We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Thanks for a very soothing stay at Lazy Turtle”
Review of The Lazy Turtle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lazy Turtle
Ranked #3 of 11 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Delicious food, open for any individual wish. Between Mango Juice, wine, beer and delicious traditional Nica-breakfast we enjoyed the warm coulours, the tasteful equipment, private well water in a cold pool at 45 degrees outside. Tasteful rooms, coulours, stonefloors, natural images. Wide hammocks. And in the evening we had the big luck enjoying an exquisite spontaneous jamsession with Ryan playing guitar singing together with Val and guests, who wanted to. Staying in Las Penitas? Always back at Turtle Lodge. No better place, even if solo, with friends or for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Lazy Turtle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were very lucky to find The Lazy Turtle. Immediately upon arrival Val and Ryan made us feel right at home. It was move like staying with good friends than any other place we've stayed in our travels. There is nothing negative I could write. Every part of our stay was amazing. From the location, to the fantastic friends we made, to the atmosphere, to the amazing food. I would like to post some photos of the food, but it was never in front of me long enough! Whatever the special is, put your name on the list and you will not be disappointed. We will not be returning to Nica without making whatever detour needed to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best "Bang for the Buck" in Las Penitas. Owners Val & Ryan, offer great hospitality, atmosphere, rooms & food. Lazy Turtle overlooks the bay, is less than 5 minute walk to the beach & has easy access to & from Leon. Thanks again & we'll see you again around November!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place has the heart on the right place because of the personal service. Val and Ryan were extremely flexible with our picky daughter and figuresawn the meny. Really nice with a mexican foodtouch, we liked especially the stuffed peppers and the opportunity to chose breakfast meny on personal basis. Also the location of the place with a little beach as a vivid wallpaper, superbueno ! I really liked the absence of mosqitos. The sea breeze is so refreshing when you sit in the bar,sipping a glas of wine and also to swim in the chilling freshwaterpool. Clean rooms and BIG too and both mangrove trips and horseback riding round the corner. We had a faboulus stay and miss it too, So Val and Ryan thx a lot for the stay it was extraordinary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALINW144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Trying to escape the craziness of Semana Santa in San Juan, we stumbled upon this hidden pearl. The Lazy Turtle is by far the best Hostel we've stayed at during our many travels around the world. You can really tell that its owners Val and Ryan have put their heart and soul in to this place - making the atmosphere pleasant and colorful.

Before our arrival and during our whole stay they did everything they could to help us out with different issues we stumbled upon. As blonde swedes with no knowledge of the spanish language (except for the usual phrases 'Cafe con leche, por favor' and 'Habla Ingles') that's something you really learn to value.

The Hostel itself is clean, cosy and hidden from the main street stress but still close to everything you need: The beach, surf, good food, party etc. But when hungry, don't go out trying to look for that hidden gem Lonely Planet forgot to write about. Good (read: awesome) food is not even around the corner. It's one step away from your door. We we're lucky enough to be able to enjoy three homemade, delicious and healthy meals signed Val and Ryan making us feel right at home.

Thanks for an awesome stay! Next time in Nica, we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaHaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I'll keep this short & sweet. Food is best in Las penitas. Whether its the mexican or the burgers. Location is great just a short walk from the beach, literally across the street. Rooms are clean & private. What more could you what. Thanks val & Ryan for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved the Lazy Turtle.
We weren't lucky enough to stay with them, but you you wouldn't know it by the number of times we walked up the street to sit and enjoy the afternoon with Val and Ryan.

They have created a great atmosphere to enjoy new friends, watch the tide roll in and out (hopefully not both in one visit) and share travel stories.

Val pours a great drink (and is a general rum genius) and Ryan is a wizard in the kitchen. Everything we ordered was terrific. Only reason we wont be going back today...we're leaving town too early =)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
122 reviews
10.9 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
1.0 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#2 of 12 in Las Penitas
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#3 of 12 in Las Penitas
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayal Lodge
Nayal Lodge
#1 of 12 in Las Penitas
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Turtle

Address: Main St | Tidal Bay Road, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range: $28 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Turtle is a funky little joint located in the tidal bay of Las Penitas. We have 4 private cabins and food and beverage services. If coming by taxi you can let the driver know that we are near (cerca) Barca de Oro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lazy Turtle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Turtle Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing