We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Airvault
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping de Courte Vallee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We store our caravan here and stay often. It's just so relaxing we often end up staying longer than planned, rather than towing that dam caravan.

Camp site is well laid out and kept immaculate. Swimming pool and children's play ground. Toilets, showers and facilities are clean. Restaurant on site and the little shop sell bread etc. Owners go out of their way to be helpful and obliging. Walks, wine tasting and other events laid on.

Meet a great group of friendly fellow travellers and have made many friends there. Will keep coming back, and thats the acid test.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyandWendy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visit this site regularly and we love it! Jo and Alistair and their team could not be more helpful - they work incredibly hard day after day to ensure that everyone on site has a good holiday, and always with a smile. I once watched Alistair and team erect an awning for a couple who had bought a new van and awning and were using it for the first time. There was a problem with the awning - it took 3 of them about 2 hours to eventually put up. All with a smile!
The site is beautifully laid out, pitches are of a 'British' size, the pool is lovely - no massive slides but big enough to cool off nicely at the end of a hot day. Food in the restaurant is good, toilets/showers are cleaned regularly, and the surrounding area has a lot to offer. Jo loves animals - her horses are in the next field and there is a small aviary which kept my grandson occupied for ages! They also offer dog-sitting services, car and bike rental.
As always, it depends on what you are looking for - if you want a site with non-stop, loud entertainment for children and discos into the small hours this is probably not the place for you. But if you want a fairly peaceful stay in France where you'll always have a warm welcome, this is definitely it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just left the campsite(the last to leave for the 2013 season!) The campsite is just as lovely as the last time we visited. We received a very warm welcome from the owners Alistair and Jo. Even though it was the very end of what I hear to have been a very busy season, everything was still running to the usual high standard! We are looking forward to returning next year. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaurbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent one night at this site in late September 2013. We found the toilet/shower block filthy, the floors had obviously never been scrubbed. There was dirt all round the taps in the basins.
Old large cobwebs hanging from the roof timbers.
The chemical toilet disposal unit/area was disgusting and the flush tap wasn't working.
The practice of people pouring their waste water around the bushes on the pitches is disgusting, there was food particles and mould on the ground by bushes. I hate to think what it smells like in high summer.
The staff were very friendly.
The bar/resturant areas were good with excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonus1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This an an excellent site, it is small, clean and friendly and run by a British couple. They also provide caravan storage. There is a small bar and restaurant and a big heated outdoor pool. The local historic town of Airvaux is 10mins walk and the river is 5mins walk if you like fishing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights will definitely go back. Very English on site which was great.Good relaxed friendly atmosphere owners very helpful. Onsite Bistro bar realy nice food.Toilet shower block must be cleanest in France.Out of the gate into rural france off the beaten tourist track.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is our second home as our caravan lives here! Once you get over the bridge at Saumur on the way south the temperature seems to go up a couple of degrees but perhaps this is just wishful thinking! We do try to go down at least twice a year and all it takes is an email booking and when we arrive the van is set up on a pitch levelled up all ready for the electric to be plugged - an hour after driving onto the site the van is set up and we're relaxing with a cold beer (or two)!

The site is always clean and tidy and owned by an English couple - ok Alistair is Scottish :) - and all the staff are helpful and welcoming. There is a Bistro on site if you don't want to get the BBQ out. The shower block is uni sex and always clean. The sites themselves are a good size and a good majority of them are shaded with Arcacia tree's - look out for the mistletoe! Close by there is a river (Thouret) which has some lovely walks - watch out for Kingfishers and Otters. In spring when the trees are in blossom it is a wonderful sight and listen out for the Cuckoo! There is often evening "entertainment" in the bar area and many an evening has been spent over a caraffe (or two) of wine and some great company. Friday night is BBQ nite!

Airvault is a small village with a good Intermarche supermarket and petrol station. There are a couple of Boulangerie's and Boucherie's in the ville and on Saturday there is a small market in the square. Easter Day there is a big Market on in the upper ville. The ville also hosts an International Digeredoo festival in July.

The site is well placed for day trips up to the Loire Valley Chateaux with Chinon, Azey, Saumur, Villandray and Usse to name but a few all within easy reach. September there is a "Pumkin Festival" at Chateau d'Riveau which is well worth a visit. But there are several other interesting places to visit from "Terra Botanica" in Angers, The Janapese Gardens at Mauleon to "Pay de Fou" at Les Herbierres which is a theme park with a difference - well worth a day or evening visit and a good web site which explains all (www.puydufou.com/en). There is always a load of brochures and leaflets about attractions close by in reception and all the staff are more than happy to recommend somewhere to visit.

The coast is within easy reach with La Rochelle about 1.5hrs drive and the Islands of Il de Re (good for bike riding) and Il de Oleron and close by. Cognac is also about 1.5hrs away - International "Blues" Festival in July - but good for tastings at the distilleries (Remy Martin, Hennessey, Otard & Martell).

We love it! We hope you will too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camping de Courte Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de Courte Vallee

Address: 8 rue de Courte Vallee, 79600 Airvault, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Airvault
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Airvault
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping de Courte Vallee is a small,beautifully landscaped family run site, set in 10 acres of parkland close to the River Thouet and within walking distance of the medieval town of Airvault. Situated in the heart of rural France, and off the main tourist track, the site offers tranquility and a warm and friendly atmosphere in surroundings maintained to the highest standards. A haven for bird and wildlife enthusiasts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing