We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva la tortuga!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lazy Turtle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lazy Turtle
Ranked #3 of 10 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Viva la tortuga!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

For around $30 you get a clean room and breakfast. The coffee and friends for life are free. My husband and I had an amazing time here with Ryan (owner) and a host of locals who dined at the restaurant and bar. The beach is a few steps away but we took the long way around to mingle with the friendly folks of Las Penitas. The rooms are equipped with good beds, fans and showers. If you have a shower at sun down its not cold at all. The common area and restaurant are relaxing and updated. The food is good too. Wifi signal was great-$2 gets you the password from the cyber cafe next door. Be sure to ask Ryan to play a song on the guitar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulsweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
70
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Lazy Turtle was hands down the best place/experience that my friends and I had in our travels of El Salvador and Nicaragua. Our group of 9 was delighted to visit the Lazy Turtle and meet Ryan and Val. We were also equally as sad to have to leave our new found friends and home away from home. All 9 of us plan to stay there again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymoylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was great, fair price...but it is the energy this place has what made it magic! We were just passing by but we felt in love at first sight. The service was outstanding and we got to meet Ryan and Val, they are doing so much for this community as well, I encourage you to stay and eat at this magical place. Had an amazing time there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Barberena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was very fortunate to meet Ryan (the owner) and taste some of his amazing creations. As a person who has traveled a lot, and tried a lot of food, I can say this is definitely the best restaurant I have eaten at in a while. The ingredients are fresh, and the food is amazing. I have plans to come back here while I stay in Nicaragua. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a good meal, nice place to stay, and meeting some rad people! Two thumbs up and a high five!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allie24769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Oh my God! What a place!!! The food, the people, the energy. I entered as a guest, left as a friend! We made memories and friends for life. We have traveled for 6,5months and this one week has planted in our heart and mind! Thank you to Ryan and Val! Thank you for everything!

Please eat and stay here! U will not regret.

Xoxo
DS.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegiantraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were the first guest's to stay in the Lazy Turtle while it was under construction. We basically were walking past and got talking to Ryan and Val and next thing you know 4 day's later we were checking out. There hospitality straight away was amazing , There room's were spacious and great value and there food was fantastic..It was the best place we stayed on our 3/4 month trip and we are sorry it took so long to write a review best of luck guy's ..
Eoin and Stephanie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valryan, Owner at The Lazy Turtle, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for the review man. We were just thinking of you guys when we saw you on the cover of the hostel calibre website. Hope your doing well. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is soo magic -must be surrounded by angels!

The Lazy Turtle is a treat! It is located on the beach, with view over the beautiful bay.

The owners are a supersweet couple who, together, got it all! The music is varied and good, the place is decorated with a personal touch and is colorful and nice, the rooms are cozy and clean, and the friendly atmosphere makes it very easy to feel home. They have a pool to cool down, on hot days, and a back-garden with hammocks to chill out in.

The beer is always extra cold and the food is simply amazing!
The menu is flexible, and all dishes are available vegetarian. - veggieburger is to die for!

It is definitely worth a visit if u are travelling to Leon/Las Penitas. And don't be surprised if u end up staying longer than expected.

Ill be back as soon as i'm back in Las P. And hopefully by then, there will be a shelf with these bottles labeled and for sale! ;)

<3 <3

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
10.9 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#11 of 15 in Leon
117 reviews
273.3 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#1 of 10 in Las Penitas
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Turtle

Property: The Lazy Turtle
Address: Main St | Tidal Bay Road, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Turtle is a funky little joint located in the tidal bay of Las Penitas. We have 4 private cabins and food and beverage services. If coming by taxi you can let the driver know that we are near (cerca) Barca de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lazy Turtle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Turtle Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing