We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Millbrook Cottage Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Alderley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millbrook Cottage Guesthouse
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This quirky 14th century B&B is well worth a visit if you are needing a stay near Manchester. We were attending a concert at Jodrell Bank ( 15 minute drive ) so chose this due to its location.
But would stay here again just for its location and welcome. Brian & Fauzia the owners make you feel so welcome and attend to your every need. We booked their " Cottage Suite " which is reasonably priced and has every home comfort you could wish for. Fresh flowers and sweets in our room were a nice touch.
Breakfast is served at a time that suits you and is a traditional " English Breakfast " so much so we did not need lunch.
The tables and chairs in the garden overlooking the stream are a bonus and although we didn't choose this option others did and it looked amazing.
This B&B is a real gem as were the owners and their hospitality ........... do not miss !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excelllent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

this beautiful bed and breakfast is full of history, wonder and charm. The owners could not have made a traveler far from home more welcome. cosy and sweet at every turn. a superb country side surrounds this majestic haven with plenty of peace and quiet too. thank you dearly mandy

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Delightful B and B. Owners very welcoming and friendly, excellent breakfast, charming cottage. Stayed here when attending a wedding in the nearby church (50m walk from Millbrook Cottage). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosielee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here 6th - 7th April 2012. Very welcoming from a very nice family. The owners could not be more friendly and helpful. We stayed here for the closeness to Manchester as we were visiting relatives, and also to go sightseeing around Alderley Edge. We walked from the cottage to the "Edge" after getting directions from the owner. The cottage is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Good sized bedroom and very cosy. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ritter6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

 My friend and I stayed at Nether Alderley as a stopping off point from London on our way up to the Lake district. We loved the room, which was charming and full of period detail. The breakfast was delicious and we received a very warm welcome.  There was plenty of exploring to be had in the surrounding area, so it would be goodto stay there for a couple of nights to have a little more time to look around. The hand drawn map for the way back to the motorway (we managed to see the wooden carving at Knutsford!) was also a godsend.  

I would definitely recommend this B&B for any future trips up north!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had to be in the area, and found Millbrook Cottage via Tripadvisor, having been attracted by past reviews. The positive comments are all true. The owners are very welcoming, the cottage is warm, homely and comfortable. It was almost like staying with friends.
Our ensuite room was find and provisioned with all that we might need.
A new by-pass meant that, although the cottage is right by the road, we were not troubled by traffic noise.
We were able to take our breakfasts separately (i had to go out early, whilst my wife had a mid-morning appointment), and we both enjoyed them. We used to live in south Manchester so are aware that the cottage is well placed for exploring Cheshire - it is almost oposite Nether Alderley Mill, and a short drive from the peak district, Jodrell Bank, Macclesfield, Gawsworth Hall and Alderley Edge. We plan to come back when we have more time to spend, so that we can go walking at Teggs Nose Country Park and visit our frinds locally.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have had the awesome pleasure of staying at this establishment a few times over the past few years.
Brian and Fauzia are excellent hosts friendly and helpful. Breakfast has always been brilliant and sets us up well for a fun filled day.
The rooms are just as shown in the pictures on their website, possibly nicer.
Off road parking is a good thing.
The location, right opposite 'the mill' and in the countryside is great. Close by to other places of interest (or work I suppose).
Highly recommended!

I can't rate on the swimming pool or fitness centre - I'm sure Brian and Fauzia would love to have both but don't - Unless you count the great outdoors as a fitness centre in which case - Very good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clint1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millbrook Cottage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Cottage Guesthouse

Address: Millbrook Cottage Congleton Road, Nether Alderley SK10 4TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nether Alderley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Alderley
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook Cottage Guesthouse is a 17th Century historic Grade II Listed Building. It has been lovingly restored to include modern facilities, whilst still retaining a wealth of original features. All rooms are en-suite, complete with color, free view TV and DVD, wireless internet access, as well as complimentary coffee and tea making facilities from the comfort of your own room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing