudes Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Our hosts, Carolyn and John, and their friendly dog, Rufus, welcomed us warmly. They advised us about restaurants, golf courses, outings and sights to explore in the area and we were not disappointed with any of their recommendations. The breakfasts provided were plentiful, scrumptious and carefully prepared to meet our dietary needs including warm maple syrup and homemade raspberry sauce served with the lightest of pancakes and waffles, ever! Our rooms, both with private full bathrooms, were beautifully furnished, clean and spacious in a new and gorgeous home. We enjoyed relaxing by the lake, swimming, canoeing, fishing, reading on our private patio, walking on the property and chatting with our lovely hosts. They even went out of their way to help us when we experienced vehicle problems. As the nights are quiet, dark and starry, we slept deeply, lulled into sweet dreams by the sound of the gentle waves from the lake. We left Solitudes refreshed and invigorated (and with a bag of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies). Thank you Carolyn and John for all of your kindness throughout our stay.

Room Tip: The queen room has a lake view. The king room or 2 twin bedroom has a view of the front yard where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are interested in serenity, beauty and stress relief, this is the place for you! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-day stay at Solitudes. John and Carolyn were the most gracious hosts. We were immediately treated as friends and were made to feel completely at home. The breakfasts were so delicious and more than ample. What we most enjoyed was relaxing by the lake and having the most delightful conversations with our hosts. We had been traveling for 4+ weeks prior to our arrival at Solitudes and when we left we felt completely refreshed and ready to go again! Thanks to John and Carolyn for a fantastic visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a wonderful place!!!!!!
From the warm greeting by owners: Carolyn & John (and their friendly, blue-eyed canine pal, Rufus) to the gorgeous home and the sumptuous meals...it was an amazing 2 days. Wish I could have stayed longer.
Whether you just want to get away for a quiet retreat to relax, swim, watch the wildlife and enjoy the outdoors or use this as a home base while exploring Manitoulin Island, Solitudes is a special place that will meet your needs.
This B&B has 2 bedrooms, each with ensuite (luxurious) bathrooms, on one side of the the home while the owners have the other side, so it is both private and quiet. The bed was comfy and the view from my bedroom was serene.
Waking up to a delicious breakfast (example: baked, maple syrup-soaked French toast encrusted with pecans) and hot coffee is a treat unto itself. Add to that the view of the lake that stretches out before you as you dine and you have heaven.
Read a book in the great room (again...with a magnificent view of the lake) or sit outside on the patio or on the deck by the beach and you will realize that the name of this B&B truly reflects its surroundings and your state of mind.
Hated to leave!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for one night on our way through Manitoulin. We are first time bed and breakfasters and had such a wonderful experience. John and Carolyn truly live up to their motto that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Thank you for a wonderful stay, the pancakes and raspberry sauce were the perfect topping to a wonderful stay and the fresh baked chocolate cookie "parting gift" was a perfect snack on the ferry back home!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

B&B's can be tricky sometimes especially if you have to go by pictures only. However at Solitudes I was thrilled with the experience delivered by the owners Carolin and John (with sidekick "Rufus"). The B&B was truly luxurious from the linen and towels to the food and decor. What a terrific time we had. Be ready to start the day with a nutritious and delicious breakfast created by both chefs. We were only there for a short stay of 3 days however our stress level was close to zero as we headed back down "south" to our jobs and real lives. Taking a short vacation at Solitudes is good for the soul - John and Carolin are wonderful hosts and quite a remarkable team sharing their bit of paradise. Well worth the drive to the Island.

Room Tip: We had a room with a private deck and a view of the lake - lovely for coffee in the am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This has got to be one of the nicest B&B's on the island....It felt like a home away from home with the wonderful hosts John & Carolyn (and their sheepdog Rufus) who not only went out of their way to welcome us but provided delicious breakfasts and lot's of good tips about the island. The accommodation was 5 star with wonderful views of the lake and surrounding country from their great room...lot's of wildlife and very quiet. Everything about this retreat is first class and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Carolyn and John are wonderful, welcoming people. The room and home was lovely, overlooking the lake. Everything was created for my convenience and pleasure. The food was delicious and abundant. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notavailable9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagawong
0.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Wolsey Cabins
Lake Wolsey Cabins
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 29 in Manitoulin Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitudes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitudes B & B

Property: Solitudes B & B
Address: 99 8 Conc, Kagawong, Ontario P0P 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Kagawong
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kagawong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
99 8Th Con,KagawongNewly built house on the lake; Very peaceful and quiet. Numerous restaurants, beaches, golf courses, hiking and biking trails close by. Wildlife such as deer, fox, eagles are often seen on the property. Indoor parking available for motorcycles only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solitudes B & B Kagawong, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing