We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Romney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firstly this is the first time I have felt it necessary to put a bad review online. We went to Romney Sands as a family of 4 and paid quite alot for a higher spec caravan. Dirty Caravan, ciggrette butts littered the outside, dog mess in abundance around the park, tired facilites and a not very helpful receptionist (pretty much agreeing with my complaints but no other accommodation to put us in). It's a real shame about this park, as with the proximity to the beach and the great bonus of having the minature railway station on site it could be brilliant. It's quite astonishing that this standard is acceptable to Park Resorts? However the disappointing experience and even more disappointing response to my complaint letter means never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    191
    101
    57
    75
See reviews for
426
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here with some friends booking through a promotion in a newspaper - we booked an eight berth caravan as there were five adults and previous experience has taught us caravans can be very small. The caravan here was very tired and shabby as well as being poorly equipped with e.g only enough seating round the table for four (we had to ask for more stalls), 5 glasses of which one was chipped, to cook pasta we needed to us two of the small pans etc etc - it was definitely not a fully equipped caravan for 8 people. WE were charged extra for entertainment passes even though the website makes great play of them being 'free'.

The deal we ahd worked out more expensive than the equivalent weekend the following year in the best quality caravan.

I wrote to complain then had to chase up a response.after two months I just received a short letter which offered £50 off my next booking but didn't bother addressing any of the issues I raised - very poor customer care,

If you are thinking of booking check out any 'deals' against the website as our deal was nothing of the sort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindasnell1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Romney hotels

Wareham
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Romney Sands on a short break through the Sun newspaper. We have visited the area before but not stayed at this place. We had a bad journey to it arriving 2 hours later than anticipated due to an accident on the M25. When we arrived we had to go to the entertainments complex to pick the key up for our complex. On arrival we had a lovely greating from a member of staff and then was taken to another member of staff to receive our key and instructions, both members of staff were very helpful and made us feel relaxed after our nightmare journey. We did not visit the complex again as we tend to use these sort of places as a base only.
Our caravan although basic was the most comfortable one we have stayed in for a long time. Our beds were made up, so we could just go in and recover before looking for somewhere to eat.
The area is a fanstic place to get away to and ideal for dog owners. I would go back again.
On leaving, again the young lady on reception was very welcoming although she was suffering badly from a cold, we were asked about our stay and wished a safe journey home, and it was as though the young lady was not just saying it because she had to, which I do find is the case sometimes these days. Well done Romney Sands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked through a newspaper promotion and so got a great price during October half term. We did not upgrade from Bronze and after reading some of the reviews we were a little worried. We had visited nearby New Beach two years before and the accommodation was ok but not to a great standard, our main reason for visiting Romney Sands was the onsite station for the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway.
We needn't have worried, on arrival we had to wait until exactly 4pm until check-in started which is a little annoying but standard practice - after all why pay for a higher grade if they let everyone check in early anyway. The check-in staff were great and our boys loved the adventure playground while we waited for 4pm to arrive. The accommodation was immaculately clean (from previous experience of other parks I go straight in and check everything including working shower and hot water before the rest of the family set foot in the caravan) - all in working order, it was an older model which showed in places but was of a great standard. It did get cold at night but we had our portable heaters with us and so with this and the gas fire we were toasty.
The park itself is showing its age in places, we did not stay in the chalets but they are looking a little dated. The facilities were great, the pools warm (changing rooms next to the pool could be improved), the evening entertainment was what you would expect, Bingo followed by children's entertainment and then a show, of a very high standard and the children's entertainment in particular had the children enthralled for ages.
We had a great time, there is enough in the local area for a few trips out - especially the railway - and supermarkets and takeaways/restaurants nearby. We would recommend the park even in not-so-good weather as there is plenty to keep you occupied and you can join in as much or as little as you like. Also we did not come across even one member of staff who was impolite or anything less than friendly and very helpful. Thanks for a great time, the children are asking when they can come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vanadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Romney sands & the accommodation was terrible , damp & mold everywhere & horrible smell, campsite needs some serious money spent on it ....location was ok right on the beach ....drinks were very expensive with little choice

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank arryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello Harry and thanks for your review of Romney Sands Holiday Park. I am sorry to hear that you felt the accommodation was not up to our usual high standard during your visit. We strive to ensure that every holiday home suits our guest requirements and it saddens me that in this case it appears we have let you down. I would encourage any guest to report any issues to us whilst they are on park so that we can attempt to rectify these and they can continue to enjoy their holiday as they would expect to. We have decided to go with an alternative drinks supplier for the 2013 season to offer a wider choice and hopefully more value for money. I hope that you will visit us again sometime, and thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked after collecting the Daily Mail tokens, so given what we paid the quality of teh caravan was excellent. It was clean, beds made up as promised, well equipped and had heated towel rails :-)

However, the bar / restaurant was dirty, toilets smelt and the range of food available was very poor. Even if you could find something on the menu they actually had it did not come out as desribed, with substitues such as half a pitta bread instead of garlic bread!

The character was not around as advertised and consequently a disappointed child was to be had.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, but only because we went out every day and either bought in food or ate elsewhere. Great location for exploring light railway and nearby castles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Joanne, firstly thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the caravan that you stayed in. I apologies that the Complex appeared unclean on this occasion as I can assure you this is not our usual standard. I have spoken to the relevant team member to ensure that the standards that I expect are there from the first day to the last that we are open. I have also investigated as to why we had a limited menu on offer and why food was substituted with no reason given to you during your visit. This will never happen again and thank you for bringing it to my attention. I hope you will visit us in future and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for two nights as I am pondering as to should i relocate my Caravan to park Resorts. the caravan we were given was clean and presentable and the staff that i encountered were all very pleasant
The park itself looked dated but was clean. my only grumble would be that there could be more facilities for the kids to play out during the day rather than just having the one area outside the clubhouse
Apart from that it was a good stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Romney
2.0 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
93 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,767 reviews
2.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone-on-Sea
160 reviews
12.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
112 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: The Parade | Greatstone, New Romney TN28 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > New Romney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Romney
Hotel Class:3 star — Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the famous Romney Marshes and one of Kent's finest sandy beaches, Romney Sands Holiday Park will give you a very enjoyable holiday experience. Facilities include heated indoor pools, tennis courts, fishing lake, crazy golf and adventure playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel New Romney
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts New Romney, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing