We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break - very comfy beds, great food and warm welcome”

The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes
Ranked #1 of 3 Airvault B&B and Inns
sussex
1 review
“Relaxing break - very comfy beds, great food and warm welcome”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Enjoyed a first visit to Airvault where we stayed at The Voltaire, courtesy of owners Marc and Jo Cottrell. We were made to feel very welcome, and treated to delicious evening meals cooked by Marc. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with brand new bathrooms and amazingly comfy beds. The Voltaire is very central - an easy walk to the town centre. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfiemoonsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was my fourth visit (this time with a friend but I have been with children), and as usual we were made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble whatever the request! The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, for an insomniac it is something of a revelation to find that I sleep without interruption and can get up whenever I want - there is no time limit on breakfast. The food is absolutely delicious and Marc always checks to make sure you are going to like the food he is cooking. It is really good value for money and I would thoroughly recommend this place to couples or families - one of France's hidden secrets!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GruffaloEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Having seen the other reviews on The Voltaire on Trip Advisor I had no hesitation in booking our stay and having been there now I can only say that the praise is fully warranted. We were warmly welcomed by Mark and Jo and instantly made to feel at home with a drink on the house. As a vegetarian myself and knowing how limitted France is for eating out as a vegetarian I was delighted to read in a previous review that vegetarians could be catered for and that the food was excellent. On making our reservation for dinner Mark asked if we had any particular likes/dislikes. On arrival Mark checked with us that what he was proposing to cook for us met with our approval and was very happy to cater for me as well. I should also mension that if you have any food intolerences or are vegan etc he will also go out of his way to cater (and he also rustled up an excellent burger and chips for our 6 year old son whose tastes are not all that gourmet yet!). What I hadn't realised before was that with this sort of bed and breakfast in France it is a legal requirement for the guests to dine with the hosts - which you could imagine might be less than ideal if your hosts aren't all that entertaining, but not so with Mark and Jo who were great fun to spend the evening with as well as entertaining and informative and although our son left the table to go to bed at about 10pm we stayed up until midnight. Saying that, if you are on a romantic break and want a bit more privacy at dinner then don't be put off eating in as the food really is excellent and Mark and Jo will bend over backwards to accommodate you in any way they can. I would also say that dinner was exellent value for money with 4 courses and drinks thrown in for a fixed price (I can't remember exactly how much, I just remember thinking that it was worth every penny).

As to the property, it is a lovely old building that has been substantially restored and our room was large and beautifully appointed with a generous en suite. Our only regret was having only booked one night. When we left Jo printed off one of the recipes from the previous night's meal for us as well as a route planner from the internet for our onward journey - beat that for service!

So, if you want to stay somewhere that is excellent value for money, with superb cuisine catered to your personal needs, comfortable and spacious accommodation and delightful hosts then look no further. I really hope we get the opportunity to visit again!

Nick, Liz and Jamie
Sussex

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickLizAndJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Arriving at The Voltaire, it was quite a surprise for us. We didn't know what to expect, but as soon as we crossed the door, Mark welcomed us warmly. We met Jo a bit later. They are both very charming and helpful: Mark drove us to dinner and came to pick up us back. In top of that, continental breakfast is really tasty served in a large living room.
Classic building but modern rooms, more than comfortable beds, bathroom innovative design and even LED as lightning !
If you have to travel around Poitiers, don't hesitate, it's worthy!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrceovip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in the Voltaire for two nights while traveling North through France. It was an unplanned stop after several hours driving - we had planned to do the long drive to Brittany but the kids were not having any of it! The relaxed charm of the b&b and the warm friendly welcome we received from Jo and Marc immediately put the kids at ease and helped us settle in for a good rest. The evening meal was a treat too. The rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable and clean. There is lots to see and do in the town and as such, we ended up staying for another night. I recommend this to anyone wanting a few nights in a relaxed setting in a typical French town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellow_traveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stopped off at The Voltaire on our way south & again on our way back home, as this broke our journey pretty much in half – a blessing especially travelling with 2 very young children. The Voltaire is a lovely large house, stylishly yet comfortably furnished ( the photos on their website don’t do it justice). The beds were the most comfortable we experienced in our 2 week visit to France, (my husband even commented that our 2 nights at The Voltaire were the best 2 nights sleep he’d had in months!) Marc & Jo are incredibly hospitable with the children being made very welcome. Both nights we stayed we felt very relaxed and had delicious meals with our hosts. An ideal way to both start and end our holiday.

We would highly recommend the Voltaire & will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

A weeks stay at The Voltaire has left my wife and I totally relaxed. The reception we received from Jo and Marc, (who are English, but speak fluent French) and their obvious dedication to making us feel so at ease and relaxed was unbelievably refreshing. A B&B that actually cared about its guests. The provision of cycles, the information and suggestions about the towns and attractions, plus the provision of a packed lunch, provided a further indication that the guests always come first. Being situated about 4 to 5hrs drive from the ferries, this is an ideal place to break a journey for a night or two.
A real bonus was the cooking of Marc. He introduced our taste buds to foods we would never have known about, and with their company as well, the evening 4 or 5 course dinners always took 3 to 4hrs to devour. Many of his recipes are on the web site and we will certainly be trying them here at home.
We were so lucky to have come across The Voltaire, after a recommendation from a friend, and we have no hesitation in recommending to anyone who wants a quite, relaxing and friendly stay to do so.

Bob and Jo Cooper.
Greenford,
London.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilledbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airvault
0.2 mi away
Le Vieux Chateau - chambres et table d'hotes
2.8 mi away
Le Relais du Chapeau Rouge
Le Relais du Chapeau Rouge
#2 of 2 in Saint-Loup-Lamaire
10 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aux Caprices des Dieux
Aux Caprices des Dieux
#1 of 1 in Marnes
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chateau de Saint-Loup
Chateau de Saint-Loup
#1 of 2 in Saint-Loup-Lamaire
78 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes

Property: The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes
Address: 2 rue des Halles, 79600 Airvault, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Airvault
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Airvault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in large individually styled bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. Sitting room, library, garden and sun terrace all available for guest use. Freshly prepared evening meals available 7 nights a week. Take advantage of a 10% discount for stays of 3 nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Voltaire Chambres & Table d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing