We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, food & cafe”
Review of Paddle Crab Cafe

Paddle Crab Cafe
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, food & cafe”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In comparison with the prior reviews, we found the food and the cafe to be fantastic.
Some of the staff may be wwoofers, the lass we spoke to was highly knowledgeable about the area was a better 'tourist information' helper than we have found in many iSites. Friendly, outgoing, chatty and all very relaxed.
Food - fantastic. Huge portions, very well cooked and everything there looked and smelled delightful. Cakes! About twice as high as you'd find in any other cafe, we were just too stuffed from lunch to try one. Everything appeared cooked on the premises, perhaps they have a good cook now.

Cost wise - a bargain we felt. Lunch for ~$15 on food when you get a huge plate of delicious food is well worth it. Drinks weren't overpriced (even considering the lack of other options).
Views - we had a clear sunny day and they were great. To be seen to be believed.

This place may be at the end of a very long road to nowhere (other than the spit), and it was well worth the journey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlHwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great view, terrible cafe”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a break at the cafe after walking out onto the spit. The cafe looks out over the ocean and the spit and has a lovely view. The cafe itself is very disappointing. The cafe appears to be run by woofers or backpackers and unfortunately they have not been well trained, a management problem. The prices are high and and the food and drink are poor if not terrible.
I would not recommend this cafe to anyone and is probably the worst eating place we went to on our 19 day holiday in NZ.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Astonishing location”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had no idea this cafe existed - what a pleasant surprise when we arrived at what we thought was just the visitor centre. It is an amazing location with fantastic views and a good deck to take advantage of it. Good vegetarian options. Boutique beers from the Mussel Inn available. Good place to leave the car while you go for a walk and come back to enjoy lunch or an afternoon tea watching the birds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterWellington_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Worth stopping and having a cold drink on hot day to check out the views”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The view from the deck is fantastic of Farewell spit,
You get some idea of the size of it,
We did not eat here so I can not comment on the food or the coffee.
But enjoyed our cold drink and the view before heading down to beach for a walk.
You have to remember you are at the top of the South Island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Still49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“waste of money”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

cafe was dirty, staff inexperienced and food was poor in quality and range offered.Expensive for what you got. I had nachos which consisted of a plate of corn chips with a very small amount of bean and tomato mix on top, with cheese.
For an outstanding destination we were very disappointed and will never visit again. Would take a picnic next time and have it on the beach or dunes.
Cafe looked run down too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eraserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paddle Crab Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing