We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming place...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellerslie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Acres B&B and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ellerslie B&B and Inns
key west
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A welcoming place...”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I stayed here in mid July. We only stayed one night as the B&B is close to Tyne Valley and other attractions off the beaten path. We slept well and enjoyed breakfast. I have never had such amazing banana muffins!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned home after an extended weekend on Prince Edward Island and I must say we have found a new favorite spot on the island. We stayed in the Guest House which is a newly converted Pony Barn so everything was super new and clean. The attention to detail as they renovated is impeccable. Even down to the design of the pine board on the walls mimicking the design of old school house walls. An amazing wrap staircase bring you upstairs to the second floor where there are two bedrooms and a 1/2 bath. They have stocked the guest house with just about anything and everything you will need for your stay. If you can't find it, the hosts are more than willing to lend a hand. Wayne graciously gives you a tour about the town and down to the Bideford Parsonage Museum never once making you feel as if you are taking up his valuable time. His wife, Janice also gladly takes guests through the museum (located near to their home) while also always greeting you with a smile, willing to hear about your day and generously offering up homemade muffins in the morning soon after our coffee had perked. We all just adored our stay here - this is definitely on our "favorites" list for PEI now!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon booking a weekend trip to PEI with my family on one of the busiest times to book a weekend (cavendish music festival) we ended up staying on the western side of the island more than where we normally stay and what a treat it was to be over near Tyne Valley and stay with Wayne and Janice!

I felt like I was arriving at my aunt and uncles house..they were swinging out on the front lawn waiting for our arrival in the cool breeze of the PEI night air. The cottage was completely made over from an old pony barn and it's made over meticulously by Wayne himself. The woodwork is beautifully handled and love how resourceful and "leave no waste" the Islanders always are...just ingenious use of items you will need to ask him about when you stay.

Janice made us fresh muffins every morning which was a surprise since we had booked the cottage and didn't expect anything from the Bed and Breakfast side of things in the main house! The views are so peaceful. The grounds are meticulously landscaped and mowed. I had no idea we would have a water view!!

Janice and Wayne both are very helpful without being too in your face too. If we needed anything they were quick to help accomodate our needs with resuable grocery bags for shopping or directions. Wayne even took us on a tour of a few key locations in PEI history around the area of his home in Ellerslie which used to be a big shipyard building area. They also are both on the board for keeping the Parsnage that L.M.Montgomery boarded in when she was a teacher in the area. Ask Janice about her connections to L.M. Montgomery from her families past!! Island life is very small and families did all know each other.

My parents enjoyed the peace and solitude of the cottage, but loved the resourcefulness of being close tot he main house in case we needed something. It's just a place you don't want to miss...just for the company of Wayne and Janice alone. They're two people you want to meet in your lifetime. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were bicycling from Tignish and were lucky to find accommodation at the Hilltop B&B. This is a very comfortable and pleasant B&B. Owners were gracious and friendly. A fine breakfast was served.

Bikers on the Confederation Trail should be aware that this is the only accommodation available between Tignish and Summerside. The PEI Cycling Guide is not clear about this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came across Hilltop Acres almost by chance, and were drawn in, as if by some unknown force.

Sitting adjacent to a large field, with a treed driveway, the place has the look of a much grander estate than it is. In fact, Janice's (proprietess) old family house burned down? some years ago, and the current house built in its stead.

You are definitely in someone's house; this is not an 'Inn' which so many of the Maritime B&B's are.

The chief attractions here are location-terrific sunrise vies to the east over the nearby waters of Malapeque Bay, and the hosts!

Both are modest, down -to-earth people- he, recently retired and on the board for the adjacent Bideford Parsonage Museum, where L.M. Montgomery lived as a young teacher. This is a must-see attraction- as a fine period architectural piece, and for the impressive tour given by the docent.

Being a handyman, Wayne ensures that everything works well- and all the plumbing, heating etc is tickety-boo for an older converted home. The room was reasonably well appointed, with a very good bed, great bathroom, and nice views.

Breakfast was leisurely-because Janice went off to work, a helper came in, and made quite a fuss over us, plying us with yet more and more goodies beyond the normal continental fare. My travel partner took a couple of baked goods with her, with full blessing.

Hard to fault within the B&B genre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hosts of Hilltop Acres were welcoming and friendly, and made us feel comfortable staying in their home. The room was lovely and lacked nothing, and breakfast was delicious.

If you are interested in L. M. Montgomery or local PEI history, this is especially the place to stay, as the hosts will love to tell you about their ancestors who knew Montgomery and their involvement with the local historical society and restoration of the Bideford Parsonage Museum (where Montgomery lived for a year). Hearing their stories and then visiting the museum really added to our overall visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is the perfect base if you're exploring Prince County. It's easy to find and there's a huge sign on the front of their property. The location of the house is idyllic. Set back off the road surrounded by fields of wheat.
Our room was spotless as was the adjoining bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with decent pillows, not always the case in B&Bs. The shower/tub was roomy with great water pressure, always nice after a day in the sun. The whole house in fact is so well maintained. There's a screened in gazebo for guests to use as well.
Breakfast was delicious with fresh baked muffins and eggs from the farm next door.
Wayne is a fountain of information. He knows everyone in the area and will gladly point you in the right direction. Be sure to visit the Parsonage just down the street, Janice and Wayne were involved in the restoration of this house and it's worth a visit. During the summer months there's a social event there on Wednesday evenings too. Ask for directions to Kenny's dairy bar a few minutes away. One of the few places to eat but their soft serve ice cream is divine.
Wayne has converted a 'barn' at the back of the house into a self contained unit. Called Heidi's place. Didn't go in but it looks amazing. That's fairly new so not sure how much info there is out there about that little place. But be sure to ask if that appeals to you.
I'm sitting here thinking that there must have been something I didn't like. But no it was truly perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardshoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellerslie
16.1 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
12.5 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
18.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mill River Resort
Mill River Resort
#1 of 1 in O'Leary
195 reviews
12.2 mi away
Prince County Bed & Breakfast
15.4 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#3 of 4 in Alberton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Acres B&B and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Acres B&B and Guest House

Property: Hilltop Acres B&B and Guest House
Address: 694 Bideford Rd | Ellerslie, Bideford, Ellerslie, Prince Edward Island C0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Ellerslie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ellerslie
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the quiet of the country in historic Bideford, where author L.M. Montgomery first taught school. B&B has queen room with ensuite bath and 2-bedroom suite has queen and double bed with private bath. Our 2-storey, 2-bedroom guest house with queen and double beds has 1/2 bath on 2nd floor, and has galley kitchen, dining/living room and full bath at foot of stairs. Open May 1 - Oct. 31st. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing