We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and welcoming, lovely lodge; funky and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Last Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Last Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and welcoming, lovely lodge; funky and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Karamea is at the end of the road on the West Coast's main highway -- very remote -- but a fabulous destination for hikers and families, and we're so glad we made the trip out there. We had a great two nights at the Last Resort. The lounge and dining area are really lovely in a casual way, with high quality food and friendly service. We had a two-room apartment-style cabin which was serviceable and clean, but the style is a bit odd (hacienda architecture?) and the decor very simple. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. For details, recommendations and photos of Karamea, please see our blog post http://away-together.com/2010/01/14/the-wild-wild-west-coast/

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
29
82
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

I stayed here with a mate of mine after we had finished walking the Heaphy Track. We were offered a choice of rooms, the main thing we wanted was a hot shower after the rigours of four days on the Heaphy and very sore feet!
Food in the restaurant was excellent, and very convivial staff in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doublenaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

I totally loved Karamea and this place just made it even better. Helpful owner, good in-house restaurant: they also do laundry, recommend walks for you to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

One of our first hotel stays during our amazing time on the South Island of NZ. Karamea is off the beaten track, but a very worthwhile experience indeed. There is a massive untouched beach there and you can watch the sun set and be on your own for hours. The Last Resort ... the hotel is magnificent and we were very impressed with the incredible service. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go on the remaining 3 wks of our hols! Definitely one of the highlights of our time in NZ. David and the management team were superb and the hotel has plenty of facilities ... the spa was fab; 200+ mile on a motorcycle with pillion and full luggage panniers through amazing country takes its toll! We stayed in the studio rooms and they were superb. The food was OUTSTANDING! You gotta go for the Ribs starter ... Amazing, fantastic portions and great prices too. Breakfast is a lovely chocie too. We paid $110 per night for our room which we thought excellent value. There were 2 double beds so it was easy to just sprawl out
Overall I would say this is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on holiday ... service, friendly staff, modern rooms, peace and tranquility, food and drink ... you could not ask for more. Perhaps not the most convenient of places to get too, but trust me it is worth it ... it ain't called the last resort for nothing but you will most definitely be glad you made the trip to Karamea. IF you are going to the South Island, very much should be on your list and a stay at the L.R. will just show you what life can be like in NZ. A++++

  • Liked — Very modern, great rooms, great service, great food, location, peace, fab staff
  • Disliked — LEAVING the place
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karamea
0.9 mi away
Karamea River Motels
Karamea River Motels
#2 of 3 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karamea Farm Baches
Karamea Farm Baches
#5 of 6 in Karamea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
21.9 mi away
Seddonville Hotel
Seddonville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seddonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rongo Backpackers
Rongo Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Resort

Property: Last Resort
Address: 71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort was hand built by entrepreneurial locals and first opened for business in 1992. The complex offers a range of accommodation options, restaurant and bar facilities. Make this "very special place" your base when exploring Karamea, the Oparara Basin, the Kahurangi National Park and the Heaphy and Whangapeka Tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing