We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation 11 out of 10.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doxford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doxford Cottages
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation 11 out of 10.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Carriage house, late booking during October holiday's. Slightly embarrassed to get this piece of luxury at a last-minute discount price, but very glad we did.
Family of four very well catered for with the accommodation being immaculate and furnished to a very high standard.
There are a number of cottages on site, grounds to let the kids run free, with play equipment including trampoline.
Large garden/estate with walks and private lake! Tried fishing, but perhaps we had the wrong flies, any excuse.
There is a games room with table tennis, pool etc, and a good place to unwind after many hours outside exploring the many castles and beaches.
Cottage had all we needed and more, guest book with ideas for trips out and restaurants etc, very useful.
If you are thinking about this part of the country, don't hesitate to book one of the cottages at Doxford.

Room Tip: Carriage House has three bathrooms and either three or four bedrooms (option when booking), great op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for a week in Wellwood (sleeps 4) & what a week we had! The initial impression was priceless, a warm & welcoming property with everything you could possibly need. The furnishings & housekeeping are of a very high standard, the best equipped we've ever stayed in. We can now believe all the other reviews.
We were very lucky with sunshine every day & rain only once during the night. The local beaches are stunning with loads of information in the cottage about the area. A lovely lake is within the grounds & there are lots of walks to enjoy or just sit in your cottage watching red squirrels & birds feeding. So relaxing.
An office is available free of charge with computer & printer for adults only which was very useful as I wasn't able to get on the free wifi with our laptop even though a computer expert was brought by Sue to the cottage to try & help. One of life's mysteries.
Sue & John who are in charge are so very helpful. We would certainly love to return to this beautiful part of England.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We visited as a group of 4 adults and 1 toddler and stayed in the coach house. The accommodation was excellent with plenty of room for everyone. Fitted out to a high standard. Washer dryer came in handy! Kids play area was a big hit with our little one. Lovely beach not far away and so many places to visit we had difficulty choosing where to go! Fantastic walking along the coastal paths too. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsclairerichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wow! Just stayed at Doford Cottages (again!)...we stayed in the largest cottage Doxford House (sleeps 8) this time and again have not been dissappointed in any way. We have stayed previously in Swinney (sleeps 4), Longlands (sleeps 4) and the Coach House (sleeps 6/8). Thought I'd leave a review so anyone thinking of booking these cottages would do so! Besides the fact that these cottages are so luxurious I never want to go home, the area itself is so beautiful that everything adds up to a relaxing happy holiday! They are the best holiday cottages we have ever stayed in and are worth every penny of the rental, Sue and John who run the cottages are so helpful and the cottages are spotless...and I mean spotless. The cottages are equipped with everything you could think of, there's a games room and play field with equipment for the children and the wi-fi didn't trip out once for those with teenagers!!! Would thoroughly recommend to ALL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Doxford was a bit more than we'd normally pay for a rental, but it turned out to be well worth the extra. We really appreciated the care that had gone into the design and equipping of the cottage that we stayed in (Carriage House). To say these cottages are "well-equipped" is an understatement. The couple that manage the site clearly take pride in exceeding the expectations of their guests – I’ll bet if I'd have asked about the possibility of a few stringed instruments to strum away the evening, they’d have been straight off to the nearest luthier. The grounds in which the cottages are located are teeming with wildlife - where else could you enjoy baby red squirrels scuttling around your patio and lawn? There's also lots of birdlife to enjoy. The Carriage House is really spacious- and has a lovely big lounge. We took our teenage son - there was plenty to keep him happy, including a really well-equipped games room, Wi-Fi, Sky television etc. The only dissapointment for us was the weather - but staying somewhere special like Doxford cottages made this bearable.

Room Tip: Make sure you take your binoculars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFPNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Visited for the 4th time this year and have booked for next year already. I honestly believe you won't find a better holiday cottage and here is why:

The cottages - comfortable, clean and finished to a very high standard (I wish my own home was this nice). Also, no dogs are allowed, which is a real bonus in my book.

The setting - set in well kept grounds with a lake. A bank of shrubs and trees behind the row of cottages has strategically placed feeders and I can happily spend hours watching the red squirrels, family of woodpeckers and all manner of other birds and wildlife that pass by the patio windows. There are walks around the wider Doxford estate and a walk through a wooded valley to the nearby Preston Peel tower

The facilities - when rain makes an appearance you can retreat to the communal games room for a spot of table tennis (or pool, air hockey and table football), or borrow a DVD from the selection available.

The location - less than 10 minutes drive from probably the best beach in Northumberland (Embleton). Easy access to the A1 for getting to Alnwick, Berwick, St Abbs, Holy Island etc.

In summary, if you appreciate nature and wildlife and want a base for exploring all that Northumberland has to offer, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wantadecenthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

2nd visit to Doxford cottages and was just as wonderful as we'd remembered. We stayed in the coach house on both occassions, last year just the two of us- this visit with parents.
The cottage is beautifully decorated being very luxurious and relaxing. The cottage is filled with everything you could wish for, including dozens of books and flowers and wine on arrival- a lovely touch.
The lake in the ground is only 5 min walk away, and the squirrel feeders attract red squirrels daily- lovely to watch.
Having a DVD library was useful and the gorgeous log fire v welcolme on a cooler eve.
Altogether a great place to escape to. You need a car to get about, but the area is easy to get around and v pretty- just beware the many pheasants that insist on standing in the road!!
We would recommend these cottages to anyone- and frequently do!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandT-036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Cottages

Property: Doxford Cottages
Address: Doxford Estate, Chathill NE67 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chathill
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chathill
Hotel Class:5 star — Doxford Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages on a 2500 acre estate near the coast in Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doxford Cottages Chathill, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing