We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Cottage
Dining area for home cooked meals Relax in the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Our Cottage
Dining area for home cooked meals
Relax in the lounge
The cosy log fire
Comfy Double Bed
Comfy Double Bed
Comfy twins
Bath - shower around the corner
Outside
THE VIEW!!!
Inglenook
In the snow
The view in the snow!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chathill, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chakelski
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Far TOO cosy for our liking!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is situated about a mile from the A1, down a country lane overlooking a complex of other holiday cottages, and with further cottages behind. So not the total solitude we were expecting. The advertisement had stated 'dogs welcome'. However, it was not until the reservation stage that you are made aware of a £10 charge for dogs. Why? What is the need to charge? They are either welcome or not! Furthermore, when you arrive at the cottage you are bombarded with rules and regulations regarding said dog.......Not allowed on beds or indeed in bedrooms, on furniture, not allowed to use the garden (although I see other reviewers let theirs out in the garden!), not allowed to be left in the cottage alone, you must hoover up behind them (more on hoovers later.....), blah, blah, blah. Incidentally, for those taking dogs make sure to take a torch as it is absolutely pitch black along the lane at night. You literally cannot see your hand in front of your face. Wonderful for star-gazing, mind!
The very first thing you see when you walk through the door is a notice stuck on the alarm telling you to vacate promptly at 10am on the day of departure! 'Welcome' would have been nice!
The cottage is very nicely decorated, (although cream carpet in a rental property which accepts dogs, in the middle of the muddy countryside??) and there is all the kitchen equipment one could need for a short stay. Except, that is, a decent kettle. The one offered is of the 'travel' variety and no matter how you try, the lead extends itself over the hob. Very dangerous, I would have thought.
The shower was powerful and there was a constant source of beautifully hot water, but the lighting in the bathroom was appalling for anyone trying to apply make-up. There was no mirror at all in the twin bedroom and the only mirror available in the master was the full-length mirrored wardrobe door.
The beds were comfortable (although the pillows could do with being upgraded from the lumpy polyester-filled type!) and there was ample hanging space in the master bedroom, but my mother couldn't hang anything full-length in the wardrobe in the twin room as there was a huge vacuum cleaner taking up literally half the height of the wardrobe. Obviously the one you are expected to use to hoover up doggy hairs!
We spent most of our days out exploring the local area, including Alnwick, Alnmouth and Bamburgh. We also checked the tide timetable and spent the morning on Holy island before whiling away a couple of fascinating hours watching the tide come in over the causeway.
However, every time we came 'home' we had to open all the windows to get some air into the cottage as it was so HOT!!! There is no way of turning off the heating and it goes on ALL THE TIME. Some might like under-floor heating but I discovered a spot right by the back door where there wasn't any, and I would go and stand right there to cool my feet down. Even our dog used to lie there cos he couldn't get cool (he is a greyhound so it's not even as if he gets hot because he's hairy!!). It is quite unbearable. I don't know how anybody could bear the thought of lighting the log burner. Incidentally, I also think it is unfair to be charged in advance on booking for the first batch of logs. Who is to say you will want to use the burner or, indeed, even know HOW to use the burner!
Furthermore, for any light sleepers, bring earplugs. There is some kind of fan or heating system right under the master bedroom window (you can see it on the photo, disguised by a fence of sorts) and it drones on ALL the time. I put it akin to being in the kitchen with my washing machine on full spin in the utility room. You know? That whirring noise? Honestly, you go to the countryside and expect to hear tractors and cockerels and the like, but not heating systems right under your window. I don't understand how not one other reviewer has mentioned this!
Anyway, petty gripes aside we actually did enjoy our short break and Northumberland is truly beautiful

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the main attractions in the area
Liked least: The heating in the cottage and being so close to other properties
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mouse1622
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed at Inglenook Cottage for a few nights in January with my wife and dog after finding and staying here last year. What a find!! Excellent cottage with all the facilities you could want and more. The fire was lovely to come back to after great walks out from the doorstep in the chilly weather. Everything was so clean,beautifully decorated and comfortable. Had a fantastic weekend made even more so by the very helpful and friendly owner. Already looking to return again

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Spent 2 nights here for a quick getaway in Jan 2015, and it was perfect for what we needed. A great location, where you felt like you were in the middle of nowhere but only actually a few minutes from the A1. Easy access to the Northumberland Coast, Bamburgh, Holy Island and Alnwick - all of which we visited.
The cottage itself was of a really good standard, nothing too flashy, just everything we needed - well supplied kitchen, WiFi, TV, nice bathroom with shower, and comfortable areas to chill out and relax. Also allowed pets, so was good to be able to bring the dog along. The cottage also has underfloor heating, which was a godsend in a cold and windy January - the only downside is that it did get a bit too warm during the night.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgarbuck
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a lovely cottage in a peaceful location. It was warm and cosy with everything you need for a relaxing break. Plenty of good pubs in the area, perfect to visit after bracing walks on the numerous outstanding beaches. Bring some DVDs for an evening in with the log-burning stove!

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
136emmaf
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I stayed here over Christmas 2014 and have already decided we are going to come back. The cottage is wonderful with all the amenities and things you would need. A real home from home. 20 min drive if that from Alnwick but to be honest, we only left once! Would definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSJ812
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location - great for dogs!”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were sad to leave the cottage as it is such a relaxing place to stay!
We had a couple of issues on arrival; but these were quickly resolved and the people looking after the cottage were really friendly and helpful.
Very peaceful location, with lovely well kept grounds. Loved the wood burning stove - an essential for a cold and windy evening!
Lovely deep bath in the bathroom - and a fantastic power shower!
Kitchen is small, so don't expect to be doing big meals or anything complex - which suited us!
There's a great pub in nearby Ellingham called The Pack Horse Inn- great food, friendly staff and it's dog friendly in the bar.
A fantastic view of Bamburgh Castle in the distance from the cottage - which was a great surprise on arrival!
You can see that there is some wear and tear at the cottage; which I've reported to the owner, so hopefully those bits will be sorted - but nothing major.
Garden is well secured - so totally enclosed for your dogs - I was very comfortable to let the dogs out there without any worry of escape!
Great value for money.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah O
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning cottage with equally stunning surroundings”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked the cottage as a gift to my parents. Booking was easy, Rachel was helpful and replied quickly. My parents were over the moon with the cottage it was so clean and tidy, they loved the wood burner even though it wasnt really needed in May, Mum still insisted on using it as it was so cosy! The pub down the road have a walking guide book available which we actually rang and had sent in advance so that they could plan their routes for each day, the pub also did great food and allowed dogs in.
4 days wasnt long enough and they are hoping to go back for a week in 2015!

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing