We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Romney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Kent
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Both times we had booked through a national newspaper and we consider this excellent value for money. We had a bronze caravan in both cases and it was the equivalent of the Gold one we rented for a lot more money at Winchelsea beach caravan park.

I feel that we must praise the childrens entertainers, they are absolutely brilliant and you can see that they enjoy their work and relate to the kids in a very special way, maybe they haven't grown up themselves, bless 'em.

We had no problems with the caravan, the Bingo was good with some big money prizes and the food was just editable. I would recommend the Demetrios Greek restaurant or the Pilot with it's fantastic fish and chips not too far from the camp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouzo-and-ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    187
    100
    57
    73
See reviews for
420
61
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We go here at least twice a year as a family member owns a caravan on the site. We love the area and the nearby attractions but we always have the same gripes about the site which are: The entertainment/music is way too loud to the point of sounding distorted. On our last visit (Aug 2012) we actually had to leave during the cabaret as the singer's backing track was so loud you couldn't hear each other talk. The bar is overpriced and understaffed and it needs a proper queueing system put in place. As a publican's daughter I know from experience that you always take more money if people (a) dont have to wait ages to be served and (b) get served in order. Finally the pool. On our last couple of visits we have been restricted to a small part the shallower end of the big pool because of activities taking place. The shallower end is very small and overcrowded anyway (my 12 year old is out of his depth in at least 90% of the pool) and we always find that as most people in there are with children, nearly everyone needs to be in the shallower end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Romney Sands is located just across the road from a lovely sandy beach. Our caravan was perfectly adequate and was very clean and tidy. Equipment is basic and some small things which just need sorting for example the curtains are really thin and let the light in and had no stoppers so every time we pulled them they shot off the track and we had to rethread.
We did have a lot of spiders as others have said, many squashed on the windows but the park is in a rural setting.
The swimming pool was fine. It's basic but clean enough and well managed. We needed a base close to family members and this was perfectly adequate for the money and we will go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We did not set out to holiday at Romney Sands, we wanted a holiday along the East coast but as we were late booking our holiday the only holiday park that could offer the standard of accomodation that we required was Romney Sands. were we glad thatwe did ,what a great holiday we had. Ideal for children and grown ups alike . For the first 3 days we had young children staying with us , the steam railway thet runs alongsie the camp was a real hit with the children and allowed us to have a day out to dimchurch without having to drive or park , the children loved it. , Entertainment was above average for the time of year . the choice of meals and the meal deals were great, staff were friendly and helpful and if you are a course fisherman the well stocked lake on the site is a dream to fisk .(10 carp in 4 hourswas normal) ok so please dont read this cos if everyone has as good a holiday as we did then we may not be able to book in again next year we will deffinately be going back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank 765ChristopherG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having read reviews I really was tempted to forget about travelling down to Romney Sands and was expecting the worst but I have to say it turned out ok. Firstly my caravan was adequate, a few minor issues such as the threading coming out of the chairs, dead spiders squashed on the walls but overall it was ok.

All the staff were generally welcoming and friendly, apart from one lad in the bar who was miserable and unhelpful and even a simple request such as having a different flavoured kids drink was met with 'no' and no further explanation as to why not. The food was ok although they did run out of a few things and we had to wait an age for ice cream and breakfast the following day. Also the restaurant 'deals' are not advertised very well and it was only by chance we realised what the deal was.

The swimming pool is again ok, no slides or anything for the kids but adequate enough.

The whole place really could do with a clean up. The entrance to the arcade area looks as if it has never been cleaned, the knives and forks in the bar were more often than not dirty, the tables sticky and covered in bits of food. A broken pushchair, bits of metal, cement bags were around mine and my friends caravan and cigarette butts littered the grass. I wouldn't let my kids play unsupervised outside the van, A thorough clean and tidy up would go a long way.

By far the best thing about the holiday are the kids entertainers, the 5 year olds loved Lee, Ashley and Amy and they did put a huge amount of effort into playing and dancing with the kids.

A weekend is about the right length of time to stay and for a Sun £15 pp break, I can't really complain but I can't see us returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just got back from a week at Romney Sands 31st aug. the caravan gold plus was lovely we were very happy with that, the location of the caravan was quiet and picturesque so we were very happy. The park, main entertainment areas were so run down and really not that great. I guess you get what you pay for at the end of the day but we wouldn't go back. It also depends on what you want out of your holiday. the beach was great and we spent most days on the beach luckily had fairly good weather. The fact that the park was on the RH&DR made the holiday really we spent two days travelling to Dungeness and then Dynmchurch and Hythe great fun for younger kids. Other than that there isn't much to do in the immediate area, again that could be a good thing it just depends what you want out of your holiday. Beach great, caravan great, park resorts facilities just sad need investment quickly. The staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebellRoxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having Recently returned from a week in a Bronze Caravan on the above Site I thought I should advise people of my thoughts. Firstly I found the accommodation below par for the money bearing in mind I went to Tunisia earlier in the year 4 star half board 10 nights for less money. Thankfully the entertainments staff especially Ashlee Bashley, Lee And Adam worked so hard to make the week great fun, There was also a new Girl Smiley Kylie who when she has learned the dances properly and learnt to be a little more interested in what is going on will i'm sure make the team a great foursome. The temperature during our stay was very warm which was not helped by the air-conditioning if there is any in the clubhouse being switched off or not working (not sure which) but false economy as the place emptied very early which I feel sure was due to the heat. And with the excessive price of drinks it was never going to be a money spinner to turn it off. Apart from that the week enjoyed with plenty to do nearby. and a great little funfair at Dymchurch a few mile drive away which caters for smaller children only (Ideal when you take 3x 3year olds with you.On another note the food in the clubhouse restaurant was 2nd rate and very expensive considering.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Romney
2.0 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone-on-Sea
159 reviews
2.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,722 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,246 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: The Parade | Greatstone, New Romney TN28 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > New Romney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Romney
Hotel Class:3 star — Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the famous Romney Marshes and one of Kent's finest sandy beaches, Romney Sands Holiday Park will give you a very enjoyable holiday experience. Facilities include heated indoor pools, tennis courts, fishing lake, crazy golf and adventure playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel New Romney
Romney Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts New Romney, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing