We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doxford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doxford Cottages
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

On our second trip we experienced Northumberland at its wild best...but the Longlands Cottage provided a warm and cosy haven for us to escape to every day. Nothing is overlooked here and the resident managers Sue and John were very helpful. We often self cater and in all honesty have yet to find anywhere better than this.

Room Tip: All the cottages appear to be of the same quality. We viewed Doxford House ( for 8 people ) and, wow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGBLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our 2nd stay at Shellrig, Doxford Cottages, this time for a short winter break. This is a perfect cottage for two people with a lot of space, extremely high standard of furnishings and comfort. Watching red squirrels and many varieties of birds from the Patio door is fascinating. It is quiet, peaceful and has a lovely lake in the grounds and various walks although the weather wasn't .good when we were there. Northumberland has so much to see and do particularly from Easter onwards when the Castles etc are open. Beaches are amazing miles of unspoilt golden sands and the roads are much quieter in this area. Would highly recommend staying in these cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend brought me here as a suprise for valentines (says i stayed in march but feb wasnt an option on my android). We stayed in shelrig, the cottage was beautiful and immaculate! The welcome pack of wine and honey was an unexpexted bonus! The cottage its self had everything you could possibly need and more for your stay, even wifi and a dock for my ipod. The little touches including shampoo, soap and other items were also something we hadnt expected! The cottages are set in a fantastic area, northumberland has always been a special place for me and yet again didnt disappoint! We frequently used the games room and were also able to use the pool at the nearby doxford hall for a small fee. All in all this was one of my favorite holidays ever, and the small touches made sure we didnt want for anything! My boyfriend wouldnt tell me how much the holiday cost him but i had a sneaky look online and couldnt beleive the value for money!! The only problem i have with doxford cottages is rhat a weekend is no where near long enough!! Hoping to stay again soon, but obviously for longer next time

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairygirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in Fox Cover for a week in January 2013. What a lovely peaceful place with only a couple of places occupied. High standard of accommodation. recommend highly. We even saw a red squirrel visiting the feeding area. The hotel spa next door to the cottages was a lovely treat.

Room Tip: Use the spa and have afternoon tea in the spa next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welbury, united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The best self-catering accommodation in which we've stayed within the UK. Beautifully converted, well finished and thought through. Could not praise this enough as a great place to stay. Games room for the kids (young and old) a bonus. I could go on but would just be repeating other reviews here. You will not be disappointed and we will definitely return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We managed to get a last minute week in the Wellwood cottage for October half term with our two young daughters. Having stayed in a number of holiday cottages around the UK I can confidently support the other reviewers in that it doesn't get much better than this.
The cottage was immaculately clean, the furnishings were of a high standard and it had everything you could possibly need.
There were plenty of towels and dishwasher tablets, loo rolls, kitchen paper and cleaning materials are all in there so you don't need to drag them along.
The wood burning stove was already laid for a fire and logs are all included in the price, a real treat on the cold Autumn evenings.
Considering all the other cottages were full we hardly saw anyone and the peace and quiet was excellent. We managed to see red squirrels and a woodpecker amongst all the other birds that flock to the feeding stations dotted behind the cottages.
The play area and games room were loved by the girls, there is a good selection of both adult and children's DVD,s that are free to loan so even in bad weather the girls were happy. The horses in the field next to the play area practically made their holiday!
A perfect location from which to explore Northumberland and even to get the train up to Edinburgh.
I almost don't want to review Doxford Cottages as once word gets out it will be harder for us to get booked in again.
Thank you to John and Sue for a fabulous week.

Room Tip: Wellwood was excellent but we now want to go back just to try another one as they all looked fabulou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greens14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Carriage house, late booking during October holiday's. Slightly embarrassed to get this piece of luxury at a last-minute discount price, but very glad we did.
Family of four very well catered for with the accommodation being immaculate and furnished to a very high standard.
There are a number of cottages on site, grounds to let the kids run free, with play equipment including trampoline.
Large garden/estate with walks and private lake! Tried fishing, but perhaps we had the wrong flies, any excuse.
There is a games room with table tennis, pool etc, and a good place to unwind after many hours outside exploring the many castles and beaches.
Cottage had all we needed and more, guest book with ideas for trips out and restaurants etc, very useful.
If you are thinking about this part of the country, don't hesitate to book one of the cottages at Doxford.

Room Tip: Carriage House has three bathrooms and either three or four bedrooms (option when booking), great op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Cottages

Property: Doxford Cottages
Address: Doxford Estate, Chathill NE67 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chathill
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chathill
Hotel Class:5 star — Doxford Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages on a 2500 acre estate near the coast in Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doxford Cottages Chathill, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing